Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2015
Found myself skip reading over some pages which detail how to strip cotton plants etc. It focuses too much on technical details and not enough on his relationships with his peers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
Was interested in Solomon's journey and the effects this had on him and his family. Hard to believe he was able to endure so much but still believe that he .would get his freedom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
Having heard all the hype about the movie, I thought the novel was worth a read. I didn't think it flowed particularly well until almost half way through the book - hence 4 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
I was looking forward to this book given the hype of the film, I had got to 40% on my kindle and it seemed that I was reading the same thing over and over again !very disappointed
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
I saw the film first before reading the book usually do it the other way around. Thoroughly enjoyed the book - no the film so much. I'm amazed I hadn't heard of this story before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
have only just started to read this as i had a problem with wi fi - nothing to do with amazon so sorry at present cannot give review - however what i have read so far is very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
A story which needs to be heard. Well written, engaging. Portrays slavery for the abominable evil that it is, through one man's desperate experience of kidnapping and enslavement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
Excellent. Have not seen the film but the book is a fascinating and at times disturbing, contemporary view of slavery that only one who has lived through it can properly describe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
I wanted to read this before I saw the film and it really did not disappoint ..... highly recommended such a grim and harrowing subject matter so eloquently written and accounted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
A vivid portrayal of slavery. I loved the old style of writing. The kindle version needed a good proof-reader however! There were a great many mistakes, especially in punctuation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)