Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

  • Dr No
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
156
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2014
James Bond has now recovered from the effects of the poison that he was injected by Rosa Klebb at the end of his last outing In From Russia With Love.

To get him back to work with what is deemed a return with light duties. M assigns him to investigate what has happened to John Strangways and his Secretary.

Strangways is the British Secret Service man in Jamaica. The popular view is that the pair have ran away together. Bond knows Strangways and helped him the last time he was in the West Indies when he was involved in the hunt for Mister Big in Live and Let Die. He knows that something is not right.

On arrival in Jamaica Bond is reunited with Quarrel the Cayman islander who was a great assistance in tracking Mister Big. After some searching around Bond finds that Strangways was investigating a Doctor Julius No the owner of Crab Key a private island that does not welcome visitors and is within Jamaican territorial waters.

Bond and Quarrel decide to sail over one night. The next morning they meet Honeychile Rider who is collecting shells on the beach. Soon they are hunted by Doctor No's henchman and Bond and Honey are captured and taken to secret location that is within a mountain and goes down to a depth below the sea.

When they meet Doctor No he advises them that he is originally from Peking, the son of a local Chinese girl and German missionary. In his younger years he got involved with criminal gangs and stole some Gold from them which he has used to finance this location and is giving help to the Soviet Union in their attempts to sabotage American Rocket tests that are taking place nearby. He confirms that Strangways got in his way and paid the price and intends to do the same to Bond.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
I'm working my was through all of the Fleming Bond novels. I found this the least engaging. Towards the end of the story Bond has to pit his wits and physical prowess against a series of devious traps. I'm sure the intention was to generate tension, but it slowed the narrative pace, and was so protracted that I found it quite exasperating to wade through. I was intrigued though by the fact Honey escaped without Bond's help and I think, given the time, was a uncharacteristically strong female character. Worth a read but not one of Fleming's strongest offerings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
My father's favourite book. I had only ever seen the movie. So I finally gave in and bought the book. Loved it. Not quite the same as the movie of course but better as one can imagine the scenes rather than have them created for you. Now one of my favourites....thanks Dad!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2016
Lovely condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
Superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2015
Good story, the first Bond Movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 January 2015
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As part of the '007 Reloaded' range of audiobooks (as released by the now-defunct AudioGo), Dr. No is an eight-disc, unabridged reading of Ian Fleming's original 1958 novel, with Hugh Quarshie narrating. Being a Bond fan, I decided to select this goodie from Amazon Vine.

I knew beforehand that the Bond movies differ from the original books (how much depends on the adventure in question), thus making me all the more keen to see how much the film diverted from Fleming's original novel. The only Bond novel I'd read before listening to this audio-reading of Dr. No was Live & Let Die (and had thoroughly enjoyed it). So I was expecting for a similar experience...and I got just that.

To discuss Fleming's prose first, it's timeless. The plotting, characterization, description and overall pacing are absolutely impeccable. From simple things like sitting down and eating meals, to detailing the environments and intense sequences, and character dialogue, Ian Fleming NEVER wasted a single word. I cannot find fault at all! The writing is perfect, and to those James Bond movie-lovers who've never touched the original source material, Dr. No (like every other 007 novel) is just as classic (if not more so).

The 8-disc format of this audiobook is a real treat, made so by Hugh Quarshie, who truly does Ian's writing justice with his narration. Soft-spoken and reserved for the most part, only coming to life when occasion calls for it; Hugh's tone is faultless, and offers a variety of different voices for all the characters. The special bonus interview at the end of the reading provides wonderful insight into Hugh's experiences with reading both Dr. No's original novel and cinematic adaptation, plus the challenges he encountered when performing. It's all utterly compelling for the human ear.

This audiobook of Dr. No is mandatory for all Bond fans, be it book, film or both. It's inspired me to check out the rest of the 007 Reloaded collection, and I highly recommend everyone else does too.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse