Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
56
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2013
My wife shouts from the living room - "what are you laughing at?"
"This book I've just got off Amazon"
"What's it about?"
"Statistics!"
"Are you sure?"

Basically this is the first book on stats that's made me laugh (or at least snort a few times). Of course it's not a deep scientific textbook (being only 54 pages long) - this is more in the mould of "How to Lie with Statistics". Uri Bram uses humour and a great conversational style to get across useful and important concepts in a memorable way. And I stress the "memorable" bit because I now see the need to be on guard from lazy thinking or unintentional abuse of statistics in our normal day-day lives. A super little tome!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2012
In my estimation any book which can make statistics entertaining deserves my vote. But this one goes further. In a very short read Uri manages to explain some very important real life issues in terms of easily accessible statistical concepts. Understanding how much damage can be done by lazy statistics really opens your eyes. Everyone who feels a desire to pontificate should buy this book!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
This is one of the best introductions to Bayesian statistics that I've come across. It is a short book but covers some of the most common mistakes people make in statistics using simple, easy to understand examples. I would highly recommend this book to anybody interested in learning about Bayes law.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
I purchased this book as I wanted to refresh my understanding of the basics of statistics. I found the book delivered this and a bit more. It is accessible and charming (with plenty of examples and layman terms). It will help those who are interested in understanding the core elements to statistics and help you identify the simple questions you need to ask when thinking about basic stats. I would recommend to anyone who wants a basic introduction to the world of statistics and to those wanting to have a quick refresh.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
With quite a few examples and simple explanations he explains fundamental concepts that should be part of everyone's common sense. The examples come from statistics, but they are more like a way of thinking more better, more critically, than doing statistics.

Answer these 3 questions to see if you should read the book:
As a boss if you mostly hear positive feedback from your employees, does that mean that your employees are generally satisfied with you?
Is it a good indicator of the overall low prices of an insurance company that people who switched to it saved £X?
A test for a rare disease detects the disease 99% of the time, and it correctly identifies the lack of it 99% of the time. If you test positive, does that mean you almost certainly have the disease? (like 99%)

If you answered yes to any of the above, then you must read this, if you can rigorously explain why the answer is no, then you probably don't.

(Unfortunately), he wanted to be a bit non-controversial, so he used a bit mundane examples rather than the ones we encounter in advertisement all the time. However he made up for that in the book recommendations.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2011
Uri Bram's first book - Thinking Statistically is a happy 2 hour read with just a nod to the dreaded equation but a big effort to entertain and make the activity of thinking sensibly, humourous and even funny. Uri uses examples to illustrate his 3 main points and tries to guide you through assessing liklihood and dare I say truth from the mis-use of statistics and the tragedy it can bring in the wrong hands. That said - is it sexy ? Probably just "cool". Dan Jacoby
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
Excellent ,if very short book. If you understand the medical problem that you have a test for an illness that's 99% accurate but the illness occurs only in 1 person in 10,000, then the probability that you have the illness if you've just been tested positive is "only" about 9% rather than what seems intuitively correct, namely 99% then you won't learn anything from this book. If not then it's worth a read.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Brilliant book yet very quick read. The book in three sentences: "Check selection before inference". "Endogeneity and correlation does not imply causation". "Bayes rule(z), and beware of Base Fallacy".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
This book is an introduction to the use of statistics in modern world and science. It presents in an easy way several statistical concepts which are (should be) key to the our daily lives. It also shows the problem of not taking those concepts into account. The book has no formulae, and has a nice explanation of conditional probability. However, even if you took an undergrad course in statistics and probability, its content could be superfluous. I would say that the book is great if your background is not scientific or technical, and even being that, it is well written and is easily readable.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
An easy going writing style that personally detracts from the content of the book. ok if you like this style of writing but for me I like the more "text book" style so I can look up chapters for refreshing myself with the concepts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)