Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 3 November 2013
A clearly printed copy book at the correct size for copying and improving handwriting in the English round hand style.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2014
A must have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2014
good one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2014
Fascinating book, inspiring penmanship.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2017
There is plenty of content to this book but the format (A5) means that it is too small to be of any great use. I was expecting it to be A4 or similar. Disappointing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2011
This is an excellent source book for a calligrapher. Many stunning samples of copperplate script and illustrations that look virtually impossible to recreate but also many ones that inspire to try! I think this is excellent value for money.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2015
Having seen many examples of Bickham's plates over the years I was eager to view this book in its entirety and opted for the B&N hardback version to sate my curiosity. Yet, immediately upon arrival, was somewhat disappointed to see that the cover art had been sublimated into the cover's boards, furthermore, upon a subject within which symmetry, proportion and balance are paramount, Bickham's cover illustration is dealt another blow by the binders with the art bleeding over the cover's edges. It's also worth pointing out that in this reprint's preface by Philip Hofer of the 1941 edition, a footnote indicates that the plates have been reduced in size, yet it's unclear whether that's for the '41 ed' or this 2012 ed'n or, for that matter, what the original sizes were. Nonetheless Bickham's masterpiece is all there within and is a glory. Incidentally, the vanishingly tiny hairline strokes which in reality are the hallmark of the master penmen of ages past will have to be imagined for modern printing does not appear able to reproduce them for reasons which are unclear to me, though likely a combination of paper, ink and economy. Having never seen an original Bickham plate I am given to wonder whether he managed to capture also the magic of the sublime hairlines of those he masterfully copied.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2000
A great source book of calligraphy and script, which is a must for all those who enjoy decoupage and collage. From flowing hand written invitations to bills and invoices from the 1900's, the choice is widespread to suit all tastes. The fact that the content is copyright free is extremely useful for those artists wishing to sell their work on the open market. It has proved invaluable to myself and my colleagues.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2011
This is the whole Universal Penman" that was released over a timespan of several years.
This is a magnificent book.
Not only the writing is beautiful but the prose is also humanist.
As to the calligraphy this is without limits. A capital can be displayed in more ways than you could possibly imagine. Note that several master penmen have written pages for this masterpiece.
The ornament is splendid, seems spontaneous and a the same time elaborate, and can be mind-blogging.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2012
THe book is full of fantastic writing. A great load of examples that show just how excellent handwriting can be and although some are so fancy I can't make out what is written it just shows how far we have gone away from good old craftmanship.
When I sit down to write I first page through the book to get inspiration!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse