Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
36
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2013
A beautifully told story with fantastic notes at the end explaining Rosetta's life and a glimpse of the life of her father Frederick and the battles that waged for her to be educated. This story is suitable I think even for quite young children and raises many issues that are sensitively dealt with in this story. It is also a story of a father daughter relationship where Rosetta knows she can tell her daddy her troubles and he can fix them.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Very interesting I didn't realise that this girl's father was one of the first to fight against slavery and apartheid.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
Very good it was very nicely put it was a pleasure to read and enjoy-I recommend it to children .
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
Short but very moving and thought provoking. Really reccommend for a quick read.
Great value - everyone should read it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
This book is amazing I recommend it to my cousins I think they will love to read it because it is so good I would read it so many times in one day it's got good advice in there some quotes I like it
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
Beautifully well written book, that captures the reader instantly. Interesting to read of people so brave in the past that had a life-long struggle to fight for their rights in society, so very sad to read of the people who suffered such segregation and bigotry.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
I chose this book because on the cover was a black person and the time the story related to.
I like period stuff , learning how people struggling and fought to live and feed they family from Dora that have and not wanting to share the world with other who are different from them and those who just hate for the sake of it. If they weren't strong courageous people like Fredrick Douglass who fought for change. They are people like him today all over the world still fighting for the rights of other. We can't progress unless we are willing to change or change unless we are willing to progress.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
enjoy the short story very well illustrated
good reading I need more of this Author
hope children of today read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
An Interesting book telling the story of a girl and her family affected by segregation and prejudice in the USA.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
I bought this because it was one of the kindle daily deals and it seemed interesting. It's hard to describe the book, it was very easy to read as it was well written and flowed beautifully but it was difficult to read about the treatment to Rosetta and her family. It is worth reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here