Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
72
4.4 out of 5 stars
Caratacus (Blood of Rome)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 August 2016
It's a shame that a good story, told by someone who clearly loves writing stories and has a colourful imagination, should be spoilt by what one can only assume is bad proof-reading. There are several serious punctuation errors on every page, along with misspellings and grammatical solecisms. I found that these seriously marred my enjoyment of the story, so much so that I only got about halfway through it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
A very absorbing read. Well researched and enthralling storyline is only marred by the obvious lack of a good proof reader.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
A rattling good adventure about Caratacus (his spelling) and his resistance to the Claudian invasion of 43 AD. Sadly I have to deduct stars because this self-published volume is riddled throughout with mistakes in spelling, grammar and punctuation; I persevered, but it was most distracting.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
This, the debut novel of John Salter, is the story of the legendary Briton Caratacus and his quest to protect his homeland from the Claudian invasion of Britain. Most of the book focuses on the 2nd Augusta Legion under it's Legate Vespasian as he strives to convince the various tribes to acquiesce to Roman rule and order. The author brings to life some very interesting characters both Roman and Briton in this well researched tale. The Britons Caratacus, Adminius and Brenna bring to life the differences of opinion as to whether submission to Rome or the destruction of the invader is the better choice for their home and people. Their motives and emotions are vastly different from each other(I won't say who is of which opinion so as to not reveal a spoiler, though Caratacus' choice is probably well known) and are the heart and soul of the conflict.

As in any good story there are plenty of plot twists especially one towards the end that is very nice yet very nasty and I was taken completely by surprise. The battle scenes are well done, the gore is not overly excessive yet enough so that you get the feel of what it would have been like to be a Roman legionnaire facing a menacing group of frenzied, woad covered warriors. You also get to know what it was like to be an advance scouting party of Roman cavalry from the intense fear to the comradeship of the men involved. I am looking forward to the next volume in this saga as the battle for Britain is far from over and Caractacus is as determined as ever to throw the Romans back into the sea. My rating for this is 3.8 stars.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2016
Though not a big fan of Roman era historical novels, which can sometimes spin off in somekind of Arthorian legend.. this does not. The confrontation between highly organised Roman legionaries and Iron-age Celtic tribes is insightful... I enjoyed John Salter's first installment very much. Well paced plots and storyline with factual historic background. I am especially impressed that the author self funded the publication of this and the next book. I highly recommend this novel.

Well done John....keep at it, and hope your writing career goes from strength to strength...and maybe (if you wish it to happen?) A publishing house recognises your talent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
A great story based on a great, but often ignored character. However, John has published this himself and although he offers his apologies for any errors there were, truly, a lot. I suspect he used spell check rather than have it properly proof-read. 'Taught' instead of the correct 'taut' for example. Sentences are sometimes difficult to comprehend as the punctuation is missing or incorrect. Nevertheless, I enjoyed it; the battle scenes were as good as any others I have read, including Anthony Riches whom I really like, and the story generally flows. However, he does sometimes forget what he said earlier e.g. at the very beginning of the book some of the Roman's ballistas were captured and the Britons did not know what to make of it, but this very interesting proposition never came back in.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
Whilst this seems to be a slow start, it's deceptive and thoroughly riveting. It seems to have everything that is required in an historical novel, including some surprises. There's Heros an villains, but you are never sure who is who until the end. Even then there is uncertainty
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
A decent narrative for those who like this type of novel. However, it seems to have been proof read (if at all) by a five year old. Numerous punctuation and grammatical errors litter the book, spoiling the flow of the story. Please re-edit. It badly needs it! No stars for awful errors, four for the actual novel...three given
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
The story is engulfed with true historic events, which makes it a more fascinating read. I couldn't put the book down, and can't wait to read the second in the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2017
I enjoyed being immersed in the impact on topography and indigenous peoples by the Romans and how tribes either adapted or rebelled. The detail that the author puts in to the clothing, tools, food, battles, places and traditions makes the book no quick read. It's the thinking person's adventure. The rituals and battles are bloody, and horrifying in some instances. Fascinating.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here