Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
7
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 October 2013
Those of us who have been involved in the climate debate, for that's what it is, over the past few year's will be aware of the political shenanigan's and blatant activism of it's chairman, Rajendra Pachauri. His "voodoo science" comments concerning Himalayan glacier retreat were a disgraceful episode which could never have happened if the IPCC actually stuck to its own alleged policy of only relying on peer reviewed papers for its assessment reports.
Laframboise's book is a collection of her blog posts about the IPCC and it's chairman over the past few year's. If you want to catch up with the story this collection of blogs will fill you in.
I have to add that the format of collecting blog posts together to tell a story is not ideal. It results in a series of rather repetitive short chapters which can be irritating and made me regularly skip ahead, however I already had a reasonable knowledge of the story the book was trying to tell.
I am an academic myself and would recommend this book to any student, journalist or academic interested in the politics of climate science.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
A very comprehensive analysis of the chairman of IPCC Rajendra Pachauri, his statements and what Donna found to be the truth. She has done a marvelous job disecting IPCC statements and to show what is really going on behind the scenes.
It is both easy and exciting reading, almost like reading a detective novel except that this is real. i recommend beaurocrats and politicians to read it. It will help them to know what is true or not concerning global warming and CO2 emissions.

I have analyzed climate reports and research for the last 10 years and can confirm that everything I have read is correct.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
What this book does is to throw into question the legitimacy of the IPCC. If this lady is right the IPCC is a completely corrupt and fraudulent organisation. This in turn means that Catastophic Golbal Warming is an enormous foolish scare similar to the great fear over the bug which was going to destroy all our computer records at the turn of the century. I must say that she writes with authority and she knows what she is talking about. It's an important book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
The shameful failure of environmental journalists in general is revealed, incidentally, by the series of blogposts compiled in this important book. What were they thinking when they took the IPCC in general and its nominal leader Pachauri in particular at face value? Was that just part of their mission to save the world by encouraging we the public to take them seriously, and sit, thanks to their reportings, at the feet of dedicated wise ones? Well, feet of clay don't weather well, nor do they have integrity. While those eco-journos slept (at best) or connived (at worst), Donna Laframboise was up and about doing some checking of her own. As a thinker, as a writer, as an investigative journalist. It doesn't seem to have been so hard, as it turns out - or at least she makes it look easy.

When Pachauri claims to have a Nobel prize and encourages his fellow workers in the IPCC to do same for themselves, she checked and discovered that he didn't and he shouldn't.

When he tells that his is not to prescribe, that his organisation, the IPCC is not there to push policy, she notes that he does prescribe, indeed preaches, and notes that his organisation is ultimately dominated by policy-makers and their agents who edit and approve the final 'Summaries for Policy Makers' that are probably the only widely read outcomes of the IPCC's efforts.

She notes he tells us to eat less meat, and that he once jetted halfway round the world to take part in a casual cricket match. His earlier nonsense about the IPCC's only using peer-reviewed literature in its deliberations led to the title of this book. Here are his words "IPCC studies only peer-review science. Let someone publish the data in a decent credible publication. I am sure IPCC would then accept it; otherwise we can just throw it into the dustbin." He got the last part right.

If you value courageous journalists who check for themselves and are willing to stand up against the tide of drivel and hyperbole that we have had to endure on climate, then buy this book. If you want to have your own record of deception in and around the IPCC, then buy this book. Put it beside her other one `The Delinquent Teenager'. Put your name and the date inside the covers and keep them to show your children and your grandchildren that you were not amongst those who failed to see what a shoddy thing the IPCC and its leaders was and were. They are not worthy of our trust, and future generations will see that clear as day. This book will help us all get there.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 September 2013
She's done it again. Two years ago, Donna Laframboise gave us "The Delinquent Teenager Who Was Mistaken for the World's Top Climate Expert", shining an uncomfortably bright light onto the doings of the IPCC (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change) and revealing some rather inconvenient truths about that organisation.

And here's a steady continuation of her thesis - "Into the Dustbin: Rajendra Pachauri, the Climate Report & the Nobel Peace Prize", in which Donna focusses on the extremely well connected and high-profile IPCC Chairman Rajendra Pachauri, head of a United Nations body that is meant to be "policy-neutral, never policy-prescriptive", yet preaching CO2 mitigation and an ascetic lifestyle whilst relishing the very opulence and fossil-fuelled ease that he professes to despise. Although not a climate scientist himself, as best-known representative of the IPCC Pachauri is able to exert no small influence on the world stage, whenever he speaks ex cathedra.

What he says matters. Whether he is exhorting young activists to help fast-track changes in global consumption behaviour, warning Green Cross International that we have "five minutes before midnight" or jokingly encouraging Richard Branson to send sceptics on a one-way journey to outer space, to his listeners he is the voice of the IPCC. The average politician might not have read all, or indeed any, of that organisation's voluminous reports, but may well have heard - and heeded - Dr. Pachauri's frequent sound bites. When he informs an audience that the role of "the best scientists, thousands of them" is to tell the world, as a labour of love, that the impacts of climate change will get progressively worse "if we don't do something", who will gainsay him?

As the saying goes, the fish stinks from the head, and as chapter follows chapter an unedifying picture continues to emerge, of an institution that is dominated by environmentalists, uses dubious "grey literature" when it says it doesn't, breaks its own ostensibly strict rules when it suits, is secretive and slow to respond to criticism and which allows activist organisations to bestow on some of their members the unwarranted title of Nobel Laureate, aided by a compliant and lazy media. Much of this material will be already familiar to you, if you have read "The Delinquent Teenager" or followed Donna's blog - which I recommend - and in this respect, the new book is not so much a standalone work as it is Part II of a work in progress.

And on that note, very good though it is, if I have given "Into the Dustbin" less than full marks the reason is that I am confident a future Part III will be even better, matching the sheer punch of "Delinquent Teenager" and completing a series in which "Into the Dustbin" will have been, as it were, a worthy bridging episode. I am writing this review in September 2013, on the eve of the IPCC's Fifth Assessment Report (AR5) and as global warming has languished for well over a decade in what some are referring to as "the great hiatus". Crucially, this will be the last report of its kind before the UNFCCC attempts, in Paris, in 2015, to pull off what it tried and failed to do in Copenhagen, in 2009 - secure a binding global treaty on climate change, a successor to Kyoto.

It remains to be seen how the Intergovernmental Panel and Dr. Pachauri will handle - or mishandle - the unwelcome fact of the "hiatus" and the news that global temperatures now seem to be at the lower bounds of earlier projections by computer models. We appear to be approaching a crunch point for the IPCC, when the uncertainties of climate science loom larger than ever, and yet when the temptation to over-egg the pudding must be almost unbearable. Whatever the fallout from AR5 - and fallout of some sort there will be - I am sure that Donna Laframboise will have plenty to write about, in her trademark acerbic, hard-hitting style, and that it, like her existing books, will be well worth reading.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
You would not believe the vested interests and hypocrisy of this so-called climate crisis. Read it and cry. (Amazon tell me I have to add two more words - that should do it.)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
This is a poor follow up to The Delinquent Teenager and is merely an unedited reiteration of previous articles and blog posts. This is a great shame since the information is itself well worth much wider publicity.

A much shorter pamphlet would have been better and I wish Ms Laframboise had given her source material to Andrew Montfort
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)