Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
35
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2013
pretty average book, like his honesty , much too much crap about clothes,don't think i would buy again from this author
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
Very good read for any old school Football casual and probably a real eye opener for the modern Football fan. Well written and about much much more than just the Football or the violence. On a personal level it gave rise to many old memories, some good, some bad! Having read numerous books on a similar subject mostly some Years back now I have to say this is amongst the very best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
Skilfully written in true Mark Barry style; fresh, honest, REAL writing. From the first to the last page I was captured by the narrator's account of football from the good old days. I could hear the chants, smell the violence and taste their fear. Truly memorable ending. You don't have to be male or a football fanatic to enjoy this incredible novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
I did enjoy this book a lot , with myself being from Nottingham and following the other football team from the city most public houses and areas were all places in which I have visited. An excellent read from start to finish a true football story before the game was taken over by money and TV.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2012
I'll be honest, don't read that many books but right from the first page found it difficult to put down. Is a bit quirky with plenty of black humour and local referencing is bang on. Obviously a very talented writer. Worth a punt imo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2017
This book is the thrilling, humourous story for one man's journey from idealistic young fan to major football hooligan set against the shadow of a grim and soulless age in the bustling English city of Nottingham. It's going to go OFF.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2016
Excellent. Really enjoyed it. I'm looking forward to reading the sequel. I never realised Notts had such a mental following. Not too many laughs but a good overall story. Roll on no.2
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
into the hooligan culture, and the author takes you back to the halcyon days of it. the days of your youth. the best days of your life. A bit like John King with a Nottingham slant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
Great book a trip down memory lane the casuals the clothes I even remember the man city match in 85 I read this book in 3 days and can't wait to read the next
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2012
Ace, didn't stop smiling from start to finish, great book with references to a bigone era in Nottingham with some great references to the old football pubs which are sadly no more. Great football related references as well, not on a scale to compete with the usual football books from down south, but believable and strangely funny in parts. Great read!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)