Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2012
this was an excellent purchase, took me back years to the first time I read it, Kindle version just as good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2012
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
In this 50th year of Bond we are festooned with new James Bond goods, and this is part of a new series of audio books of the novels. They are all unabridged, and read by a range of contemporary British actors, some connected to the Bond movies and some not.

"On Her Majesty's Secret Service" is read by David Tennant, and spans 8 CDs (one of the longest audio books in the collection). Tennant delivers his performance book using an anodyne English accent, perhaps his imagining of how Bond himself (or Ian Fleming) might sound? He also performs a variety of accents for the character dialogue, including French, German and a variety of British accents, calling on his native scots accent for Bond's imposture as Sir Hilary Bray.

It's quite easy to listen to, but will need a good few hours of free time to take in the whole book. Tennant fans may also enjoy a 4 minute Tennant interview at the end, where he talks about his experience of re-reading and performing the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
This item was for the Amazon kindle and in fact was great however kindle was returned for other reasons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2012
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
With the 50th anniversary of James Bond upon us, it's quite timely that AudioGo have issued the original Bond books in these re-recorded unabridged audiobooks. The choice of narrators is varied, but well selected. Dave Tennant, the former Timelord, is on top form here as he tells the story of Bond at his most human. In many of Fleming's books, Bond is a cold war killing machine and often too calculating or too suave to relate to. Here he is getting married, but super-villain Blofeld has been developing biological weapons and 007 is called upon to do his duty for Queen and country. A classic adventure, well told by a popular actor - what's not to like??
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 September 2012
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have been listening to this avidly all week now and its GREAT!!!!

It is, in a way, one of the lesser known stories,as many don't like the film version....but I'm a bit of a Bond fan and its one of my favourites....

The story is about how Blofeld is developing biological weapons and that Bond, of course, must stop him....it is also a love story....of love lost and destroyed....so its also quite sad in places...

This edition is read by David Tennant and is on 8 CD's. It runs for 8 hours and is unabridged....it also contains a bonus interview with Tennant.....

So as a Bond fan I'd recommend it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2008
I very much like this series of audiocassette. The stories are superb, and Sewell suits them, and for the most part makes an excellent job. If you are looking for an introduction to Fleming's great books, then this is a good way to do it. My only complaint is that no-one has thought to teach Sewell the basics of German pronunciation. His French is passable, but his excrutiating versions of basic words (such as fraulein or schon) distract from an otherwise smooth narrative. This is just lazy editing - 2 minutes coaching on the relevant words would have improved this no end. Otherwise fine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2001
For me, this book is a classic. Unlike Fleming's previous novels, this has a more light-hearted Bond with marriage on his mind as he tries to forge Blofeld's plans to ruin the British economy. This was the first and only Fleming book to be set at Christmas, but the snow allows for the ski chase, an exciting and heart-in-mouth ride! This is never dull, and you will always be gripped to it. But the final chapter is more tragic than an obituary, but is dealt with brilliantly. Please buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2004
Quite simply the very best Bond book that became the very best Bond film.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2007
Having only previously read one other Bond book - (Casino Royale) and that being about 25 years ago - I'd forgotten how entertaining a read they could be.

Once you get over Ian Flemings extravagant use if exclamation marks (!) the book gives a revealing view of the sixties view of the cold war and a wonderful naievity with regard to relationships and values - all delivered in a cracking thriller story.

Perfect holiday entertainment!
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 October 2012
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
On Her Majesty's Secret Service is one of the highlights of the film series (albeit a largely forgotten one due to the Lazenby factor) and I would argue that it's the best book of the lot too. Therein lies the reason why, for once, the movie adaptation was surprisingly faithful to the book that followed it. (For the flip side, see The Man With The Golden Gun which, despite what you may think of the end result of the film, was an awful book and really had to be completely ignored for the cinema other than the name and a few characters).

This is a very good audio version of the tale which David Tennant carries well. He has a wide range of voices to call on and it's easy to follow the action as we progress through. His Scottish lilt will naturally bring Sean Connery to mind but he manages to bring to life many more characters in unique and recognisable ways.

It probably won't convince those whose Bond experience begins and ends with the movies and it won't convince those who dislike Fleming's style altogether. But when I say it's the best Bond novel I'm not damning it with faint praise but acknowledging what a genuinely great read it is. And this is a genuinely great audio reading of it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse