Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
16
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 December 2013
I saw the reviews of the film of the same name and after reading the comments on the book was under the impression this was the book about the same person but it is really only the journalist's account of meeting the "butler" and how the film being made. Very disappointed
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
Its purely a movie accompaniment, not a slice of history as i imagined.
Sent it back due to not being what i thought it was.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
Content very poor. Expected more about the presidential life below stairs poor value for money I will not be seeing the vim
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2016
A writer is enraptured by the idea of the first Black (bi-racial) president in the United States and wonders if there was a minority member of the wait staff in the White House during the Civil Rights movements. After many phone calls he tracks down a man that served eight presidents. He gets to know him and writes an article.

The second portion is about the five years it took to get a movie made about the subject. Insightful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
A gift which I appreciate. I love history but am a bit tired of the same type of story. I am inspired by Sir Marcus Garvey and Steve Biko. The types of films and stories that are being churned out to celebrate the Africa-American history seems to be of particular types of characters. I didn't connect to this story but appreciate it as a gift. The maid, the this the that... I don't feel inspired. It is like we are waiting for a system to accept us and if we endure we can get crumbs here and there... I appreciate there is an African-American president but also realize this does not represent freedom nor does it mean economic and social independence. This is not my field so I am not the best person to present this point, but these films are digestive for most but not for those who see the bigger picture in our post-slavery society... A witness to History is not enough when we had characters who sort to change history..had they lived who knows what sort of independence Africans world over would have had in [post-slavery] society [U.S.A]/[U.K] via Africans from the Caribbean [previous slavery central].. so much has not been shown and instead we have these types of stories.. I feel lukewarm to it.. I respectfully enter this review and truly appreciate his dignity and ability to remain in his field.. but would like to see and read more about heroes who wanted more for an equal race that is Afrikans with a 'k'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
What a very interesting story. I would have loved to be able to meet Mr E Allen and his wife. A man with strong ethics and such grace and humility.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Thought this would be a little boring, but, was a very pleasant read. Recommend it ,but think the film mught go a little further.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
Great Book , Best Egyptian Regards
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
Fantastic very very very funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
my wife loved it thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.29

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)