Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
25
Difficult People: Dealing With Difficult People At Work
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 May 2015
At one time or another, all of us encounter “difficult” people—whether it’s at work or school, there are just some people that are hard to get along with. This book offers up some great advice on how to get through the day and erase those difficult encounters. Smith’s guide is a nice, easy, light read that still gives a good overview of several tips and tricks to learn to communicate with these people. Good overview, great advice, and worth the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2014
This book is 25 pages of big type. The advice is sound enough, but anyone who wants any depth at all should try something else. Booklet rather than book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2014
Even though I bought this as a joke gift I still felt taken for a ride when this showed up. Had I noticed the author was a snake oil salesman (i.e. NLP expert) I wouldn't have lined his pockets. The contents are generic and could have been written by anyone. They require no particular expertise or qualifications. I'd recommend finding something with a bit more substance - I'm sure you can do a lot better for your money
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2013
This short book is a very interesting read for anyone who has to deal with difficult people.

It will help you to understand the different types and how to deal with situations in a calm and understanding way without cauing the situation to escalate.

I actually read the book twice so I fully understood the concepts.

A 'must have' for anyone who is in the business of managing people, it will be invaluable in helping to solve personnel issues.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2014
Funny for office joke but consider this more a pamphlet than a book very thin . Did the job of getting a big laugh at secret Santa
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2014
Dealing with difficult people can be hard for anyone and if you are not aware of why they are difficult in the first place, you will struggle to know where to start.

The author of this book does a great job of explaining the fundamentals of good communication in relation to awkward conversations that can occur when dealing with these difficult individuals.

I also found the section “seven types of difficult personalities” very interesting and I could pick out someone that I personally know that fit each of these descriptions….. I didn’t think I knew that many difficult people before reading this
All in all an interesting and educational read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2014
This is one of those books you wish you had read earlier in life. If you are like me and have difficult people in your life - and let's face it who of us doesn't? - then you would be wise to check out this brilliant little how to guide for handling these high maintenance individuals. It's amazing how much you can do just with a little will power once you realize it isn't you, it's them. Author Colin G Smith lays it all out for you in simple words with very little extraneous chat. All you have to do is read and apply the lessons learned. It's all in these pages, the power to change your life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2014
This book takes a very broad approach to the equally broad subject of dealing with Difficult People. It clearly recognizes the infinite variation of situations you might meet, and offers a range of tools and techniques you can call on to support you. I liked the way the author breaks down the different personality types of difficult people and reveals the motivation behind their behavior, and how to find strategies to cope with them. Well researched and written. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2014
A well informed approach to a difficult subject. There's no magic bullet; if you're confronted with difficult people you need systems to follow to avoid responding detrimentally, and this book lays it all out in clear language. There's valuable insight into improving your own communication skills, so that you can take the initiative early in any situation, and how to recognise and deal appropriately with the 7 different personality types. Congruent and Informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2013
You can't choose who you work with, and even though you know you can't be best friends with everyone, difficult people can make your job a nightmare. This book will provide the solution. You are guided through the different personality types, and how to communicate with them.

This book will make a difference to your life, as you learn to understand different perspectives, and how looking at yourself improves your ability to communicate effectively.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)