Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Pocket sized cricket reference guide packed with stats and lacking anything in the way of advertisements or other distractions. Format, as always, is black and white print, no photographs apart from the front cover, the contents are split into six sections with a forward by Ian Marshall;

Test Cricket
County Cricket
Limited Overs and Twenty 20 Internationals
Other Cricket
2014 Fixtures
Fillers/Miscellaneous

The book runs to a total 335 pages of straightforward, easy to follow statistics running alongside a wide variety of cricketing facts covering both County and International cricket.

Covers are soft card and the book fits into in one hand making it a perfect size for pocket or bag. A straightforward, clear and affordable reference work that's great value for money and ideal reading matter for any enthusiast.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Agree with other comments here that the e edition is hard to use. Scanned print make it hard to read and insufficient detail in index make it hard to navigate quickly. With a pair of reading glasses and some patience I find it usable, just.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
This is the standard "pocket book" cricket fans use. If I'm honest, there's probably little point anyone reviewing this book. It's targeted at a particular audience who know what to expect from the book, and it gives them what they've what they want, because it has given it to people every year it's been published.

For the uninitiated, enthusiasts use it when they've got a few free minutes, and they want to look up a potted biography for the new batman for bowler (or just what happened in a given tournament, or test match, last year). It's the sort of book you'll buy if you're looking for those sorts of things. It's good because it's cheap, and easy to use.

All self respecting cricket enthusiasts will at least think about buying the book, because they're interested in that area of the game. For the uninitiated, it's still useful, because it's an accessible read. I'm just not sure they're likely to buy it, unless they know it's for them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
My husband loves this little book and takes it with him whenever he goes to cricket to look up certain players. You could say that it is his Bible! It was delivered when they said it would be and parcelled up in a very secure package.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
The publication of the Playfair Cricket Annual heralds the start of the cricket season. I can start planning some summer days out - always allowing for the weather!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
This annual always does what it says "on the tin". Unfortunately, it does not help me to win the Daily Telegraph Fantasy Cricket League.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
As ever, it does what it says on the tin - not flashy, not pricey and an invaluable pocket companion for all county cricket spectators. As ever, I wish the general county information preceded the individual players' biographies in each section - I invariably locate the next county in error when first looking up a player, but that is just me being senile. I hope it never succumbs to delusions of grandeur or 'modernity' and starts including loads of pictures, glossy paper, bland public-relations 'profiles' of stars etc and shooting up in price, size and weight - it was born to be dog-eared, portable and cheap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
This year I opted for the Kindle version of this useful reference work. All the usual details are there though on my old Kindle the print is impossibly small where statistics are given. Also the whole section on the counties is given in one block. It would have been easier to navigate with a section for each county. Using it with the Kindle ipad app was a bit easier and it was possible move around using the scrolling bar at the bottom of the page and also to expand the statistical tables more easily. Nevertheless, top information especially for followers of English county cricket.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
Always a highlight of the year when this book is published. Now summer has finally arrived.
Also this completes my collection of every edition of this annual.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
Buy this each year. All the facts you would need about last years domestic and International matches and averages. I take it to all the games I go to.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)