Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
48
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 September 2014
This is a very absorbing book set out in short riveting stories about police officers going beyond the call of duty. I was touched by all the stories but none more so than the Special Constable. As an ex Special myself it was pleasing to see a mention of this band of volunteers. Back in my day we were viewed with suspicion but I guess now times have changed and they appear to be more accepted by their regular colleagues. I felt a touch of pride reading the Special's story. That's not to detract from all the other brave girls and boys in blue whose remarkable stories are told in this book. An excellent read and a tribute to all officers in our thin blue line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Above and beyond more likely, had to pace myself with this one, and remember this is real life, not fiction. loved the jest about KInnel !! read it, and find out for yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
A good read and worth buying
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
Amazing book compiling the real-life stories of some incredibly brave people! Each chapter is awe inspiring; and written so well that you will struggle to put the book down. A must-have for anyone with an interest in the police. And a percentage of the proceeds go to charity!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
This is not my usual type of book so I didn't really think it would be my sort of thing. I was so wrong! As soon as I started reading, I couldn't put it down. Once you start reading each story you have to know how it turns out, it is not always as you might hope but in every case the policemen and/or policewomen involved have been amazingly brave, putting other people's lives and safety above their own. Then - you have to start reading the next story!!
This book has made me think about what the police actually do, I've realised that until now I've taken it for granted which is I'm sure what most of us do.
I thoroughly recommend this book to everyone!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
These thrilling stories detail the incredible bravery of police officers facing extraordinary situations

putting their lives at risk to save others, and all in the line of duty. A superbly crafted series of true

stories revealing their personal and racing thoughts as they grapple desperately with life or death

situations. These are real life incidents of ordinary men and women police officers, from up and

down the land, dedicated to ensuring the safety of the public and ridding society of the scourge of

small time crooks and armed criminal gangs. Experience the adrenaline rush as officers talk down

an armed gunman, or stare down into the barrel of a shotgun. Admire the courage of an officer who

hates heights overcome his own fear to rescue an injured women high up on a narrow cliff ledge.

Share the apprehension as officers race at high speed to answer a call to a domestic where a woman

is being threatened with a knife. Experience the urgency as they desperately try to rescue a trapped

man from drowning. These are ordinary men and women who make and take life changing decisions

as part of their daily working lives. Their stories are told in graphic detail to enable us to share in

their truly amazing acts of heroism. These largely unsung heroes daily put their lives on the line well

beyond the call of duty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
This book gives real down to earth accounts of some of the many brave acts our police officers and police staff are involved in, how they have put their lives on the line so others may live, the challenges they face often on a daily basisa. The emotional impact that these incidents have had on the lives of those involved, the struggles they face dealing with it, how they have or haven't been able to return to work, what scares are left both fiscally and mentally. These acts of bravery have saved and helped save lives, although there are some very sad accounts of the very brave efforts of officers not coming to result all were hoping for. They don't ask for praise or any kind of reward, a simple thank would be nice but it seems that appreciation is often not given, they draw their rewards knowing at the end of the day they have tried their very best to changed someone's life for the better, or even saved their lives. A well written, easy to read book that keeps you wanting to know what happened next, did they succeed, did they save them, and the punch is, they are all real life accounts of brave acts of selflessness!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
A compilation of true stories as told by the Officers involved revealing the many ways in which Police officers are thrust from normal routine into extraordinary acts of courage and perseverance.
A fascinating and captivating read which I found hard to put down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
Beyond the Call of Duty is a breathtaking, terrifying and fascinating insight into a selection of examples of inspirational bravery shown by UK police officers in the line of duty.

The background leading up to each incident draws the reader in to the daily life of the officers involved, laying bare the stark contrast when "just another day" at work turns into a living nightmare.

Police officers are trained to react to difficult situations, and we expect bravery of them, but through this collection of stories we begin to understand how critical those skills are and how much is demanded of them.

Beyond the Call of Duty is written in a comfortable, easy style that allows the stories of police officers' bravery shine through without distraction.

I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)