Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
9
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2013
This is not my usual reading matter, but am so glad I tried it. Absolutely delightful, very reminiscent of Georgette Heyer. The bad guy, in this case a woman is put in their place and love conquers all. My only criticism, the editing could have been more effective
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
Have never read anything by this author before. (Can anyone tell me how to pronounce 'Yonge'?) The plot is very contrived but the characters are believable, and I find it interesting to read a description of 18th century lifestyle and customs as seen by someone living in the late nineteenth century. It shows how much society had changed between the two dates, and how the Victorian author viewed her own age in relation to the past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
This book is about three sisters who live wither father Major Delavie. The sisters names are Betty, Harriet and Aurelia who is the main character of the story. She is sent to Mr Belamour to look after three children. Aurelia enjoys reading to Mr Belamour, singing to him and reading him Psalms. She eventually (she thinks) marries Mr Belamour. But Aurelia has really married the nephew Amyas Belamour.

There are lots of twists and turns in the book, but it does end happily.

I enjoyed reading this book and it has an active table of contents at the front.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
This book is excalent, easy read and very well written for all ages. I would recommend any to read and enjoy the story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
wondeful book a very good read for everyone highly recommended if you want a good story and read this is the book for you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
Book was really good , would recommend this book to anybody. I have enjoyed reading this book it kept me reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
the title of the book is attractive, but when I read it I did not liket just because it is not my cup of tea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Not dead fussed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2015
okay
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here