Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
43
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2013
This is a well explained introduction to the process involved when making a criminal profile and the history behind it. I found it interesting reading the story of the first criminal profile and the methods used. Whether you're interested in psychology- criminal or otherwise, or just if you've ever wondered what it is and how it's done, this book has been written for anyone to understand.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
For anyone who has ever thought about or is considering a career involving Criminal Profiling, then this is the one to read. With the historical background of profiling, the suggestions of the types of careers involving profiling, and exactly what it involves, this book gives a realistic and honest account that is a far cry from the concepts people have from watching CSI and TV shows like it.
it is an easy read, and I love the links the author provides the readers for additional information, which I think is standard for this author to do (based on other work I have read of this author)- I was once told that if you have a knowledge of information, if it is not shared it will die with you. Well there is no fear of this occurring with books by David Webb, and I can appreciate that the wealth of knowledge this author has, he most certainly shares, which is always an advantage to the reader!
For such an easy read in an area of my own interest, this is a 'must have' book for anyone interested in this field of study and work, and well worth the price :)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
First of all, before I get to review this book, I want to take a moment to tell you about a great program offered by David Webb over at all-about-psychology.com. He is offering free Kindle book authored by himself and others. If you would be interested in receiving free books then follow this link (http://www.all-about-psychology.com/free-psychology-books.html) and sign up to the mailing list. All they ask is that you leave some feedback on Amazon.

Having said that I will be reviewing this book as with the same expectations as a person who had paid full price.

At 46 pages long, this is not exactly a epic, but what it does give you is a short concise review of criminal profiling in America. David Webb’s introductory guide begins by looking at the beginnings of profiling in America, from the pioneering work of Dr James Brussel to the founding of behavioural science in the FBI by Howard Teten.

Overall the book is a quick but interesting read. There are a few formatting mistakes and the layout could benefit from some line breaks between sections. David also seems to include a lot of plugs for his site which can become a bit distracting. I would have liked to have seen a bit more of a look at profiling in Britain and how it all went wrong with the Rachel Nickell’s disaster involving UK profiler Paul Britton. Surly a case which wiped out the credibility of profiling in a whole country is important enough to be included.

Overall the book is a great introduction and I personally would like to see a longer version including more in-depth look at profiling around the world.

I give it 3.5 out of 5.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
This is a great book introducing Criminal Profiling. It takes out the myths and the media hype and gets down to the basics of criminal profiliing. I would recommend this to anyone who is interested in Criminal Profiling.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
I found this very interesting to read. It's a short book only took about a hour to read I couldn't put it down. I gave it 4 stars as I wish it could have been more to read about it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
Not what I expected. This is a very short book (more like an information booklet for students), on how to get into the field of offender profiling. Some useful links but not the BOOK I was expecting. You could finish it in your dinner hour. This should be more aptly titled, "Criminal profiling- a student career guide"
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
i read this book in about ten minutes - it feels more like brief notes/aides memoire than anything else. it leaps about all over the place, giving details which seem to wander off from whatever he was talking about before, and isn't so much an introduction as a brief mention in passing: it doesn't even scratch the surface. to be honest, you'd find out oodles more using a search engine on the internet.

i would return it, but it's not even worth the two minute walk to the post office.

avoid this 'book', unless you particularly want to chuck £4.99 away, in which case, send it to me.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2015
A well written interesting read. This book will be of special interest to those who watch Criminal Minds. It explains it all in an easy to read format.
Though i do feel is knowledge of Criminal profiling in the UK is a lot future ahead than he suggests.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
This is more of a pamphlet than a book. Large text, just a few pages. I feel tricked but perhaps I should have read more about what I was buying ahead of ordering. Also it costs just a few pounds. I can't understand how the other reviewers rate it so highly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
Very simplistic, it really is a basic introduction. Very poor punctuation and layout which just got annoying to read and follow. Some good information and links but overall a waste of money.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)