Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
36
4.6 out of 5 stars
A Swing for Life
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 February 2012
this is an extremely comprehensive book as you would expect from a methodical and technique based player such as Faldo was.

Every aspect of the game is covered here. As can be expected this book is heavily influeced by the theory of David Leadbetter however nick gives everything his own slant and views the information from the perspective of the player not the coach.

A must for any serious golfers library.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 August 2011
A highly successful golfer throughout his life, there is a pre- and a post- Faldo, i.e. before and after taking the risk to re-build his swing with David Leadbetter. This swing is the major champion's after Leadbetter and it contains all the Leadbetter tips, swing-analyis and strategies but it is just Faldo.
Clearly and lavishly illustrated throughout, it explains his swing in minute detail in the text, helpfully accompanied by the clear photographs.
Golfers looking for an uncomplicated swing to model theirs on could not find a better model. Although he obviously understands the swing in minute detail, the descriptions are not over-burdened with complications.
Recommended
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2010
This book is excellent. Very well laid out and the photos clearly illustrate the points being made.

From grip, to setup to backswing..each portion of the swing is dissected and drills are given to practice.

It's not over analytical and breaks the swing into a few simple steps. The theme really is that once you have built the correct swing from the foundations, you can stop thinking about it and trust it. Other good chapters on tempo, bunker play, putting as well.

Overall highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2011
I learnt to play golf using the Faldo videos and not having a video recoder anymore to watch these on I decided to have a look at this book.
Glossy pictures on every page leave you in doubt to exactly what Faldo is talkig about. His swing is broken down in pictures on numerous pages from different angles and he describes what you should be feeling during these sequences. Drills and thoughts also to help you along.
Over 200 pages of expert tuition all of which seems so easy to remember when you get to the range.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
Golf professional, 6 time Major winner, Britons best golfer.....he has to know what he is talking about and he does. this is a great book to learn from wether you are a high handicapper, low handicapper, man or woman, novice to expert, there is something for all concerned.
I was thinking of buying Peltz short game and putting books, but buying Faldo's book I feel that it has everything I need. After all he has worked with the best and now he is sharing all his experience in this book.
It also has them square things in it where your smart phone can read them and download into a video. Haha...you can tell I'm not techno.
Fab...U...Lous.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
very similar to his first book but updated with swing lessons you are able to download onto your phone.this is therefore an improvement on the first book but downloading can be tricky .for muts like me.never the less it is a good buy especially if you do not have his first book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
Well written & plenty of useful pictures. No new earth shattering advice just very good solid help to build a repeatable swing. If I end up playing half as good as Nick Faldo it will have been a brilliant investment!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
I can only assume this is a good book as my husband is often delving into it! It does have interactive videos with a smart phone which I'm told are interesting and useful!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Learning to play golf is about getting the right 'feeling' for different parts of the swing. I never read the original but this edition uses lots of descriptive phrases, as well as video links, so that you can see and feel what you're trying to achieve. For anyone trying to improve and willing to put some time into practicing, this is a fantastic book - especially beginners and frustrated weekend players. Easy to read & refer back to. It definitely works for me - just shot 10 below my handicap having practiced the drills in the book for 2 hrs a day for 2 weeks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2015
I recommend this book to any golfer of whatever level. In my opinion it is a modern classic, alongside Nicklaus' 'Golf My Way' and of course Hogan's 'Five Fundamentals'. He is an extraordinary man. Maybe a little socially awkward. But he has given much of his time to help youngsters get into the game and donated large amounts of money to charities for disabled children.
Not to mention that he totally changed his technique (and risked his entire livelihood) when he was already world number six in the quest to be as good as Seve or Watson.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)