Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
121
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2013
I have read all of Pamela Ann's books - I love her characters and storylines but I have to be totally honest and say that she DESPERATELY needs a different editor. I initially assumed that the books hadn't been professionally edited until I saw an accreditation. This made me laugh rather loudly as the spelling, grammar, syntax in all her books is nothing short of atrocious. There is a really bad habit of sentences just stopping in mid air, words are missed out and, in fact, some words are just plain wrong in terms of their actual meaning or within the context of the sentence.

These errors do a huge disserve to the author's obvious imagination and potential talent as a writer.

Please, please, Ms Ann - a bit of decent proof reading and editing could make a HUGE difference to your future success.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
I enjoyed this book for all the wrong reasons, the text is full of hyperbole, malapropisms and crazy metaphorical language! I started highlighting some examples but stopped once I realised I'd pretty much have to mark 50% of the story! My favourite 'huh?' line is...
"I weave myself nicely on a nice s*** pile, don't I?"
There were other pointless narrative theatrics such as Drake questioning the baby's paternity, this did not add anything to the story and was not a believable reaction considering he knew her sexual history!
But in spite of the dubious writing I like reading stories by new writers and think this one could have been good with the help of an experienced editor, in fact the story improved a lot in the last few chapters when the absurd overblown sex stopped and the story focused on real emotions! So if you are feeling generous give Lily's Mistake a go....
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
Everything was fine until the first sex scene - it was awful. It totally lacked any sensuality; read like very bad porn; was a complete turn off. Considering this was a young woman losing her virginity to a man she loved, who secretly professed to love her, it was a disaster in terms of writing & the story.
Find a top quality editor; spelling, grammar, absurd descriptions... Such a shame.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2016
I just couldn't get into this story. Lily had loved him from when she was eighteen but he wasn't ready to settle down and so he just left. When the met again years later he was engaged but the story just seemed flat from there. He dropped he girlfriend and immediately she had sex with him. Sorry, it needed some depth, it just didn't work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
I had to finish reading this book, because I wanted to know how it ended, but in all honesty, I didn't really like it.

The story started off well as we meet Lily and her childhood sweetheart, Drake, but it declined very early on for me. There was a lot of potential with the story, but it seemed to get lost along the way, things happened quickly and there was a huge lack of emotion in the writing.

I didn't really connect with the characters, and it was only curiosity that got me to the end.

I really didn't like Lily as a character, she seemed to be a bitch unnecessarily in some parts, and Drake was a hard man to figure out; there seemed to be a bit of a split personality there. I think he wanted to be domineering, and succeeded in some places, but then he lost that streak in places and just became obsessive.

Not a book I would recommend, definitely not the best read I've had! I gave it 3 stars, but I think it's actually more like 2.5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
Just...no. Aside from the atrocious grammar, there's endless pointless statements, abuse, and a very flimsy 'plot'. Is this actually a pre teen writer? I could forgive things if so. If you really want to waste your money, give it to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
I must admit this story was a I can't put down kind of books.
If you like 50 shades of grey then this book is down that line.

It started off brilliantly really gripping. You could feel for Lily and understand her wanting to stay the he'll away from Drake for 8 years.

When she is asked to be his PA I thought ooo how are they going to get along.

It all happened so fast from being angry at each other to something more within days of seeing each other again.

There was a lot of things that was written that had me thinking that can't happen. It is impossible to turn your head around and kiss someone whilst against a wall, unless you are an owl.

Parts seemed completely unreal and rushed.

The ending was appalling in my opinion. It was literally and they lived happily ever after the end. I wanted more I wanted something more to show the relationship and the future they may have.

However I'd recommend for a short read for fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
I actually read the book in a day it's very fast paced. And It's not very long, that is my only criticism. You could have done so much more with the characters and story. It all happens very quickly.

I think in the first four chapters they go from not talking in eight years to him calling off his wedding and them flying to Greece and hooking up.

Both the lead characters are really like able. I also really liked the flashbacks. The sex scenes are very hot and you can't help falling for Mr Tatum.

A great read and one to definitely take on holiday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Youthful heartaches often scar the deepest and that is the case for Lily. Unemployed and sexless for over a year, Lily is coaxed into working as a personal assistant for her first(and as much as she denies it her only) love by both his and her own mother.

Determined not to rehash old memories Lily makes it very clear that work is all she has on her mind...but that soon changes...in a big way.

Facing many obstacles; the ever charming Drake, his Psycho ex, breaking hearts of prospective beaus and a couple of other heartbreaking moments...can Lily open her heart to true love? or is it too late?

Look out for a tie in to Ms Ann's previous book..a tumultuous story that you will want to read beginning to end non stop...warning tissues required! A story that won't disappoint!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
I honestly really wanted to like this book but I am appalled at the spelling/grammar and also that a publisher ever cleared this for printing! The writing style and whole plot is poor, rushed and it has a whole feel of when a 14 year old girl first gives writing a try. Not worth reading and if I was in the time-frame I would return for a refund.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here