Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
15
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Tennis Psychologist: Psychology for Club Players and Captains
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 September 2017
Quite interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
I disagree with Ziods review completely, does he have the right book? When I went looking for a phsycology book I read up on the reviews and found Bill Coles to be particularly helpful. I hope he will excuse me 'borrowing' some of his detailed comments here but it's what made me get a copy.
Here are some of the highlights of this book I particularly like.

Listening to the opposition. How to gain smart data, when the opponent least expects it. (page 7)

In chapter three he has some very useful approaches to controlling rage.

He calls the team captain the "Mood Leader". They are indeed. They can make or break the tone of the team, at every step. (page 125)

He describes how to create a challenge in a match when one is not naturally present. This is a real art and well worth reading. (page 128)

One of the best parts of the book is his list of questions to ask a doubles partner, around making mistakes, pressure and when losing. (page 139)

He discusses "the relationship" between you and your opponent, and how to use or not use the concept of "hating the opponent". (page 159)

He has an excellent discussion of how to create positive thinking, particularly from a statistical vantage point. (page 187)

Overall, The Tennis Psychologist is a pleasure to read. Players of any level will pull actionable tips and advice to help their mind and body operate at peak levels. Team captains and managers will find many strategies for dealing with a variety of team cohesion issues and other common situations.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
It's refreshing to see a book around Tennis Phsychology that isn't aimed at those playing singles at a very high level and rather focuses on what people playing at competitive club level will benefit from. The author is clearly passionate about the subject and obviously draws from first hand experience, as you read the book you find yourself thinking "I do that" or "That's just like ...." Another thing I really liked about this book is that it recognises the team element of tennis, most tennis players play doubles rather than singles particularly as they get older, there are also chapters focussing around captaining a team which are really useful. Personally as someone who can get a bit stroppy when I play tennis matches I am looking forward to trying out some the techniques suggested for managing my temper.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
Loads of advice for captains not just for players in here which was great for me. have read loads of tennis psych books and think its unique as none of the others have covered psychology of tennis captaincy so really enjoyed. written in a really readable style so wasn't heavy like some i've read. Loved some of the original ideas too
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
This is a must buy for tennis players at all levels. It is extremely easy to read and understand, and is packed full of lots
of clever tricks and tips to help you get the upperhand over your opponents. The ideas are also amazingly easy to put into practice. I cannot recommend this book highly enough! Most effective!- Thank you!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
Finally a completely honest account on how to win! John McEnroe will be proud! The author taps into the very thing that is the difference between winning and losing. An excellent demonstration of the power of the mind and utilising it to full effect! Loved it!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
I don't always have a winning mentality on court and sometimes go into matches thinking I'm going to lose. This book has actaully helped me as I felt so much more positive having read it. I get quite het (is that a word??) up on court too and there is a chapter on how to keep calm. Am goign to try some of the ideas as it reads as though the author has used general psychological concepts and adapted them to the tennis court which is good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
Lobley seeks to make a carefully considered contribution to the sports psychology genre.

Written from the perspective of a competitive amateur, he follows a relatively thin line of professionals who've written on the psychology of sporting captaincy.

Brearley (who reached the top of the tree as both professional sportsman and professional psychologist), with his classic on cricket, is probably the most well established.

As far as I am aware, though, this is book is unique in tackling the art of tennis captaincy.

That said, it should appeal more widely to any amateur sportsperson, particularly those in - or keen to move into - captaincy roles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
A friend recommended The Tennis Psychologist and I decided to buy the book - after all, it was very reasonably priced and I was intrigued by the title of the book. When the book arrived I was delighted with my purchase - it was clearly and concisely written by someone who clearly knew what he was writing about. Full of very useful tips and ideal for the start of the tennis season.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
This book has nothing new or ground-breaking but it is a solid sensible offering. Good tips for club captains and a few valuable tips for match players. Every team captain would benefit from reading this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)