Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
9
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2014
Worth a read if thinking of trying this method of fishing.
Although it's great fun to do I hope I don't become a total fanatic and throw away the rest of my fly rods.
The method is a lot like the one used by Charles Cotton in1660
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
As there aren't many books on Tenkara, there's not much of a choice, but I found this very informative.
I did sometimes think that it was trying to sell me something (buy XXX Tenkara Rod etc)
This attitude sometimes made me wonder if some of the contributors had a passion for Tenkara or were just looking at it from a business point of view..
but overall a good book,once you get past the sales pitch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
Calling this Tenkara 2 because I've just reviewed the other Tenkara book by Kelleher. Same for this book really it's simple and direct. Therefore if you're like me, you are more likely to remember things. I liked it and read it in two or three sessions. Again plenty of good ideas, you take what interests you and dump the rest. Some conflicting ideas in the book by experts in this one that aren't that helpful and annoyed me, so draw your own conclusions after all the magic ingredient is confidence in your techniques not in somebody else's. I have been successful in my fishing career for over forty years, so I feel justified in recommending both books on equal merit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
The whole approach is to ask a number of experts and then print all of their responses. The editing is a very light touch, and the introduction makes this clear. Far from getting the same views repeated, as some other reiviews suggest, there is quite a lot of differing opinion. Whilst I enjoyed the book there is not yet a simple "How to Start Tenkara" in English and I think a lot of people would have liked this book to be that. If you do not know a lot about Tenkara this book may confuse you rather than inform.

I read this book as a paper book (rather than a Kindle File). This may have meant I found it easier to flick through than the Kindle and come backt to bits later. Whilst the content was good the actual quality of the paper and especially the cover was poor, very cheaply printed for what was not a cheap paperback.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
The book is ok but was written like the contributors where all sat around a table being asked the same questions in turn. There was a fair bit of repetition and similar quotes.
The guys obviously know what they are talking about but not as helpful to a beginner as the first Tenkara book I read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
this book goes over the same ground 6 times. one word sums it up boring. there must be better books on this subject. don,t waste your money on this one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
Learnt quite a lot from this. Interesting format like a group chat, but some useful info all the same. Definitely for Tenkara nuts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
I did not like the format much, it is really in the form of a opinionated discussion when i would rather have had more real facts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
Great service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)