Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now



on 2 February 2016
I have a basic knowledge of Python programming and this was really easy to digest and follow. It gives you a good grounding in the basic Python principles, but it doesn't do what a lot of these books do and try to teach you complete Python...this is a Cypher orientated book so if you want a more comprehensive Python education this probably won't do it for you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2016
Excellent book for beginners, easy to read and understand. I fully recommend this book to everyone who is interested in python and cryptography.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2013
This is another excellent book from Al. His other book - Invent Your Own Computer Games with Python - is an excellent way to learn Python. Both books are available as PDF files. So the first question may be "why buy the books?". Well I, for one, enjoy working from an old fashioned book. Another reason is given inside the front cover: "100% of the profits from this book are donated to the Electronic Frontier Foundation, the Creative Commons, and the Tor Project." You may also want to check out the author's website - inventwithpython.com. Al Sweigart is clearly a "good guy"!

I have not had time enough yet to work through the whole book but from an initial scan it is marvellous. The whole concept of writing "secret codes" should be very motivating to students of all ages. On the way you will learn how to use Python. No knowledge of Python is required - The book includes details of how to download and install the software. Every step, every programming construct and every line of code, is very clearly explained and there are practice exercises at the end of every chapter.

Perhaps I should give the book 5 stars! Perhaps in autumn, when I have had time, to work through the exercises, I will.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2017
one of the best introductory to programing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2017
Contains some of the most un-pythonic code that I've seen.
Lots of tedious loops to achieve something very simple.

Really?

for key in range(len(LETTERS)):
Cipher test in UPPERCASE and plain text in lowercase please.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2013
This is an excellent book for beginners to get in touch with cryptography and python. I totally suggest it. Learning python becomes interesting this way. What is more part of the income is contributed to Tor and EFF.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2016
Great product good price and fast delivery!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2017
Haven't had chance to read it as yet so I really can not comment
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2016
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse