Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
51
4.7 out of 5 stars
Bet Your Life: Volume 1 (Eddie & Frankie)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 June 2013
These ex jockeys can really tell a story. Hope there are many more to come, so many american authors it's great to read English authors.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
Another excellent read. I really enjoyed this book and couldn't put it down. I hope more books are published soon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
Great series
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
I read all the published kindle titles by Pitman and McNally and was really pleased that this one had been newly released as a kindle book.
Unfortunately I do not think it is anywhere near as good as the other published novels by the same authors. The reason for this is that the story is too 'over the top' and unbelievable.
Poor Eddie Malloy (the hero of previous novels) is now reduced to a physical wreck with body parts missing and a face ravaged by frost bite... but still he fights the baddies. Apart from having been a top jockey, he has climbed Everest and has made a lot of money as a top business man. He then gets blown up and badly burned, but, hey, all in a days work for this hero. His newly found best mate Frankie - who adores and worships Eddie! - is trying to solve the mystery of who is trying to kill him.
The book is still a good read but I found it somewhat annoying with its exaggerated heroics and bizarre story line. Maybe I prefer to be closer to home and there weren't many horses in this either!
44 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 October 2014
Eddie has left racing behind him, lost an arm in a successful climb of Everest and got himself a new job as the UK head of an American company looking to buy UK racecourses. Of course it doesn't all go smoothly and Eddie is threatened in various ways until he is badly injured in a fire bomb attack. It is up to Frankie Houlihan from Jockey Club security and DS Loretta Moran of the Met to nail the attacker. Yet again there is a complicated plot to hold your attention but I think it is slightly more obvious who was behind it and why in this novel than in previous ones. The interest lies therefore more in Frankie and Loretta's doings and relationship rather than whodunit. Don't get me wrong this is still a good, page turning read, just in a different way from the previous books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
This story further develops the character of Frankie Houlihan, introduced in 'For Your Sins'. Now Frankie meets and works with our old friend Eddie Malloy, in an intriguing action thriller with all the pace and twists that marked the earlier books. It's a great read and establishes Frankie as the hero, with Eddie almost disappearing from the stage. Like the previous racing novels from the Pitman-McNally stable, I couldn't put it down. It may have been fairly obvious who the 'villain' was but the mystery was his motivation, which drove the plot. Now I'm reading the latest e-book featuring Eddie, 'Running Scared', and hope they keep coming.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
I have read all the Eddie Malloy series & agree they need to be read in the correct order . I am not really interested in Racing, but started to read these books for the horse connections. This was the last in the series and I was about halfway through, when I realised, that there is no connection at all to horses in this story other than the story was about the Jockey club take over, so slightly dissappointed, hence only 4 stars. Still a riverting story though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Yet another fabulous story. Anyone who has enjoyed the Eddie Malloy series will not be disappointed. Looking forward to the next one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
So far still reading it but around 55% through it.From Mount Everest to New York & back to British Racecourses, a very interesting story so far. I bought 4 of Eddie Malloy books so far & will most certainly buy more in the future. If you read Dick Francis, you will like these stories too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
Just the right length and beleivable content. The diagnosis keeps you guessing to the end. There is aways human inflicted violence bourne stoically by the pricipal character and animal tragedy in this genre of book though and that can be predictable and depressing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse