Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
10
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2013
I do enjoy a good Francis Durbridge. I can overlook the casual misogyny which pervades everything he writes because it pervaded most of society in the 50s and is part of the evocation of a previous era. Woman are devastatingly beautiful, fragile and irrational, and men are hard working, tolerant and shouldering the big worries in life. Occasionally, it is toe curling, so I'm only giving it 4 rather than 5 stars.

The plot is good fun and if I shut my eyes I feel like I'm lounging with a martini, like the 'leisured classes' so respected by Durbridge.

I'm very much enjoying these new Durbridge recordings outside of the Temple and Frazer canon.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
The service was exellent. Came before time. Would buy from them again, Durbridge is an Fab writer and keeps you reading on.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
would definitely recommend, good story, didn't realise Francis Durbridge wrote anything other than Paul Temple I have the other similar CD which I also recommend
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
I am A big fan of Francis Derbridge. What more can I say. I almost feel as if I was there in the plot.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
Took a while to work out what was going on, but that is the whole point of the mystery. A well told tale that keeps you engaged. A little dated, but that is the genre and a glimpse of the past.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
We've just listened to this on a road trip. It was so compelling that we had to grab sandwiches to eat in the car rather than have a sit down meal and waste listening time! It was hard to know which of the characters to trust ...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Another excellent story from this author, plenty of suspense to keep you listening. looking forward to another one being released.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
This is an excellent cd arrived quickly following my order. Very well narrated by Greg Wise thoroughly enjoyable who done it. I did not want to get out of the car and interrupt my listening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2016
Greg Wise is a brilliant reader of Francis Durbridge stories. This one has all the expected Durbridge twists and turns!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse