Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
12
5.0 out of 5 stars

on 19 July 2017
Its a must have for anyone who would of loved to of lived the life that these people once had. And was so shamefully Stolen from them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
Excellent book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2016
Russell Means if you did not know of him, was something of a Lakota Indian Messiah.

I greatly admire what he has to say in terms of his wisdom, knowledge and opinion. His wife Pearl, is also a very eloquent speaker and has a great deal of knowledge about the ways of the Indian peoples.

My regret is I did not discover Russell until he had died and this was via YouTube, despite the problems he and his people faced, he remained a positive force and his life was dedicated to keeping the Lakota knowledge alive and trying to improve the Lakota situation, which is dire, see a Week at Pine Ridge on YouTube to see what I mean.

I came across American Indian Wisdom by chance while researching for a book of my own I am working on and I grew fascinated by the Indian wisdom and knowledge expressed in their sayings. They had a utopian civilisation centuries ago which the New Agers are seeking to achieve now.

The Indian peoples have a great spiritual connection to the Earth, the living creatures and the stars, without leaving out the 'Star People' they refer to as visitors who have helped them over time.

The stories that Russell recounts in this book are fascinating, I have read other Lakota wisdom books and the information there is very profound. The American Indians were far from the savage warriors that Hollywood painted them as, they had a society and social structure more advanced than we have today. They were the original ecologists. We have much to learn.

There is a Lakota saying 'Mitakuye Oyasin' which means we are all related. They were given this knowledge millennia ago, we in the developed world have recently 'discovered' this through research into genetics, where the basic building blocks of nature apply to all creatures.

IF you take the time to research the wisdom of the Indian tribes it will enhance your life.

Humanity needs to find a new Russell Means to continue the spread of this valuable knowledge.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
Great book, packaged well, affordable value for money and thoroughly interesting - teaches westurners a thing or two and that's for sure ! A lovely introduction with nothing to prove in its purpose other than to preserve and share a beautiful culture.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
Each page is an inspiration, a teaching and guide. Beautiful words of power, love and respect written by beautiful people. This is not just a book to enjoy and put back on the shelf it's a book to learn from and try to live up to.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
The so-called 'civilised' world seems intent on self-destruction through ignorance and greed. This book contains everything that could save us. It should be required reading for anyone studying for an MBA.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
I really enjoyed this book, learned a lot about the native American culture, quite an eye opener. Would definitely recommend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
Initially, I was disappointed when it came in the post because it's smaller than what i was expecting - approx 100 pages. It does say 'introduction' in the title but fantastic read none the less. It sums up and covers a lot of ground and is simply worded. It'll definitely give you something to think about.

A good place to start if you are unfamiliar with native american values and ethics, and a nice introduction to the notion that there maybe a better way of live than what we're currently living in. Also good book to lend to a friend, plus you'll probably get it back by the end of the week.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
Always a pleaasure to read Russell Means words.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2016
brilliant read and great service thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)