Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
68
4.0 out of 5 stars
Speccy Nation: A tribute to the golden age of British gaming
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 4 November 2015
As a physical coffee table book with some glossy pictures this might have been much more enjoyable publication. Even the paper back version with pictures and wacky fonts looks like it would have been a quite a bit more fun. But for me, the plain formatting and lack of pictures in the Kindle edition makes it a bit of a failure.

Having said that, I enjoyed being reminded of the games I knew, but was a bit bored by the reviews of the games I didn't know.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2016
Ideal gift for people of the 80s Spectrum generation. Brought back some great memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Brilliant little book well worth a read for this price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWERon 14 June 2015
I enjoyed this walk down memory lane. The format is simple, and works well. Each game is represented by a short essay. These are collected as chapters with different themes:

- The Classics (Manic Miner, Jet Set Willy, Jetpac, Atic Atac, Ant Attack, Horace Goes Skiing, Wheelie, Alchemist, Chaos, Everyone's a Wally, Deathchase, Head Over Heels. You'll have played them all).

- The Pioneers (Games that were groundbreaking at the time: Skool Daze, Feud, The Hobbit, All or Nothing, Dark Sceptre, Redhawks, The Wild Bunch, Deus Ex Machina, iD, Slaine, Driller).

- The Greats (Games that are still worth playing to this day: Where Time Stood Still, Cybernoid, Nodes of Yesod, Knight Tyme, Jack the Nipper, Zoids, Firefly, Thanatos, Turbo Esprit, Daley Thompson's Decathalon, They Stole A Million)

- The Dark Horses (Games I had never heard of, but which sound intriguing: Flunky, Survival, Agent X, Friday the 13th, Alien, Death Wish 3, How to be a complete B*stard)

- Never Again (Games that would never be made today: Trashman, Mrs Mopp, Mad Nurse, Death Star Interceptor, Starring Charlie Chaplin, Cannibal Island, The Rocky Horror Show, Frankie Goes to Hollywood, Give my regards to Broad Street)

The writing is witty, breezy and fun to read. The selection of games is smart, and I am grateful to the authors for introducing me to some brilliant games that I'd never heard of before. If you enjoyed reading Crash and Your Sinclair all those years ago, then you simply must read this book.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
I'd love to read a definitive history of the much-loved ZX Spectrum and its multitude of games. Sadly, this isn't it. Which is a shame, because the author obviously has a passion for his subject and conveys it well. What you're actually getting here is a series of descriptions of Speccy games, ranging from the classics (Manic Miner et al) to the truly god-awful (Give My Regards to Broad Street). The descriptions of what the game was like and how it played were enough to prompt a bit of nostalgia, as I remembered countless happy hours in a dark bedroom playing through some of these titles over and over again; but each entry feels incomplete, almost as if the real meat of the book never made it into the final version. Which is a shame, because this was a great idea for a book. I'll give the second volume a go, purely because I can get it on Kindle Unlimited, but it's hard to feel that this was anything more than a missed opportunity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2016
I love to remember those lucky old times. Okay, and I actually owned a black&white TV back then. But I wish I could have paid a few pennies more to get the book in higher quality including color-printed screenshots, and it would just bring the famous colorclash-fx back :-) The grayscale screenshots are making me sad a bit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
covers a bunch of games, some not so famous ones. doesn't give a lot of details more like an overview of each
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
If you were a ZX Spectrum owner in the 80s (or even later), then you must buy this book. It details some of the best (and worst) games available on the Spectrum, sometimes with very good humour.

The only problem with the book is the lack of actual content. The Spectrum had thousands of games and this book touches only on a tiny percentage of them. There will undoubtedly be a number of games that you enjoyed back in the day that are not covered in this book.

What the book does do well though is cover some of the games that made the Spectrum one of the must-have 8bit machines, even now. Through the use of emulation you are able to play and enjoy games from days gone by. I'd suggest trying all the games from this book first, as while not a definitive list of the best games available, it's not too far from the mark.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
A true trip down the blue rubber key lane . . .

A great read, and brought back a lot of memories about the simple games that I grew up with on the Speccy. The author is really witty, and you are able to enjoy the myriad of games that you don't remember, and games that should never have been made. Yes, the ZX Spectrum had its own version of the Atari's ET game.

The only issue was the lack of photos. It's not so bad for the games that you remember, but I had google for the games that were covered that I didn't remember.

This may be an issue with the eBook version that I read. Therefore, the rating remains at 5 stars, especially for the enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)