Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 February 2013
This is a really lovely little book filled with a super mix of poetry, personal accounts and other thoughts, observations and recollections that have come as a result of Ms Tanner's struggle with an eating disorder and her journey to recovery. What shines out most, in my opinion (in addition to being a very talented poet), is the author's strength of personality, positive thinking and sheer staying power - the refusal to give into the eating disorder and the determination to get her life back. The author is generously donating all royalties from this book to a local eating disorder support charity, a charity that has had half its funding withdrawn at a time when, doubtless, they needed more money, not less. I hope this lovely little book does well and makes lots of money for the charity. Meanwhile I would heartily recommend it to everyone. Finally, I absolutely adore the cupcake theme. I haven't seen Ms Tanner's cupcake tattoo, but I am sure it is quite something!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
A brief but insightful look at a harrowing journey through eating disorders to an inspiring recovery. Beautifully presented and full of essential information all for exceedingly good cakes/cause :)
A beautifully presented little book full of pain, anguish, inspiration and hope.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
A truly honest insight into the everyday struggles of an ed sufferer! I found this book to be inspirational, heart-wrenching, yet heart-warming, emotive and powerful, with just the right amount of humour. An excellent read..... After all...'we all know someone'!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
I have struggled with eating disorders for about a third of my life. I am now recovered and work with adults with mental health problems including eating disorders. I read this book and loved it, its beautifully written, personal, unapologetically honest and filled with hope. Its inspiring to read and a colourful reminder that recovery is possible. After I read this book I gave it to a patient of mine currently battling anorexia. She read it and loved it too - that copy is currently working its way around the eating disorder day services in our local area. This book IS hope. And it must be shared.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
This little book with it's witty title is deceptively simple. This combination of verse and short reflections written during Jackie Tanner's recovery from an eating disorder is a gem.
This is no slick literary masterpiece - it is far more than that. It is a true, honest to goodness, sometimes humorous, definitely from the heart, no holds barred, personal sharing of a difficult life experience.
This book offers two opportunities. One is to begin to understand this most incomprehensible of conditions, the other is to offer inspiration to others in the same struggle. Share this journey and you can begin to believe that if she can do it so can you.
Jackie is a woman of passionate intensity and to get to know her, to travel with her to recovery, and share her joy at the reclamation of her life is a privilege.
Please give this brave book to anyone for whom, in the words of one of the poems, "the ducks fly backwards" and help them learn to fly forwards again.

Elaine Mendoza
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
This book is a must for any individual who knows someone who suffers from an eating disorder, or in fact, any kind of mental health issue. Ms Tanner's depiction of the utter desolation and despair she felt at her lowest point is heart-wrenching and emotional while interspersed with witty and eloquent poetry to raise a wry smile despite the sobering subject matter. As she charts her progress to recovery throughout the book, one cannot help but be inspired by this brave and admirable lady.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
Such an original approach and grabbed my attention straight away. Helpful to those who live with an eating disorder and also to give their family/friends an understanding of what it's like. Hope for the future and an anchor for the present. Perhaps an inspiration to others to release their thoughts on paper. I thoroughly recommend this book for these reasons.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
I wasn't sure what to expect when I finally bought this book. Would it be full of angst? Would it try and trap me into an emotional response? No, and No. This is a beautifully-written insight into Ms Tanner's journey to recovery from ED, underplayed and honest, yet thought-provoking and ultimately heartening as she clearly depicts the nadirs and zeniths of learning to be herself. This is not a tear-jerker (although feel free to be moved by the raw honesty of the poems): it it something much more powerful and real, giving insights for the lay-person to have more understanding and compassion for anyone unfortunate enough to suffer from an ED-related illness, and ultimately, Tanner shows that there is hope for the future for both sufferers and carers alike. More people need to hear this positive message, and with all proceeds of sale of this book going to support Somerset and Wessex Eating Disorders Association, I hope more people will buy it and spread the positive message.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
Jackie Tanner's thought provoking, courageously honest, and inspirational book, is a must to read. Short and succinct enough, with 52 pages, the book isn't a lengthy over the top read, but more an overview of her journey of a life-threatening and often misunderstood disease, in a style that allows the reader to not feel overwhelmed by what could potentially seem "too much" In other words, I have shocking concentration, and I was able to read this with such ease ;) I have followed Jackie's blog for a long time now, and her words always allow inspiration, and certainly do not deviate from raw honesty at times of struggle. Bu the book, it might be the one that changes your thoughts on recover from an Eating Disorder, and actually help save you from yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
I had little if no understanding of the fight anorexia sufferers go through on a daily basis until I read this book. While emotional and unapologetic, 'warts and all' it does have a comical side. I'd highly recommend it to suffers, their carers/friends/family or anyone curious. I'm filled with nothing but admiration for the author and wish her well as she continues her path as a recovered anorexic. It's a beautifully written first book by author Jackie Tanner and I eagerly await her next book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)