Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 25 June 2016
Great Read and great series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2015
Great continuation and diod not waste to much on the back story. Highly recommended as the next in the tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2018
Another good book in the series look forward to reading more of the books in this series about to start book five
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2014
An extremely interesting story set in 1241AD. which could stand alone but is much better for having been read after the three previous books of the Mongoliad Cycle. The characters have become old "friends, aquaintances and enemies" by the time one comes to book 4. The novel repeatedly forced me to look up names and facts mentioned and held my interest throughout. The battle scenes were somewhat too graphically bloodthirsty for me ( but this didn't stop me reading them!) The descriptions of the bitter cold of the Russion steppes made me shiver and the privations of this small band of knights and the people they "pick up" along the way is interwoven with the lives of the mongols,the Tuetonic Knights and the desires of a greedy cardinal to take over lands for Rome which at present respect the eastern orthodox church.
In fact each of the series has had me impatiently waiting to sit down and read more at every possible moment and I cannot wait to start Book 5.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 January 2014
The Fourth of the Foreworld Saga series brings to an end the story of Ferronantus and his companions as they struggle to reach their home. In the aftermath of the deaths of the 2 of the Great Khans this is how the survivors fight the elements, the geography and their enemies to try and return home. Concentrating this time on only one thread of the story it is tighter and more focused than 2 and 3. In it Ferronantus' obsession with the great Spirit Banner, and it's inherent power, are finally realised. In the final battle scenes the strength of the last Shield Brethren and Shield Maidens are tested in an epic struggle with the Livonians. Is there more to come in this series? Book 3 left many loose ends which could be explored in further stories, but this seems a natural ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2013
Happily immersed myself in this for several days while sick. An unalloyed delight. Well written with enormously sympathetic characters and a hot Chinese etiquette instructor, epic in scope and historically fascinating
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2014
I read the four books in the cycle straight through with great enjoyment and wonder at the attention to detail in a period of history and part of the world that I knew so little about. An excellent read. Tony H
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2013
Carries on the great adventure, brilliant writing. The heroes and anti heroes are real characters and quite believable great storyline. Is it the end ?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2013
I've loved the previous 3 books in the series. This one is as well written as the others, but the storyline is getting a little repetitive and predictable. I want to get the next book in a series because I'm looking forward to it with an expectation it'll be as good as or better than what's gone before rather than feeling I have to "complete the set".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2014
an enjoyable novel written in a fast narrative but tended to flit from character to character to quickly making it difficult to understand fully what is going on but I have bought all the books in this series and the authors managed to keep my interest right until the last word
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse