Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
145
4.6 out of 5 stars
Marius' Mules IV: Conspiracy of Eagles
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 September 2017
I've just finished Book four and so enjoyed it that I've bought the rest of the series (up to Book 9). I read the first two books in the Marius Mules series last year and they so gripped me that I invited the author to speak this year in a historical literary festival I organise. The series is centred around Legate Fronto, an irascible but thoroughly human character, and his relationship with Julius Caesar in the early days of his conquest of Gaul. It is fast paced and captures the grimness of life as it really was during those times and on military campaign. I love the research that goes into the writing - informative without bogging you down in detail - and it makes you feel like you are there in the middle of it all.
The books I-IV (that I have read so far) are a thoroughly intelligent read and I can't wait to move on to Book V.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
a really good read following on the others. plenty of action.if you like historical history of the romans this is the book series for you.hard to put down ,lots of late nights.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
A great read still working my way through this but enjoying every minute
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2017
Great books got all 10 and couldnot put them down just waiting for more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
This author never fails to provide. Just BRILLIANT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
Another captivating look at 'the Legions' in action during Julius Caesar's campaigns in Gaul.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2017
a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
not light reading but facinating history and and good use of charcters its more tretis on the roman army than anything but none the less facinating
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
This is the fourth instalment in the story of Fronto, one of Caeser's legionary commanders in his campaigns in Northern Europe. The first three books were thoroughly enjoyable, a definite cut above the mass of roman era fiction that is out there at the moment.
Fronto has grown as a character, as have many of the people around him, both in the army, and at home in Rome. The only slightly jarring note is the writing of Fronto's soon-to-be wife, who comes across as a little too shrew-like for my liking. Considering she is the daughter of a military commander, she seems to have little understanding of how such a man would act.
In this episode, the events in Rome, though dealt with in less detail, are as important as those on the campaign trail, as they have a real effect on Fronto's actions by the end of the book.
The author does have a good feel for the era, and seems to understand life in the roman army. He brings the reader into that world really well, and explains it without lecturing.
His handling of the nuances of Caeser's character are very interesting: who can tell whether they are true - this is fiction, after all, but they are believable, which is what matters over the course of four books. By the end of this book, Fronto has changed his mind about Caeser: will he change it again in the next instalment?
Overall, this is a hugely enjoyable book, in a very entertaining series. I am looking forward to episode five!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse