Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
89
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2013
For any football fan this is an brilliant insight into the life of a professional footballer both on and off the pitch. A well written personal account of the highs and lows of his footballing career.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
Enjoyed the first few chapters of the book, few snippets throughout. As the book went on it seemed to resemble more of a diary rather than an autobiography. Few little gems in there but no fireworks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
not always into the ''bog standard'' football books but saw Lee Carlisle interviewed and decided to have a go. not enjoyed a book of this type as much since ''i'm not really here'' by Paul Lake
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
I had initially hesitated to buy Clarke Carlisle’s autobiography when I read of the controversy in it about the different perspectives of solving the approaches to anti-racism in football. Compounding this was my respect for Dave Thomas's views on the unnecessary bad language which had been quoted in publicity surrounding publication. DT’s Jimmy Adamson - The Man Who Turned down England book arrived from Amazon a day before CC’s and dutifully I began the former but when CC’s offering arrived I became the man who temporarily turned down the man who wrote about the man who said ‘no’ to England.

Perhaps CC’s reputation as football’s most articulate player has swayed me but I really do believe he has written this himself. His style is endearing and self-aware. It is an easy read for those who still dream of glory and those who will never come near it. It is an intensely honest and personal analysis of a young man who has faced and been defeated by his demons and got up again (and again) to have another go to face them down. It lays bare the mentality of those testosterone charged males who, because of their talents in a team sport, can delay growing up for a decade or so and remain in a mental time-warp of mid to late teens immaturity. CC is a man who realises how lucky he is and has been and a man who daily lives with a psychological fragility which I suspect football’s then management of immature, impressionable and suddenly wealthy youngsters should take much responsibility for.

In some respects it is like reading a second volume of his professional life as it describes in detail the last couple of seasons of a career in decline illustrating his journeyman and often precarious life as a lower league pro-footballer with occasional flashbacks into earlier seasons and what might have been.

You have to hope Burnley's Danny Ings will have more luck after his England U-21 experience than did Clarke Carlisle. He also illuminates the relationship between managers and their players and the differences between some of their leadership and training techniques. I don’t know how successful he will be as a long term professional pundit but I am left wondering if he might not have taken an easy option by not considering coaching and ultimately football management. I recommend it. However it is too shallow and rather lightweight to recommend for any sports book award. Disappointing for Clarets fans as there isn’t much about Burnley FC where he and his family were happiest. It is thought provoking and the relatively rare bad language is heartfelt or contextual as is the often cringe-making immaturity of some professional sportsmen, including it seems the author himself.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
As a Cobblers fan I couldn't wait to read this book. Clarke comes across in person as a sensitive soul and this is backed up by what I read here. Amazing that a life lived publicly can hide so much. This book doesn't gloss over the bad bits but does what other autobiographies don't......analyses them in an open, often self deprecating way. It is about time people in the world of sport begin to discuss depression. Then perhaps we will never see tragedies like Enke again. I read the book in one sitting. It's written in a very readable, conversational style and all mums of aspiring footballers at any level should read it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
Disappointing. .. Never particularly a fan of Clarke when he played as I never knew who he was then... But love his documentaries and his punditry / commentary.... plus his mental health work is admirable. ... But this book was all over the place. ..The lack of chronology irritated me as he flitted back and forth between different periods in his life.... plus for a man who has shared so much of his personal battles with depression, Why is there hardly anything about his family., his child hood etc... Not sure I know much more about Clarke now than I did before. .shame.. .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
An interesting insight into the world of football. Football isn't all bees and honey especially once away from the leagues down from the Premier. An enjoyable read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
Clarke tells it as he sees it: no PC nonsense so far as he is concerned.

Recommended reading for all football lovers, especially Cobblers' supporters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
I very enjoyable read about the ups and downs of a journeyman footballer. It is not as whiny as some football autobiographies and it dispels the myths that all footballers are unintelligent, overpaid morons. Some revealing moments about the `joys' of depression and a couple of moments where you have to wipe tears of mirth from your eyes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
I enjoyed this book for it's honesty. Humble beginnings to a slide down the leagues; something you don't see very much of these days from ex Premier players and even Championship players. Clarke comes across as far more intelligent than the average footballer and I'm sure that he will forge a very successful career from his TV work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)