Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2006
I picked this up when I was on the last day of a summer Holiday and finished it a few hours later. I just kept turning the page again and again.
I would recommend this to any one interested in conspiracy theory thrillers.
The last hundred pages or so, aren't the best, but they're not bad. I just felt that the ending was a little bit rushed.
See if you can guess the ending. I didn't.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 August 2006
Wow, what a book! I could not put it down. This is a real page turner. The plot is excellent, one is drawn into the story with page one. The characters are well created and the whole plot develops in a fascinating, fast-moving way. Religion and medical development - a great theme as a background. The religious dimension is not as strong as in more recent thrillers but I found this more appealing. This is a real thriller and no pseudo-religious book.

It was a real pleasure reading it!!! Till the very last the tension is kept.

The authors - John Case is just a nom de plume (and an awful one one might add) - have written an amazing book which I can only recommended.

One last comment: why does every thriller have to be compared and judged by the Da Vinci Code? There is no need for this and the Da Vinci Code - as good as it is - is not the ultimate reference. These authors can easily hold their own among the major writers of thrillers
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 1998
This book demands your total and undivided attention from the first page. The Genesis Code snakes its way through the physical, the metaphysical and the increasing eventuality of the possible.
In his novel, John Case challenges not only the very soul of Christianity but also the essence of the origins of the human race, and how science has unlocked it's ancient secrets. The main character, Lassister a high-flying Private Eye, tasks himself to find the killer of his sister and her young nephew.
His journey takes him from his descreet contacts in Washington to a dark and ominous sect in Europe. All over the world people, women and children, are being murdered - but for what reason? A confession in a remote Italian village church ignites a fire of controversy that has the potential of turning what we commonly accept into ashes. Fast behind are people willing to do anything to put the fire firmly out.
The Genesis Code is one BIG andrenlin rush and I advise anyone with a strong constitution to read it...before it's too late! M E Murphy
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2003
This is an excellent, thought provoking thriller which challenges many current scientific trends. The advance of genetic engineering, fertility treatments and experimental cloning has been accelerated in recent years, and Case does not seem comfortable with this progress.
There are also questions raised about the Catholic church and it's reliance upon relics and 'miracles' as a main focus. Despite this, and the consistent dark tone of the narrative, the book reaches a very satisfactory and hopeful conclusion. I read this book by chance, but I am now a dedicated follower of his novels. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2002
A brilliant fertility specialist is murdered in Italy, and so 1 by 1 are his patients, but why?
A P.I. sets out to discover why his sister was one such victim, and why the deaths were so brutal.
One of the best openings to a book i've read for a while, during a confession a Priest is given a secret so vital he travels to Rome and awaits an audience with one of the most senior clergy, panic and worry written on his face, how will the church deal with it.
The strength of the book is it's originality in dealing with the Catholic Church and the developments of science, in this case biology and the thought that....maybe, possibly this might actually happen!
The weakness is the super-human escapades of the central character for the latter half of the story and the introduction of a superstar actress on the run, which just didn't ring true.
Overall I would recommend, it's a story with originality, with a little twist at the end which will make you smile.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2004
I am turning into quite a big fan of theologically based thrillers (thank you Dan Brown), and the plot of The Genesis Code seemed right up my street.
The book is around 40 chapters long and the first 34 are superb, on a par at least with that of Dan Brown's Angels & Demons, or The Da Vinci Code. The book has such a superbly written sinister feel to it; to compare it to a film it would be Se7en.
Joe Lassiter is the hero of the book, a likeable man who sometimes seems out of his depth, but displays great resourcefulness. He is a Private Investigator and his sister and nephew have been savagely murdered for no apparent reason. Perfect. What happens for the next 34 chapters is gripping stuff: dark and sinister goings on, and the unwrapping of some grisly and corrupt shenanigans. That's all I'm saying...
The last couple of chapters go off the boil a bit - the book loses the sinister feel and becomes a bit of a critique of the tabloid media (!). At the final couple of scenes it picks up again, though.
The thing that let The Genesis Code down is the ending: it's all wrapped up just a little too neatly. It is a good ending, no question: a neat little twist happens, and the story plays out very smoothly. However, this is in contrast to the savagery of the first 34 chapters; like I said earlier, it goes off the boil a bit.
Overall the book is believable, some say a little far-fetched (which is fair), there are enough loose ends which finish the book with a touch of suspense, although perhaps Case does not explore these enough? There is only ONE BIT which disappointed me, though (and again, no spoilers here): Lassiter is given *something* very integral to the solution to the story half way through, and he keeps on "forgetting" about it until the last scene. You'll know what I mean if/when you read it.
Which I hope you do!
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 1999
This book is an amazing story from a first time novelist. The gripping start keeps you hooked right from page one. The twists and turns in the pot keep you guessing the secret right up to the end of a book. I regularly found myself up half the night as I kept wanting to read more. Try it - Youll like it
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2004
Thoroughly enjoyed this John Case novel. In fact I read 200 pages in one go because I couldn't put it down!
The character is a bit of a 'superman' but that doesnt take anything away from awesome storyline.
If it was read a few years ago you would have dismissed it as 'unrealistic' but with technology the way it is, you find yourself asking 'what if'? hmmmm..?
Have ordered other JC novels...will let you know if they are as good as The Genesis Code'.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2006
Most of the other reviews sum up this book - it is a fantastic read - all I want to add is this - This book was written almost 10 years ago, when every other book on the best sellers list WASN'T a Dan Brown wannabe. To the general public, DNA and human cloning was more science fiction than a real possibilty, so bear in mind that in 2006, this book is likely to be slightly more predictable than it was on release.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2004
This book is one of the best if not the best book I have read for a long time, it's one of those you just can't put down and if you do can't wait to pick it back up again! I loved this book from the beginning to the end, it's cleverly written with an original plot and detail.
I take my hat off to the author and thank him for a wonderful and thought provoking book!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here