Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
16
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2012
Having been a Numan fan pretty much since his first appearance on TOTP, this was a fascinating read. I only knew a few bits about his pre Tubeway Army days despite reading his autobiography and this book filled in the gaps nicely. As someone else mentioned, it's also delightfully warts and all so some people's thoughts are quite blunt in places and to be honest, I'm surprised they went on record in some cases. I did find it irritating that the author decided to put 'The Late xxx' next to all the deceased commentators names, just a single mention would have sufficed, surely? It did also put a spin not previously seen by myself on the early years of how helpful Gary was to other people. That flies in the face of the usual 'difficult loner' image portraid elsewhere.

As far as the bulk of the book i.e. a breakdown of each song, it's very thorough managing to include all sorts of oddities, out takes and other such rarities. In many cases the people interviewed barely remember them they were that obscure. It was also interesting reading the Beggers Banquet people's notes on finding lost tapes, problems doing remastering etc.

All in all, an absolute steal for the price. I'd have happily paid more for this. Maybe I should buy it a few more times :-) Thanks to the author for a really good read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
Paul Goodwin puts a lot of time and effort into what he does and has come up with a jewel for every Numanoid. The information keeps coming some new some old some well known and some not, a great book covering some of the career of a unacknowledged legend in british music long may he continue and Paul can then bring out volume 2
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
first half, fascinating. Really absorbing to read the story behind those classic songs, and the events of the time.
I learned a lot of things I didn't know about the early years of Tubeway Army.
Second half, I skimmed. The low creative period, post I Assassin, is not so interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
Great insight & background info. Shame there are so many spelling & grammatical mistakes plus it's a little disjointed in parts, hence only 4 stars instead of the 5 I would like to have given it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
Alternative information from 'Praying to the Aliens' so well worth a read if you are interested in the the work and music of the most underrated and misunderstood yet diverse and interesting musician of the 20th/21st century. Slated by the post punk press in the 80's to present day (step forward Dylan Jones from GQ magazine) now his peers (who actually listened to the music) champion him (Liam from Prodigy, Lady Gaga, Bowie, Damon Albern, Prince...).

My only problem is that this book was published in 2005 so 2004 is the cut off date for details of his music
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
as a numan fan this book of stories of the songs on why he wrote them and what was going on in the music business at the time from gary himself the people he worked and famous fans of his was a big eye opener for me. it also made go back over my record collection to hear the songs again that mentioned in this book in a new way so I got to enjoy the song more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2012
A lot of work has gone into this book and it is well worth a read. At 81p it is definately a bargin. It records the words of Numan and those who helped make him a massive star.... for a few years anyway. For Numan fans a very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
Fantastic book for us Numanoids, with amazing insights in to classic tracks, what the inspirations were etc. so glad someone put a link on Facebook to this, just wish I had got a hard copy rather than the Kindle version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2012
found this quite by accident, and being a former gary numan nut, gave it a whirl ,obviously well researched and quite a bargain to boot. is a long way from the electric pioneer in content and quality .just loved reading all the interviews with band and family members ,some very honest and truthful. would guess it is the first of a few and is not twenty five pounds and airbrushed wih sycophantic drivel and bad photos .v good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2012
This is an amazing piece of research by the author and offers tremendous value. Anybody with even a passing interest in Numan's work will find this fascinating and all for less than £1. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)