Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
21
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 December 2013
Having read this account of Pamela Travers, and also having seen the film "Saving Mr Banks", it really puts a different light on the film " Mary Poppins", in fact makes it more enjoyable, and understandable, knowing how and why the characters were created.
This little biography is truly well written, and is extremely enjoyable.
I would recommend it in every way, then download and enjoy the full "Mary Poppins"collection, as I did.
Believe me,there is an awful lot of reading there, approx 8 full books in total, and a lot of them not included in the film.
Regarding the film "Saving Mr Banks", Tom Hanks makes a wonderful Walt Disney, but be prepared to take a
Couple of tissues with you, as it is a bit of a tear jerker!
Well worth the read in every way.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
As the title of my review would suggest, I found this book interesting, but there were many times within it where I felt there was a jump or a gap. Throughout the book you are given snippet insights into the working life of Travers, however very little is told about her as a person in any real detail at all.
For the price, it gives you a good general overview,however, if you're after a detailed read this book may not be for you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
short novella on the life of mary poppins. interesting, but at times dry; although as ms travers went to great lengths to keep her private life out of the media; I do not think any wriitngs about her would be any better a good all round biography
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
At only 72 pages, it provides a very brief overview of the author's life. As a result, it has to skip over many aspects of her life such as her adopting a child. nevertheless, it provides a good summary of her life and her works, namely her Mary poppins books. As such, it is a good intoroductory work. recommended for those who would like short works about famous authors and for those who would like to explore more about this author in subsequent, lengthier biographies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Having seen the recent film starring Emma Thompson and Tom Hanks, had to read the book. Not disappointed. Thank you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
I enjoyed finding out about P L Travers. If you want to know more about the author of the Mary Poppins books it's worth the time reading it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
This was laden with errors and had an annoying use of present tense. The adoption of her son was barely mentioned. It felt incomplete and generally disappointing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
poorly written - English grammar appalling, tenses all over the place and 'missing links' - ie referring to a person by name with no explanation (and this person was key to PL Travers life!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
interesting content but the whole experience was marred by the irritating tense changes for no apparent reason. I am amazed that this was not picked up on during proof reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
I bought this book after watching 'Saving Mr. Banks' it's completely different to the film but a wonderful insight into such an inspirational lady.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)