Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
210
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2017
Brilliant exposition of how the universe came to be, probably. Answered many nagging questions about the big bang. Nice prologue from Richard Dawkins.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
A fantastic book with a brilliant epilogue by Richard Dawkins. Life is precious, make the most of it. Don't let religious beliefs and God ruin it for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2016
There is nothing new; just repeating current popular physics that one may find standard information everywhere.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
Fascinating read. I've most of it forgotten now, but it got me there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
Interesting book but extensively padded out by discussing too much about the concept of God which is a shame as the author is very knowlegable.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
This book is not very well written. The author is clearly very knowledgeable, but is not a good writer. There are too many references to people he knows, and too much talking about himself and his own contributions to the field.This gets annoying as it does not help with the flow of the explanations. I got bored even when I tried to persevere with this fabulous subject. Please try again Lawrence M. Krauss!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
The book was well written and reasonably understandable for a non-mathematician but the author's contention that the universe came from nothing appeared to be based on transitory phenomena and did not substantiate his argument. It seemed born of desperation to disprove the existence of God at all costs.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2016
Arrived promptly, as advertised.
I'll be probably unfair to the book as I'm very familiar with the subject combined with high expectation for a Krauss book.
As a first book to read on the subject - it's very good, for old hands - not really brilliant, to be fair I expected much more from Krauss (he is highly non- conventional). A few new flashes in an old matrix.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
The question of why there is 'something' rather than 'nothing' seems to me to be the most important and fundamental question that one can ask, because 'nothing' seems easy to achieve, but a complex universe equipped with laws of physics etc. would appear to require a lot of design work and effort. I bought this book in the hope to get some insight into how Something could arise from Nothing.
Firstly, the author seems have some axes to grind. He has clearly been in disagreements with Theists and/or Creationists and using this the book to take a shot back at them. Also, the author seems to have a secondary (or perhaps not so secondary) objective in documenting his own achievements in the field of cosmology. One can't help feeling he is trying to position himself for posterity.
On the question of 'something from nothing'. I did not feel much real progress was made on answering this question: The book illustrates that, in the light of scientific discoveries, that what people used to think of as nothing (i.e. empty space) is boiling with quantum activity on very small scales. It is therefore far from Nothing. The basic question that the book attempts to answer is simply pushed back one level further down. That is, the question becomes 'why do there exist laws of physics and quantum mechanics rather than nothing'. The author makes a lot of wordplay around this point but, for me, does not hide the fact that the book is rather disingenuously promising something that it does not deliver. Kind of a 'slight of hand' I'd say. The bottom line for me is that it remains just as incredible and awe-inspiring as it always did that there is Something rather than Nothing. This book does not change anything about that. What is does do, is to put forward the author's argument for how our visible Universe could have arisen from not very much, given pre-existing laws of physics (which of course are quite something).
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2016
I can understand that quantum physics may say something can come from nothing. but why should quantum physics exist?
but thanks for trying.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)