Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
30
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 February 2014
Mr Cox has long been one of my favourite Star Trek writers. One of his earlier efforts - ASSIGNMENT ETERNITY - is considered by many to be a classic. Consequently i have been salivating in anticipation of this book's release.

The book opens with a diplomatic mission with Kirk and Commissioner Santiago to the planet Yusub, with the aim of promoting a path for potential membership of the Federation. Things soon go awry, with duplicity and betrayal by parties unknown, and Kirk's life is saved by - of all people - Seven Of Nine when she appears on the scene just in time. It takes a while for the book to explain to the reader how this was managed - four chapters to be precise - but the story telling contained within this part of the book is highly entertaining (in many ways) and full of memories for long term fans of both arms of the world famous science fiction franchise.

By the start of chapter five, the reader knows as much about what is going on as does Kirk, Spock, McCoy and Seven. I will say no more of the plot so as to protect future readers. But it certainly is fascinating and is well worth your money.

The book is relatively long for a star trek novel at almost 400 pages and is a complex read. The characterisation is excellent and obviously emotional attachment is a given. The plot is outstanding as i have already said. Humour has a strong role to play in the book, too. Overall I give this story four stars.

Looking forward to more books from Mr Cox!

BFN Greggorio!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
I'm not normally a reader of novels from The Original Series line, but seeing as this is a crossover with Voyager I made an exception, and wasn't disappointed. The story sees Seven of Nine thrown back in time where she meets up with Captain Kirk, and together they have to save the timeline from damage.

The first thing I noticed was that the style adopted by Cox is quite different from that used in the 24th Century novels. It's more relaxed, more casual - almost jokey. This fits well with the original series setting and characters, and there are a number of in-jokes that I spotted, and doubtlessly more that I missed.

The plot is a fulfilling thriller as the characters encounter a lot of obstacles, and in doing so Cox makes reference to several episodes I recognised from the TV series, and some earlier novels, some of which I was barely familiar with, but for which there was enough background given for me to get the gist.

So the book is really just a vehicle to get two characters together, and unlike the TNG-era novels I've been reading recently adds little to Trek as a whole, but it's good fun and I've really enjoyed reading it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
This book describes itself as an epic crossover tale. I would certainly agree with the last two words but ‘epic’? I think that’s overstating it a bit. Entertaining, certainly; engrossing – yes, if you can overlook a couple of minor flaws (of which more in a moment). My definition of ‘epic’ is something more, a story or stories that have a major influence on the timeline. Something more like the "Destiny" or "Fall" series. Those were gamechangers…
Anyway, semantics aside, I did enjoy this book. Ever since Spock made an appearance in the reunification episodes of TNG, the Trek writers have been looking for ways to bring the ‘old’ and ‘new’ characters together and this is another example of this genre. It was enjoyable revisiting certain memorable episodes of TOS, albeit at different points in each timeline, with the added interest of a physically deteriorating Seven of Nine present (no Borg alcoves back then!)
Now to the first of my niggles. Without giving too much away, much of the narrative is set during Kirk’s era and involves traveling to places that TOS crew had been before, to retrieve artifacts left by another character. This person had spread a number of these all over the Alpha quadrant, but then for no obvious reason had traveled tens of thousands of light years to leave just one in the Delta quadrant, where it is happened upon by Voyager, during its original journey there. It just seems to me that if this person truly wanted to scatter the artifacts around the Galaxy (to make them harder to find and assemble together) then surely they would have included places in the Beta and Gamma quadrants as well. Perhaps I am just being pedantic.
Second niggle. Once Kirk and his senior crew have accepted Seven’s presence and her story as genuine (a bit too easily in my view) they then wholeheartedly embrace the concept of the Temporal Prime Directive and go well out of their way to avoid polluting the timeline by revealing Seven’s presence to anyone else, or using her knowledge of the future for their own era’s benefit. Whilst laudable, this seems to go against character at least so far as Kirk is concerned, as he has on a number of occasions had few qualms about time travel, or interacting with characters from another era. Had they even heard about the TPD back then???
Anyway, moans over. Ignore these and this was an entertaining read. There was a slight element of ‘press the reset button’ at the end as all the alternative timelines presumably just ‘disappeared’ (as they tend to do in such circumstances), but I guess this was to be expected given the nature of the story. Worth a read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 18 November 2015
Greg Cox is the author of numerous Star Trek novels and stories, but this is the first time he has written a book featuring Seven of Nine from Star Trek: Voyager. This is a crossover tale which has Seven of Nine interacting with the original Star Trek crew. As such, it is a fascinating tale, as it involves time travel and the conflicts and potential paradoxes that such time travel can entail.

Captain Kirk and the Enterprise are accompanying Commissioner Santiago on a fragile mission, hoping to bring into line an alliance against the Orion pirates plaguing a sector of space. When the mission goes horribly wrong, Kirk is surprised to find himself allied with an intriguing young woman who has seemingly appeared from nowhere. But his surprise is matched by that of Seven of Nine, who was, when she last took stock, on an away mission with Captain Janeway and some crew members of Voyager, their ship currently stranded in the Delta Quadrant. How did she end up on this planet, with the original Enterprise crew, and in her own past? And now that she’s here, what is she going to do?

This was a really good read. Fairly standard Star Trek fare, but an entertaining and engrossing novel, which really utilises the characters of the original Star Trek series well. The characterisations are well written, and the interaction between them and Seven, as well as the scenes on Voyager, are very well portrayed. The story nuts out the issues involved with time travel, and whether someone from the future should interfere with their own past, or indeed in this case with the Federation Prime Directive. Interwoven with that is the tale of those who would like to get hold of Seven, and their future, for their own requirements, and the last part of the book turns into a great old-fashioned original Enterprise fight against the enemy, with Scotty, Spock, Chekhov, Sulu and Kirk all taking major roles. Excellent stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 18 November 2015
Greg Cox is the author of numerous Star Trek novels and stories, but this is the first time he has written a book featuring Seven of Nine from Star Trek: Voyager. This is a crossover tale which has Seven of Nine interacting with the original Star Trek crew. As such, it is a fascinating tale, as it involves time travel and the conflicts and potential paradoxes that such time travel can entail.

Captain Kirk and the Enterprise are accompanying Commissioner Santiago on a fragile mission, hoping to bring into line an alliance against the Orion pirates plaguing a sector of space. When the mission goes horribly wrong, Kirk is surprised to find himself allied with an intriguing young woman who has seemingly appeared from nowhere. But his surprise is matched by that of Seven of Nine, who was, when she last took stock, on an away mission with Captain Janeway and some crew members of Voyager, their ship currently stranded in the Delta Quadrant. How did she end up on this planet, with the original Enterprise crew, and in her own past? And now that she’s here, what is she going to do?

This was a really good read. Fairly standard Star Trek fare, but an entertaining and engrossing novel, which really utilises the characters of the original Star Trek series well. The characterisations are well written, and the interaction between them and Seven, as well as the scenes on Voyager, are very well portrayed. The story nuts out the issues involved with time travel, and whether someone from the future should interfere with their own past, or indeed in this case with the Federation Prime Directive. Interwoven with that is the tale of those who would like to get hold of Seven, and their future, for their own requirements, and the last part of the book turns into a great old-fashioned original Enterprise fight against the enemy, with Scotty, Spock, Chekhov, Sulu and Kirk all taking major roles. Excellent stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 18 November 2015
Greg Cox is the author of numerous Star Trek novels and stories, but this is the first time he has written a book featuring Seven of Nine from Star Trek: Voyager. This is a crossover tale which has Seven of Nine interacting with the original Star Trek crew. As such, it is a fascinating tale, as it involves time travel and the conflicts and potential paradoxes that such time travel can entail.

Captain Kirk and the Enterprise are accompanying Commissioner Santiago on a fragile mission, hoping to bring into line an alliance against the Orion pirates plaguing a sector of space. When the mission goes horribly wrong, Kirk is surprised to find himself allied with an intriguing young woman who has seemingly appeared from nowhere. But his surprise is matched by that of Seven of Nine, who was, when she last took stock, on an away mission with Captain Janeway and some crew members of Voyager, their ship currently stranded in the Delta Quadrant. How did she end up on this planet, with the original Enterprise crew, and in her own past? And now that she’s here, what is she going to do?

This was a really good read. Fairly standard Star Trek fare, but an entertaining and engrossing novel, which really utilises the characters of the original Star Trek series well. The characterisations are well written, and the interaction between them and Seven, as well as the scenes on Voyager, are very well portrayed. The story nuts out the issues involved with time travel, and whether someone from the future should interfere with their own past, or indeed in this case with the Federation Prime Directive. Interwoven with that is the tale of those who would like to get hold of Seven, and their future, for their own requirements, and the last part of the book turns into a great old-fashioned original Enterprise fight against the enemy, with Scotty, Spock, Chekhov, Sulu and Kirk all taking major roles. Excellent stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
In a journey from the Delta Quadrant to The original 5 year Mission of USE Enterprise 7Th of 9 goes on a quest to get back to the future. Adding to that are images of world's seen in the original Series and space outstretched is fantastic tale for all Star Trek Fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2015
A very good read. Starts fast and continues that way until the end. Good use of Seven's character, and how she would appear to Kirk and his crew. A of time travel going on, and used with skill. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
I had not read any of this author's work before and I have to say I loved it! The style very much fit Star Trek TOS with the snappy pace and dialogue. A combination of Seven, Kirk, Spock and Bones is a must read for any serious fan. I will definitely be looking for more by Greg Cox.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
I liked this more than I thought I would. Seven and Kirk were well written. For people who hadn't watched TOS, this may be a bit dull. The ending was a bit boring with no insights and this suffered from a repetitive feel to the planet hopping.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse