Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 2 April 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2017
Was expecting more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 6 January 2013
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I got this for my son, who's been ManU-mad since, as a young child, he wrote to Sir Alex, telling him that he should buy Van Nistelrooy, and hey presto, a couple of weeks later, that happened. He's been a fan thru thick and thin, despite being called a 'glory-hunter' and attempts from friends and family to convert him to the Gooners (we live down the road from both Tottenham and Arsenal). He's pretty much an expert in all things ManU, but most of his knowledge (he's 20) of Sir Alex Ferguson comes from the media, which he thinks is quite often prejudiced against the man. This CD, though a bit of out date (it mentions several players who left around Aug 2012 latest), does tell you more about the career of the most successful and longest-serving UK football team manager, which seems to have been its aim.

It covers the start of AF's managerial career, including the first few wobbly ManU years, during which his absolute and founded confidence in himself never wavered, his loyalty to the club and its management, the loyalty that he inspires, the respect he garners from players, contemps and critics, justifying why he's been around so long. It is light on personal info, which is the way the man likes things, but it had decent interviews and content - if you're a fan, or a would-be manager trying to emulate the great man.

Overall, something an Alex Ferguson or ManU fan would be pleased to have, for a car journey, or whilst maybe playing Football Manager - but perhaps not something to just put on and listen to - full stop - as it is delivered slightly boringly and does drone on a bit, but it is informative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 27 January 2014
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This CD is an hour of pretty lightweight interviews covering the long period over which Sir Alex managed Manchester United. To my way of thinking it falls down badly in the lack of contribution from the man himself.

There is really very little new from any of the interviewees, and I am surprised at the figures which are missing: Keane, Giggs, Cantona who I am sure would have possibly dug more deeply into the personality of "The Great Man”." There was also no mention of his early days either as a player or Manager in Scotland which of course laid the foundations for his time at Man U.

The presenter Danny Kelly as always is clear and concise, but I rather got the impression that he was trying somehow to fill up the space on a CD. Not entirely for me, after one listen I decided it would be far better to purchase one of the excellent autobiographies which are on sale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 January 2013
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This programme is a competent, but not world-shattering, chronicle of Fergie's career. There is a well-chosen selection of interviewees: players, colleagues, journalists and Martin Edwards. The interviews provide evidence to portray the main episodes of Ferguson's career at Old Trafford as follows:
-A stuttering start, rescued by the confidence of Martin Edwards that he had made the right choice
-The start of the glory years, due to Ferguson's success in expanding his youth programme ("we play for today and plan for tomorrow") and in the tactical gamble of buying Cantona, the spark who set the team on fire
-The 1999 Treble (the focus slips a bit here, as all the coverage is about the players, not the manager)
-Ferguson's planned retirement and return in 2002
-Another decade of success since then

There is brief coverage of the departure of major players after known or assumed disagreements with Ferguson - Stam, Beckham, Van Nistelrooy and Keane. (The only one of these interviewed is Van Nistelrooy, and he is very guarded about it. One of the two brief interviews with Ferguson himself includes his famous statement that what's said in the dressing-room should stay there.) You are left with the usual impression that, between player and Fergie, there is only one winner. The most entertaining interview on this theme is with Paul Ince; after an altercation, Ferguson simply sent Ince to Coventry (metaphorically, that is!) until he was deemed to have realised who was the real "Guv'nor".

There is acknowledgment in the commentary that not all Ferguson's acquisitions were wise, e.g. Laurent Blanc. (I would agree that no manager's perfect, and many clubs have wasted much more money on bad signings.)

In the discussion on mind games, one of the interviewees makes the telling comment that Ferguson is most outspoken to clubs he regards as a threat, whereas (for example) he has mellowed towards Wenger while Arsenal have been less of a threat since Pizzagate. (However, after Ferguson's phrase "a wee club from the North-East", should we really infer that he sees Newcastle as contenders?)

The programme would be stronger if it examined less covered topics, for example the impact of twice losing an outstanding goalkeeper without an adequate successor. (De Gea appears to be finally succeeding in the role, but when Schmeichel left United struggled badly for years before Van der Sar's arrival.) It would be good to have an analysis of why such a successful manager found this such a hard issue.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 10 February 2013
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
For a Manchester United or rather an Alex Ferguson admirer this is a `must' buy.

It's simply an entertaining CD ideal for the car and a longish journey nothing more, nothing less.

We don't actually get to know anything about the great man's home life- but then again I don't think we really need to- his magnificent management of one of the greatest Foot balling Clubs in the World is the interesting thing. So do not expect to find out about any of Alex' life before he joined Man U or after for that matter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 April 2013
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a good CD packed full of Sir Alex's work as Manager of Manchester United.
There is nothing about Sir Alex's home life- but I sorted of figured out that there would not be - anyway his work as a football manager is why people would wish to listen. On the CD we hear all about the famous footballers, haircuts and so on. The CD is produced in a 'proper' talk sport way and makes a great listen when on the motorway as I heared it this week.

Perhaps of little interest to the non football fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2013
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
...but it's nothing special. It feels like a TV or radio documentary, made up of interviews with other people, and mostly complimentary. There are no great revelations about his character or activities behind the scenes, but you get a decent background to all the major events of his career, often from those directly involved. The audio is fine, with good product values overall. If you can get it for a few quid then it would make a nice cheap gift for a Man U fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 March 2013
I'm not a football fan but my son in law loved the whole story . He thought it was great To listen to in the car on the way to work. Good enjoyable CD would also be great for those who can't read due to sight problems
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 20 February 2013
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have never been a fan of Manchester United football club and would be happy for them to be beaten by any club with the exception of West Bromwich Albion (long story). Sir Alex Ferguson though, whether you love him or hate him, has been a class apart for many years and it is on that basis that I acquired this CD narrated in the main by Danny Kelly. I listen to Mr Kelly and co via talksport radio, which varies in quality each day dependant on who you listen to. Mr Kelly and Mr Brazil stand apart in terms of knowledge about football, with Mr Durham being at the other end talking total biased rubbish and whose only claim to fame is providing Peterborough United with some air time.

Mr Kelly describes the trials that Sir Alex ferguson has had to face, including the almost disastrous start following on from his appointment. He proceeds to interview people who have been involved in this extraordinary football geniuses career and brings it all together into a very entertaining CD which is ideal to listen to as I travel up and down the motorway each day. It is good enough for me to have listened to it more than once and is the type of CD that I would envisage keeping around to listen to every six months or so. Sadly we had a manager in the same mould at Wolverhampton and we sacked him and it is unlikely that he will haveMr Kelly produce a CD about him now: had Manchester United taken the gutless steps that the Wolves board did last year, Manchester United might not have experienced the same success as they have today.

A salutory warning to those who want their managers out, particularly Arsenal fans, you cannot be confident that you will find anything any better.

One last thing, why only 4 stars. It simply does not merit a 5. It is good but not that good and so 4 was a fair assessment for a very concise insight into one of footballs true legends.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)