Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 14 June 2015
I enjoyed this walk down memory lane. The format is simple, and works well. Each game is represented by a short essay. These are collected as chapters with different themes:

- The Classics (Manic Miner, Jet Set Willy, Jetpac, Atic Atac, Ant Attack, Horace Goes Skiing, Wheelie, Alchemist, Chaos, Everyone's a Wally, Deathchase, Head Over Heels. You'll have played them all).

- The Pioneers (Games that were groundbreaking at the time: Skool Daze, Feud, The Hobbit, All or Nothing, Dark Sceptre, Redhawks, The Wild Bunch, Deus Ex Machina, iD, Slaine, Driller).

- The Greats (Games that are still worth playing to this day: Where Time Stood Still, Cybernoid, Nodes of Yesod, Knight Tyme, Jack the Nipper, Zoids, Firefly, Thanatos, Turbo Esprit, Daley Thompson's Decathalon, They Stole A Million)

- The Dark Horses (Games I had never heard of, but which sound intriguing: Flunky, Survival, Agent X, Friday the 13th, Alien, Death Wish 3, How to be a complete B*stard)

- Never Again (Games that would never be made today: Trashman, Mrs Mopp, Mad Nurse, Death Star Interceptor, Starring Charlie Chaplin, Cannibal Island, The Rocky Horror Show, Frankie Goes to Hollywood, Give my regards to Broad Street)

The writing is witty, breezy and fun to read. The selection of games is smart, and I am grateful to the authors for introducing me to some brilliant games that I'd never heard of before. If you enjoyed reading Crash and Your Sinclair all those years ago, then you simply must read this book.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2015
Lacks a number of notable games that should be in this little book.Combat Lynx is just one example.
Would have liked to see a few small screen shots from each game also.
Yes I was one of those right at the start of home gaming.We were laughed at for what was seen as a strange waste of time.
Music was still king of teenage pastimes back in the 80's.
Dan captures the feel of the times with a great little book.
Needs expanding;I hope it happens someday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2016
If you lived through the 70's and 80's and started using ZX80 or 81 and then got a Spectrum and then like me went to Sinclair QL and then to Atari ST (or Amiga) and finally to PC this is a great recollection of those days and makes compelling reading. If your my kids then it explains why I am the way I am around computers and programming!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2013
A true trip down the blue rubber key lane . . .

A great read, and brought back a lot of memories about the simple games that I grew up with on the Speccy. The author is really witty, and you are able to enjoy the myriad of games that you don't remember, and games that should never have been made. Yes, the ZX Spectrum had its own version of the Atari's ET game.

The only issue was the lack of photos. It's not so bad for the games that you remember, but I had google for the games that were covered that I didn't remember.

This may be an issue with the eBook version that I read. Therefore, the rating remains at 5 stars, especially for the enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2016
It's an interesting read (when you ignore the typical type of humour you get in these types of books) and covers a good variety of games in a very informative way that just about justifies the low asking price.
For me it loses stars because it points out how limited the colour palette of the ZX Spectrum is then is filled with black and white screenshots and cover scans (paperback version).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2013
If you were a ZX Spectrum owner in the 80s (or even later), then you must buy this book. It details some of the best (and worst) games available on the Spectrum, sometimes with very good humour.

The only problem with the book is the lack of actual content. The Spectrum had thousands of games and this book touches only on a tiny percentage of them. There will undoubtedly be a number of games that you enjoyed back in the day that are not covered in this book.

What the book does do well though is cover some of the games that made the Spectrum one of the must-have 8bit machines, even now. Through the use of emulation you are able to play and enjoy games from days gone by. I'd suggest trying all the games from this book first, as while not a definitive list of the best games available, it's not too far from the mark.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2016
For the price, this book was very enjoyable. As stated by other reviewers, its not heavy on content, but I still got a couple of fun nights of bedtime reading out of it....
Although it misses a lot of the old classics I remember, the chapters were still entertaining and written by someone who obviously knows a lot about the Spectrum days...I would recommend for the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2013
This has to be the most funny and cool book i've read about retro computer games. You dont have to be a complete geek/nerd to read this, the world of speccy nation is as weird and almost exotic in it's strange aethetics! Forget about realistic looking games, and focus on the few and simple acid-colured pixels on a black screen combined with the strange ticking sounds that the ZX could provide. All the weird and great games are reviewed here, thee good the bad and the ugly ones! .. The only bad thing about this book, is that it could have been longer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2014
covers a bunch of games, some not so famous ones. doesn't give a lot of details more like an overview of each
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 July 2016
Good read, brought back many happy childhood memories, just wish I had kept my old 48k and 128K Spectrum and 500+ games.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)