Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
193
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2013
This instalment in the author's tale of the life of Vespasian is a bit of a mixture. As some other reviewers have pointed out, it does get very explicit at times: I was not offended by the detail, but felt unsure as to whether it was actually necessary. Yes, I can understand that the author had to impress on us that Caligula was so much more morally bankrupt than the rest of Rome, but I think it could have been done in a more subtle way.
Unlike some other reviewers, I think his treatment of early Christianity, and Paul in particular, made an interesting sub-plot. They would indeed have been seen by the authorities as a group of trouble makers - one amongst many - and dealt with accordingly.
Overall, an interesting read, and a good addition to the series. It did seem at times as though the author was filling time until he could get back to Vespasian's military career, which I suspect will follow in the next volume.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
hideous times written well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Typical blood and thunder from an excellent author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
A very good read 👌
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 January 2013
You know that you're about to embark on a new year full of fine books when it kicks off with the publication of a novel by Robert Fabbri, one of the best writers of historical fiction about today. Vespasian, the 1st-century AD general who against all odds survived a succession of Rome's most nutty emperors to don the purple himself, is a worthy subject for a series of novels and Robert Fabbri has done him justice. In the third novel, False God of Rome, everything takes on a whole new edge. Caligula is now emperor and it is no spoiler to say that here is a madman of Olympian proportions. There is a chance that, like me, you may want to read some of Fabbri's portrayal of these mad years with your eyes shut (or at least with an empty stomach). Fortunately, Vespasian marches through the insanity but even he cannot be unaffected by these dark days.

Robert Fabbri has a remarkable knack of bringing the ancient Roman world to life. Quite apart from his dexterity in recreating the lost cities of Rome and Egypt, he captures brilliantly, and horrifically, the most awful terror that Caligulan Rome must have held for its ruling classes. In the second book of the series, Rome's Executioner (Vespasian), Tiberius is presented as I've never seen him before in fiction and its power gave me nightmares. Through the preceding two novels we have watched Caligula grow up as Vespasian's friend. We have the power of hindsight denied to Vespasian but during this third novel Vespasian finally confronts the reality. We have also enjoyed Vespasian's relationship with the matriarch of Rome, Antonia, but all that means nothing when her grandson Caligula assumes power. This is the value of a series following the life of one man. We have begun to know the men and women around them and what becomes of them is all the more poignant and horrifying for it. What this reign of terror does to Vespasian is a strong theme - there have to be ugly compromises.

The lightness here comes from the relationship between Vespasian and Caenis, the slave of Antonia. The darkness, though, comes in the unmistakeable form of Caligula. False God of Rome is not my favourite of the series - that would be the marvellous Rome's Executioner - but that is mostly because of Caligula himself. A truly odious individual, his perversion is brought home to me here more immediately than Suetonius ever managed.

Wonderfully written, with the pace of a runaway train (and with a fantastic opening), False God of Rome is a fine addition to the series. I'll just be relieved when Vespasian emerges on the other side. Mind you, you know what that means? Not just Claudius but Nero! I am grateful for the review copy.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
Sadly never put the book down and finished it over the weekend, where is the next episode?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 October 2016
I started reading this series a couple of weeks ago as I have developed an interest in ancient Roman, specifically military history.

Having now read the first three books of the series I am beginning to wonder if I can be bothered to start book four of the series.

Book three was immensely boring unless you want to read page after page of sexual depravity and corruption.

The exploits of Caligula, Claudius and Tiberius leave little to the imagination about the complete lack of morality that,

if accurately portrayed, was the norm of a civilisation that conquered, educated and changed a huge percentage of the

known world.

I suppose, it is interesting in it,s own way. Another point that detracts is that many of the main characters talk as if from

modern day London. It just detracts from the reality of the storyline.

There is little in the way of military action.

All in all, I expect that I will read book four but only because I have already bought the kindle version at a cost that I consider

expensive when the fact that it is a relatively old book. Do not do as I have done, buy, then read then one at a time
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2016
A very good read. Although, whot has gone before is oft repeated.that said, I find it difficult to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 9 January 2013
On both the UK and the US sites, there seems to be, at least this time, a bit of a consensus regarding how good this book is. As far as I am concerned, determining whether it is slightly better or slightly less good than the two previous volumes is a rather moot point since I rated all three of them as five star books. What may be of more interest for potential readers are the reasons for attributing the highest possible rating to this book.

There are essentially three of them: excellent plot, excellent historical research and superb characterization. This does not imply that the book is "perfect", even assuming that this was possible. However, and despite taking a very close look at it, and even double checking a number of points - this is at least my excuse for not posting this review earlier! - I could only find a few quibbles barely worth mentioning, as opposed to any significant drawback that may have justified a lower rating than five star rating.

First of all, and as others have mentioned, the plot is fast paced and manages to be rather original, despite being the continuation of the previous volumes and despite the rather large number of "swords and sandals" novels set during various periods of Roman history that are already out there. This is no mean feat in itself, especially when you consider that the period covered in this volume - the last years of the reign of Emperor Tiberius and the first half of the reign of Caligula - did not see any major campaigns or battles taking place. You will nevertheless get plenty of violence and blood-letting in this book which is all about power plots, intrigues, murders and terror in Rome, and ruthless riots and policing in some of its unruly and/or strategic provinces, in particular in Cyrenaica, Judea and Egypt. You might end up disliking the book's plot, or even finding that this or that piece of it and the involvement of the Flavian brothers are somewhat far-fetched, but I would be very surprised if you find this book boring.

Then there is the historical context, the author's research and the ways in which the author has chosen to interpret and present it. Here again, I found it very difficult to take exception with any of these items (and believe me, I certainly tried!).

The author has taking a number of liberties and come up with a number of interpretations, but then that is to be expected in a historical novel. When this has been done, however, he has taken great care to mention it explicitly and, as far as I can tell, in a rather systematic way, in his author's note. This is not something that all writers of historical fiction take the trouble to do and, as far as I am concerned, this is also one of the book's qualities. I believe he has also mostly managed to get away with it, again, at least as far as I am concerned, for at least three reasons.

The first has to do with the contents of the written historical sources. We know rather little about Vespasian's early years (and the same applies to his brother), apart from a few scattered anecdotes which the author is careful to use. This gives Robert Fabbri a lot of license when building up his intrigue and putting the Flavian brothers right in the middle of it all.

Second, the Roman written sources (Tacitus, Suetonius and Cassius Dio) all wrote well after the reigns of Tiberius and Caligula, and even after the reign of Vespasian himself. They were also quite biased and quite eager to show up the Julio-Claudians (Tiberius, Caligula and Nero, in particular, but also Claudius to a lesser extent) in a rather unfavourable light, to put it mildly. This was particularly the case since the first two were, if I remember correctly, writing during the reign of Trajan (Tacitus) or Hadrian (Suetonius) and the third wrote under the Severans. In all cases, the "new" Emperors of the time - and the authors writing during their reigns - were more than eager to distance themselves from the previous dynasty and to portray the members of this dynasty as unworthy in general and either half-wit cripples (Claudius in particular) or mad tyrants and monsters (Tiberius, Caligula and Nero). The sole exception was Augustus (Octavius), the founder of the Empire, which they all adopted as their role model.

What you therefore end up with is a rather extreme divide between "good" emperors and "bad" ones, with the, respectively, positive or negative features being probably somewhat exaggerated (the "good" ones are excellent, the "bad" are simply awful monsters capable of just about any meaningless crime or atrocity). These kinds of bias, while making life extremely difficult for a historian, are wonderful for an author writing a historical novel as he can have a field day in developing some truly hideous characters - real monsters - while being fully supported by the sources. This is exactly what Fabbri has done in this book with both Tiberius who, at least initially, may not have been entirely awful and was certainly a competent emperor, and, of course, Caligula, the archetype of the mad paranoid and entirely unpredictable emperor. In both cases, but perhaps even more for Caligula than for Tiberius, the paranoid and murderous atmosphere at the Imperial Palace that they had to live in since their youth goes a long way towards explaining their atrocious behaviour once they became emperors. This is also something that is very well shown, especially for Caligula, in both this volume and in the previous one.

The third reason is the way that Fabbri manages to convey the rather atrocious climate of terror, abuse, tortures and arbitrary executions and casual murders and rapes that senators and their families had to live through during the reign of Caligula. It is so vivid and oppressive, and entirely based on the historical sources that it "sounds and feel" true, regardless of whether certain specific features and points of detail have been exaggerated or not.

As very well shown in the book, the sheer uncertainty regarding their fate obliged all of the Senate to transform themselves into the most abject sycophants in what were rather abject attempts to ensure their own personnel survivals. The same - or something very similar - also happened under Nero. What may have made it somewhat worse under the reign of Caligula was that he seems to have been so unpredictable: no one seems to have been able to know to what extent he was mad or to what extent his terror tactics were deliberate and vengeful. He also took an obvious sadistic pleasure in tormenting the Senators and their families (including his uncle Claudius) both morally and physically. All these traits are also superbly presented and described in this book.

Finally, another set on gems with regards to the historical context are the author's descriptions of Rome and Alexandria, in particular, with their various monuments (the Alexandrian Pharos, one of the seven marvels of the world, was a particularly good piece for instance). To a lesser degree perhaps, he also manages to achieve something similar with both Jerusalem and Cyrenaica (Appolonia and the Siwas oasis and temples). Here again, the riotous atmospheres in both Alaxandria and Jerusalem, and the fact that both are described as powder kegs just waiting to explode, is also very well conveyed (and backed by historical evidence).

As I have already hinted at when mentioning the way Fabbri presents and describes the "bad" emperors, the third main and very successful feature of this book is the extreme care that the author has taken in characterization.

This starts with the main character (Vespasian) that the author has been careful enough NOT to present as a flawless "hero" but rather as a gifted young up and coming senator, with all his flaws and limitations. He is not above quite a bit of bribery, nor is his brother Sabinus. His personal life becomes somewhat complicated, to put it nicely. He is ready to abuse his position if this can get him into bed with a pretty face. Both brothers are typical senators of their time, and so is their uncle. All went, as mentioned above, rather far in order to survive and save their skins, and our "heroes" were no exceptions. This interesting feature contributes into making the characters more "realistic" and perhaps also more human if not also more sympathetic.

The other main characters of the book are also very much based on and derived from the written sources, starting with the scheming Antonia, daughter of Marc-Antony, and the real power behind the throne in Rome during the last seven years of Tiberius' reign, once Sejanus had been removed. Even Herod Agrippa and Alexander the Alabaster are very good. My only little gripe, if I really need one, was Paulus which I found to be a bit too much of an "arch-villain", a bit of a caricature and not as convincing as the other characters.

While all this going for it, and to cut an overlong story short, I simply could not see any way to rate this book less than five stars...
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)