Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
104
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2013
When I discovered we were to be treated to Will's side of 'Slammed', I was delighted yet at the back of my mind there was a tiny pocket of hesitancy at the thought of a repeated story. Yes it is a retelling of 'Slammed' which I purposefully chose not re-read beforehand as I wanted that feeling of remembering the little things you tend to forget. Whilst we know how Will and Lake's journey ended, I devoured this as if I was clueless to the story. It is quite simply its own book and Colleen Hoover has done an outstanding job in keeping the story fresh and full of every possible emotion.

I love getting into the head of a male character and discovering their thoughts, feelings, hopes and fears as well a greater insight into them as a character. As much as I thought I knew Will, there is so much we were never privy to; his confiding moments with Julia, his friendship with Gavin and just how deep his inner turmoil ran. 'This Girl' reinforces what an exceptional man he is and I fell in love with him all over again.

Will and Lake's situation over all 3 books has been heartwarming, heartbreaking, filled with happiness, sadness, frustration and humour. I felt their joy and their pain and I laughed and I fought the tears. Their brothers deserve a special mention as those little boys brought many of the uplifting moments, from laughing at their innocent comments through to the touching nature of their unconditional love for each other, Will and Lake and not forgetting their resilience against the loss of their parents.

Whilst I am sad to have finished this wonderful series, the final chapters and the epilogue did it a serious justice and finished the story beautifully. I have no doubt that Colleen Hoover will treat us to more gems in the future and irrespective of your age (I'm mid 30's) 'Slammed', 'Point of Retreat' and 'This Girl' are unmissable reads.

Two words to sum up...Butterflying Superb.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
5 sweet, sweet stars for the final chapter in the Slammed series.

I have adored these books, not only for the beautiful storytelling, but for the connection i made on every butterflying page!

I had read Slammed & Point of Retreat quite some time ago & was concerned I may have struggled to remember, but it all came racing back as we recalled certain poignant times from Will's POV. That was interspersed with current day catch ups, which just made This Girl nothing less than awesome.

One of my all time favourites, but then Colleen can do that!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
**Advance copy Received in exchange for honest review**

Colleen Hoover, I am totally in love with you! Every single book I've read of yours are worth more than 5 stars -without a doubt!!

I have read so many books in the last year and Slammed was one of the first books I read when I started this mad kindle book addiction. The thing is that some of those books I can't really remember, but some books you'll never forget and Slammed (& POR) I will never forget. I felt there was so much emotion and heartache in that book, it was brilliant.

Can you hear how much I loved Slammed? but to love This Girl I needed it to be different, I didnt want to just read the same story again and I didn't - it felt like a different book, but at the same time familiar. I wondered how I would feel, whether I would still have all those emotions because I know what happens, but reading it from Will's pov, understanding how he felt, definitely draws you in emotionally again. I fell in love with Will all over again and harder than before. But that's not just it - because of how the story is told you get to see Lake's reaction to Will's side of the story, sometimes it's happiness, sometimes it's sadness and sometimes it's torture.......

"what the hell do you want me to say Will? Do you want me to admit that i'm not perfect? That i'm jealous? I know you said that it didn't me anything to you, but that doesn't mean that it didn't mean something to me"

"Its just.... I know we don't believe in soul mates" she says "There are so many people in this world that can be right for each other. If there weren't, then cheating would never be an issue. Everyone would find their one true love and life would be great - relationships would be a piece of cake. But that's not how it is in reality and I realise this. So.... it just hurts okay? It hurts me to know there are other women out there in the world that could make you happy. I know it's immature and I was being petty and jealous, but... I just want to be your only one. I want to be your soul-mate even if I don't believe in them. I overreacted and I'm sorry"

And that's the other thing about Colleen's writing that I love, her books aren't fantasy, the situations are believable, something you could see in your real life, the people in them have real emotions, real beliefs, its not all "you're my soul mate, the only one for me"

The ending did have me in tears, for two reasons, the thing that Julia had the foresight to do, along with the last poem, but also because I knew it was the end of Will and Lake's story. As Donna says that was definitely my suck for the day.

All I can say is that if you have read Slammed & POR, you must read this, you will not be disappointed! and if you haven't read Slammed & POR why the hell not? Go read them - now.

A butterflyingly brilliant bemazing book (and series) from a butterflyingly brilliant bemazing author.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
**************5 Incredible Stars**************

"Those are the hardest pieces of all to accept.
The pieces of our puzzle
That just don't belong"

This final instalment of the Slammed series was told from Will's point of view and flashes back from their current lives to how they came to be together. It tells the story of slammed and point of retreats main moments, giving different pieces of info from what we were given in the first two books which makes it utterly captivating.

I laughed.
I cried.
I smiled.
I hurt.
I ached.
But more than anything...

I Felt.

For those who have read Slammed and Point of Retreat, this book is an awesome final installment.

These three books will stay with me for a long time, and in the best possible way.

XxX
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Speechless...
Emotional...
Awed...
And...complete.
Just a small example of the myriad of emotions this book and that epic epilogue has instilled in me. Colleen Hoover has achieved the impossible... she has perfected perfection.

BOOK REVIEW - This Girl (Slammed #3) - Colleen Hoover

`This Girl is Butterflying perfect-ed'.

And how do you perfect perfection?
Quite simply... You can't!
Because once something is so perfect,
So faultless,
It's almost impossible to discover imperfection within it.
To unearth elements of a perfect story for it then to be re-processed in order to be `further' perfected upon is simply...
NOT. POSSIBLE!

...Unless you are Colleen Hoover and don a literary genius superhero cape of pure Butterflying gold,
Then yeah... it just goes to prove that anything is possible.

Okay, I think it's safe to say that I have never slammed in my life, and I probably shouldn't give up my day job, but there is no denying it - Colleen Hoover inspires!

Slammed and Point of Retreat have remained on my 5-star awe-inspiring shelf for a year now, I read them back to back and absolutely fell in love with not only the characters, but Colleen as a writer. Will and Lake's plight is still one that has remained with me throughout my ever-growing `Read' and `TBR' list. Stamping itself firmly within my book loving beating heart as I embraced these characters, witnessed them both struggle to overcome their forbidden love; resonating soundly of a modern day Romeo and Juliet. The emotion, the heartache, the passion, the confusion, everything that Colleen gave us, she gave with heart. You know from the offset that every structured sentence, every paragraph, every quote, every rhyme was not only given in true earnest and adoration, but with soul.

In `This Girl' we get the best of both worlds. We are treated to further scene interaction set in present time as Will and Lake enjoy quality time alone on their Honeymoon and we get to snuggle down in-between the sheets (relatively speaking), with Will as he reveals his thoughts and feelings of how Lake captured his interest that day when she moved in across the street, as he retells his story to his wife, divulging the biggest secrets of his heart. And wow, what a heart that boy has. He is too good to be true. Only boys in books are this perfect, but do you know what, so what! Reading is my escapism, the ultimate getaway and with Colleen's written works you know you have just bought into first class luxury.

This book is advertised as `Slammed from Will's point of view' but actually, it's so much more than that. Imagine being given a magic key that opens a door of memories - well that is what this book is. It's a Will Cooper memoir. Not only does he give us further insight into all the best scenes of Slammed and Point of Retreat, but it reveals a few hidden secrets.

In this book we re-live in minute detail the scenes we all know and fell in love with, but it's the epilogue, my goodness that epilogue. It was pure swoonworthy beauty. I am officially branding it the crème de la crème of epilogues and what categorically propelled this beautifully crafted modern day romance on my 5-star awe-inspiring shelf next to the other two.

Will loves emphatically, and I love him for it. He is the epitome of book boyfriend perfection, so it was only fitting that he got his say. A naked shower Will was good too. It scratched an itch without being too explicit. That's the magic of Colleen's writing; she can project love and passionate emotion without the need for graphic detail. Unlike many others on the market today, this book stands strong without it.

You MUST read Slammed and Point of Retreat first to fully appreciate the characters and how far they have both come. The struggles and sacrifices that have been made are fully appreciated in this special 3rd instalment, making it an absolute must read if you loved the first two.

5 perfected stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Colleen Hoover loves the English language! This book was just as butterflying beautiful as the other two in the series. I will really miss the characters.... but then again I will be reading all three again and again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
I loved it. I'm not sure I can say much more than that. I really, really loved it.

Colleen Hoover was my introduction to good YA writing - real, powerful characters that she makes you fall in love with, and tense heartbreaking situations that she deals with sensitively and with enough realism that you can't help but be drawn into them.

I think what I love about this author so much is that she gets the mix between character and situation spot on. There are so many authors out there who rely on heaping tragedy upon tragedy on their poor characters to keep the story going. This means you never get a feel for the people. Ms Hoover is fantastic at showing her characters in crappy situations, but being crystal clear that what gets them to their HEA is who they are, both as individuals and together. That gives her stories the depth and complexity that others lack, and it's what makes me engage with her books.

I confess that after another recent male POV book from a series I liked (I think we call all guess which one I am talking about), I was hesitant about reading this one. I shouldn't have worried. This was more than a re-telling on the story, this was genuinely the male POV, and because of that it added to my understanding of this couple and their journey rather than bore me with repetition.

The only downside is I am really going to miss Will and Lake, but I'm looking forward to what this author does next.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
FOR MORE REVIEWS LIKE THIS ONE, CHECK OUT MY BLOG, BLAME IT ON THE RAIN ~ LAURA'S BOOK BLOG!

It has been over a year since I read the first two books in the series, but as soon as I started reading this book, it felt like no time at all. It was completely effortless to get back in to Will and Lake's story and just like the last two books in this series, this one was truly amazing! Starting off right where POINT OF RETREAT left off, this book went back and forward through flashbacks of SLAMMED in Will's POV, to the present, where Lake and Will are enjoying their honeymoon and Lake is asking him his point of view on certain things that had happened between them in the past.

One of the things I really loved about this book was that I felt like I really was getting a brand new insight in to Will's thoughts during the events of book one. In SLAMMED, although you can tell that Will loves Lake, and wants to be with her, there were huge moments in the story where I really questioned his actions, and his thoughts, and it was so nice, yet just as frustrating as it was in book one, to finally get a clear views from both sides, as the reasons as to why Will was thinking what he was are finally revealed.

It was specifically nice finally getting to find out exactly what Will was thinking when he first found about his parents. It was such an extremely sad, emotional moment, that I was crying like a baby. When it came to his thoughts on staying away from Layken, this made me even more frustrated than it did in book one. Finding out that Will was forcing himself to stay away from her as in his mind it really was making her life easier, was killing me! Her mother was dying, so you would think she needed him more than ever, yet he was working to distance himself and it was killing me!

I think as it has been so long since I last read the first books in this series, it is really easy to forget certain aspects of the story which really stood out for you when I first read it, one of these things for me was the relationship between Layken and Will. I like realism, and I am really not a big fan of stories with love at first sight, however, although SLAMMED, and this book, are essentially a story about just that. It's the way in which this is written which makes it so different from others like it. Layken and Will have an immediate attraction, they flow as a couple, and just seem to get each other, and I completely `felt` that. It's easy to say that they saw each other and knew that they were meant to be together, but Colleen Hoover completely backs this up, and by giving Will's POV, only highlights this more.

I absolutely loved this book and could not put it down. I though the ending was so sweet, and such a nice way to end this series, and if anything, because of it, I wish that another book could be written, just so that it didn't have to end! This series has made me laugh, cry, get seriously frustrated and seriously swoon. Each character in these books are amazingly written, and bring something to the story and it is because of this that Colleen Hoover has received such high praise for these books. So if you haven't read them yet, go and get started...!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
So disappointed I hate when authors spin out another book just to get us to pay for something we have already read but with a different title. The epilogue was the only good thing about this book. I really like college Hoover -but feel so let down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
What a beautifully written book from Will's POV.

I thought after reading Slammed and Point of Retreat, there would no tears left for me to shed, How wrong was I !!!

I just fell back in love with Will & Lyken!

Colleen Hoover manages to reflect Will's POV so wonderfully revisiting his thoughts and feelings more or less covering the main tragic points from both the previous two books, bringing an absolutely brilliant ending to this series.

This wil be a series I will be reading many times over again & again in the future!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Need customer service? Click here