Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 5 February 2013
This seemed like a great book. But unfortunately it was nearly impossible to understand the few mathematical formulae as they were formatted terribly. Do BN Publishing not know what a subscript or a greek Sigma are? After a while I finally realised that the "S"s were probably meant to be capital Sigma - meaning SUM - rather than S and half these other letters probably subscripts. Really the maths in this version is impossible to understand - especially if you have a background in Maths.

Really they were nearly unintelligible for the most part. And the large format page sizes and low quality cover added to the disappointment. I regret being such a cheapskate - I should have paid a little more for a better quality print / formatted version.

Do NOT buy the BN Publishing Version!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2017
John Maynard Keynes possessed a brilliant mind. His work is as valid now as then.

Regarding the modern e-publication? It was full of (sort of) HTML where the original work had not been scanned sufficiently well to convey the words. My command of the English language is pretty fair so I could read through the 'malaprops'. However, the e-book will be difficult for some to read simply because of the nature of the material and the compounding of difficulty arising from the poor scanning results.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 November 2012
When Einstein overthrew classical Newtonian physics with his theories of relativity, Newtonian physics continued to be the dominant theory because of its utility. It was a close enough approximation to work in all but a few special cases.

When Keynes overthrew classical economics in this book it was because classical economics did not work. Clasical economics was a theoretical special case which was demonstrated not to have utility in the real world.

As Keynes says: "The classical theorists resemble Euclidean geometers in a non-Euclidean world who, discovering that in experience straight lines apparently parallel often meet, rebuke the lines for not keeping straight ...".

Written during the last depression, this book was originally intended for an audience of fellow economists. He considered the then classical economics to be a special case and not a very realistic one. This is one of the books of which everyone has heard but fewer have read. For students of economics it is a book that should be read. For non-economists, it might be a bit of a struggle. It was certainly a struggle for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2017
Keynes was a genius, and it's amazing how relevant and illuminating this feels. But this has been lazily OCRed leading to spelling errors, quoted paragraps are not distinguished by formating from the text, and formulae are unreadable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2013
Every Economics student has heard of John Maynard Keynes and his famous book.
I only bought this as it was a required text for my History of Economic Theory class, and boy did it help me! It is not the most entertaining of reads, but I made Revision notes from it for my exam and I got a First! Using quotes and original diagrams from the book itself in my exam must really have made a great impression on the examiner when marking my paper. The book will really aid your understanding and provide background of the subject matter covered in your lectures. Now this great work sits proudly on my bookshelf reminding me of my success.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 18 December 2017
This kindle version is not particularly good - the content from Keynes is outstanding - but the book quality not ideal
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2017
I generally buy paper books for the enhanced reading experience and visual pleasure. This is pretty much a pdf printed out with no effort in laying it out apart from cramming as much text into as few pages as possible.
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2017
Well written classic economic text, but very poor copy of the book, full of typos and grammatical errors. Looks like it was downloaded from an book and printed without checking.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2015
Its a terrific book of course. I'm adding this review as I see there have been some bad reviews of the typesetting in the BN Publishing version. Mine is fine; it looks as though its a photographic copy of the original 1930s text, with typesetting as it generally looks in books of the period. Mathematical symbols (eg subscripts and symbols) look OK. The ISBN number is ISBN 9781494854744. Back cover says 'BN Publishing'. Page iv inside says 'Copyright 2012 by Snowball Publishing'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2013
As you have already read in diffrents reviews, the edition of this book is very disappointing, I read it in a different one and I enjoyed it very much. Look for any other option, but READ this book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)