Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
95
3.1 out of 5 stars
Season to Taste or How to Eat Your Husband
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 November 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Hmmm. Thought this was one of the those ironic, or analogous book titles, but this turns out not to be the case.

A fifty-something woman, who makes cakes on the side, smashes in her husband's skull one day - almost on a whim - and finds an original way of disposing of the body.

The prose is spare and it has its admirers among the literary critics, but I don't share their exaggerated claims on its merits as a piece of literature.

It was funny in parts - I can't deny - but it did leave a bit of a nasty taste in the mouth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 September 2015
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Lizzie, a fiftysomething housewife living in leafy Surrey, is overcome by desperation and kills her husband Jacob with a spade, chops him into 16 bits, bags and freezes him, then over the course of the narrative cooks and eats parts of his body. After 30 years of unhappy marriage, Lizzie hopes that Jacob's death will be her "chance of a new life".

This is a compulsively readable tale exploring the darkest desires of humanity and the discontent simmering beneath seemingly serene surfaces.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 January 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is the strangest premise for a novel that I've read in a while, and I do enjoy a high quirk factor in a book. Season to Taste is the tale of a marriage gone wrong, and one day Lizzie snaps, murders her husband with a spade, then dismembers and freezes him before starting to work her way through eating the evidence, before disappearing off to Scotland.

In the beginning, we are fascinated in a truly macabre way by Lizzie's gourmet recipes to make her husband's remains palatable, including scrubbing the fingernails before honey-roasting his hand for instance. A couple of weeks later, her protein-rich diet is beginning to wear on her, and what was almost a last act of love is becoming a little more desperate. The recipes are mouthwatering in their awfulness though!

In between the recipes, and Lizzie's lists to help keep herself strong, we hear about her and Jacob. Frankly I found them both unlikeable, but I read on to find out whether she gets away with it. This is a debut destined to get anyone who encounters it talking about it - with horror, with disbelief, even at times with sympathy - the author cleverly plays with all our emotions, and when it does start to go a bit wrong as Lizzie's overconfidence leads to too much fraternisation with the neighbours, I did rub my hands with glee.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Technically, the book is far from a disaster - it is well written with a good premise and some neat ideas, I suspect that there may even be some wit and humour lurking somewhere.

In fact I can envisage some people really liking it; unfortunately I was not one of them.

It simply didn’t work for me - I found the main character unappealing, the attempts at wit passed me by barely raising an occasional smile; all in all it was just a bit grim.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
This book was a bit of a let-down. I bought it having read a review in a magazine and it sounded gripping. It's not. It jumps around between chapters to different characters' perspectives which is confusing and some of the characters are not really developed or described in much detail, which makes it hard to follow. It felt rather like it fizzled out at the end. I was hoping for something a bit more explosive at the end!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 January 2014
I read about the story of unlikely murderer who kills her husband and eats him to dispose of the body in Harper's Bazaar and could not wait to read it, "How to Eat Your Husband" sounded dark-hearted and malicious and fascinating, somewhat a thriller, somewhat a dark humorous fantasy of its author, Natalie Young... That's what I was expecting, salivating at the prospect of reading such a brave book. Oh boy. It definitely looked better than it "tasted", excuse the comparison. What I thought would be an absorbing page-turner was, in reality, a very matter of fact told story of Lizzie, who, day by day, disposed of her husband one piece of a time (she even feeds her dog on what used to be Jacob). It is disturbing and revolting (and additional star goes to Ms Young for so cruelly portraying all the cooking and all the carving of the meat - genitals and eyes included - there is something wrong with you if you don't cringe!).

"How to Eat your Husband" is written in a very monotonous way, and in the end, there is no satisfaction. There are some really amusing sarcastic insides in the mind of Lizzie, who writes a list of all things mundane to keep her sane. But really, is there anything worth keeping in her head? There are a number of other characters in the novel, such as young Tom, who narrates the story from the first person and on whom Lizzie develops some sort of a crush. But none of the additional characters adds much to the story. I felt that I never really cared for the story, and could not relate to Lizzie, or to any of the other characters in this strange book. And then it ended.

I read a number of hyped up reviews and I can only conclude that this is one of the books which you need to discover for yourself, season "to taste", so to say. Or maybe I was not in the right frame of mind when I read it. But all is left is not a pleasant aftertaste. I do not think I will be recommending this book to my friends.

P.S. I recently read the wonderful, in my opinion, study on the premise, killing and aftermath of murder (all within 24 hours) of one daughter of her mother - The Almost Moon. I recommend it if you are interested in a much more detailed psychological "study".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 December 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a strange novel, it's a murder story but definitely not a thriller, we know from the start who did it and we are meant to. I don't really know what to make of this book, it is a good idea certainly, of a fifty-something woman Lizzie who batters her husband with a spade on the back of the head, killing him and then has the genious idea of hacking him into joint like pieces and putting him in the garage freezer, she then makes meals out of these portions each day. She clearly thinks that this is the best way of getting rid of all the evidence. So every day she plans meals using herbs and anything else she can come up with to make her dear departed palatable. The author goes into great detail of how she prepares these recipes and how she copes trying to eat the results, it can be quite nauseating reading it. Lizzie is a strange lady, in fact I think she is a total lunatic and she gradually gets weirder with each passing day has she has to force herself herself to do this. She has a plan to leave her home and make a fresh start in Scotland when she has finished her protein filled diet, which seems to be making her put on weight and she puts it about locally that her husband has left her, but her plans don't quite go the way she envisions. This is not a bad book, but it is never really all that clear why she offed her husband in the first place and none of the characters are very likeable. Though she has written a clever story here, I believe the author has presented it in a bit of a patchy way and it does have an up in the air kind of ending. Still it's a good original idea.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
This was altogether very tongue-in-cheek! There were a couple of hairy moments which kept the reader on their toes, all in all, quite a good read. It was disappointing only for the fact that it ended up in the air. Not serious reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
Very hard to read in places but the "heroine" came across as a grounded individual despite her weird way of disposing of her husband. Someone must have a very sinister mind!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
“Season to taste” is a suburban dark comedic horror that would make Roald Dahl proud.

“Season to taste” starts off with the best motherly advice “You have to get your head around disappointments. And try not to drink”. I think that line alone sums up Lizzie’s state of mind. Lizzie co-dependant and disenfranchised. Snippets of her life appear throughout the story as Jacob, her husband, chipped away at her over the years, little piece by little piece.

I suspected that Jacob was a bit of a narcissist and that part about him really doesn’t come out until one scene where he was gaslighting her to make her believe his indiscretion was her fault. Jacob was selfish and apathetic – I don’t know if he deserved what he got in the end, but Lizzie sure thought so. The more you learn about Lizzie, the less horrified you become and the more empathetic towards her you become.

Eating Jacob takes on a cathartic quality of taking her power back from him. With every mouthful, she savours her new freedom. Canabalism is probably the most taboo human subject out there, but Natalie Young handles it with grace. “Season to taste” is often thought-provoking, humorous and totally outlandish. It depicts the dysfunctional traits of amour fou and brings all those things you think of doing in the heat of the moment and plots it all out in fable form.

Lizzie just didn’t eat Jacob like a caveman, she prepared him. Some of the recipes were quite inventive and gourmet. My personal favourite was the Jacob ginger stir fry. “Season to taste” is a truly unique book – at times a bit gory and not for the faint of heart, but this is a book that wont be forgotten any time soon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here