Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
29
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 November 2013
I loved this book, the story line is moving in parts. Down to earth. Sad to start, good happy ending. Open for the run on?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
The first 75% went at a nice steady pace with the charioteers evolving in a believable and heart warming way however the last part seems rushed and lacks the nuances
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a tale that takes place over two years, starting when one lead, Zach, is just short of his 18th birthday, and the other is a 24yo rookie cop who comes across him sleeping rough. It's the season of goodwill and the cop, Ben, takes him home, where Zach ends up finding family, love and acceptance - all the things that were missing at home.

It's a sweet tale with hints of sadness for Zach and for his family situation, but all works out well in the end, with him and Ben in the start of their HEA. Ben did the 'noble, responsible thing' due to his job, position and age, so the romance element took a bit of a backseat to the rest of the happenings, and what romance there was was low-key, but very heartfelt and sweet.

For me, this would have been a perfect read had the author given us epilogue part 2, perhaps another 5yrs or so down the line, with the leads on more of an equal footing and living and cementing their HEA. Still, it was a very worthwhile read as it was.

Copy courtesy of the author and Bayou Book Junkie, for my reading pleasure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
Well, this is certainly an oddity. Most reviews would lead you to believe that this played out something like a gay version of a Hallmark channel film you might see on TV one afternoon. And, indeed it does for the most part. If any novel could be compared to one of those TV movies that is pleasant enough but pulls at the heartstrings a little too often, then this would probably be it. As others have said, it's sweet and charming. But I wonder how many reviews were written before they got to the final quarter of the book.

In an almost schizophrenic about-turn, the final section of the book moves away from charming romance that wouldn't even offend Mary Whitehouse to throwing four-letter words at us and giving us rather detailed sex scenes in lieu of a proper conclusion to the story. It's a very odd state of affairs, and rather a sad one too. Part of the appeal of the book's storyline and writing up until that point is that it was a gay-themed novel(la) that didn't rely on copious amounts of nudity and sex scenes for once.

It does appear that very few writers and film directors think that gay men are willing to watch or read any gay-themed work unless it contains moments that are, no doubt, intended to arouse the audience. With The Christmas Throwaway, I would argue that these elements come so far out of the blue that they are almost laughable - or that someone as a practical joke swapped the original final act for a sexy one without the author noticing. It's a shame, because this is sweet and charming up until that point, but the final chapters are silly, supposedly sexy, padding and nothing more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
A lovely, warm, gentle and kind Christmas story. A real romance with good people and honest hope for the future. Not fancy, not deep, not complicated; just nice- reread shelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2011
Ok, yes, this is an easy read, but sometimes that's all you want. It's well written, the story is great and you can read it in an afternoon. Sometimes all you want is a feel-good love story, where everything seems to go right for once. Really enjoyed it. Made me cry.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
Want to spend some happy hours lost in a story of love overcoming obstacles and deep parental rejection?... Then the Christmas Throwaway is a really good offer! The story rings very true, concern turns to attraction and onto love.... with a good dose of responsibility..... The intense parental rejection is very real as is the moden day 'Samaritan'. Well worth buying... well worth sharing. R.J.Scott is to be congratulated for crafting so positive and delightful a love story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
I thought this book started off well - I downloaded a sample and bought the book on the strength of it. However, I found myself from about halfway through wondering 'when does the plot happen?'

The book seemed to become increasingly formulaic as it went on. I felt I could hear the author planning; we'll put a bj on page X and a sex scene on page X +12...

I would have liked the book to contain more interest than the continual repetition of the protagonist's concern for his sister. The delaying tactics used to drag out that issue to the end of the book seemed a little contrived.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
This is a great book- the sort you can read when you need that feel good story. It's about a 17 year old thrown out for being gay and the guy who finds him and helps him. It's a lovely story and nothing inappropriate - they don't get together until he's a year or more older. The family and friends are great and supportive and you just can't help but like both zach and Ben and cheer for their happy ending
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2016
All the Festive Feels! I did really like this a lot. I would say normally the ethical issue of a cop considering hooking up with a barely legal runaway would ping my conscience, but because of the way it’s written, it didn't feel unseemly at all! Ultimately, it’s very sweet Christmas story about characters that I long to read more about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here