Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
2,373
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I don't normally like to compare books in my reviews because I prefer to look at them on their own merit but because this was recommended for fans of Fifty Shades of Grey I'm going to make a comparison this time. I'm one of those people who ended up completely addicted to FSoG, I had a lot of problems with the writing style - the constant repetitions, the bad grammar and the poor editing to name a few - but I could not put it down and devoured the entire trilogy in record time.

I needed something to fill the FSoG shaped hole in my life and Bared to You was highly recommended. It is another book that was originally self published by the author and has now been picked up by a major publishing house after it became a big hit on Amazon and there is no doubt in my mind that it will appeal to FSoG fans. In my opinion Bared to You is a million times better that FSoG in a lot of ways - Sylvia Day's writing is so much better, there are no conversations with the inner goddess that made me want to scream, I liked Eva a lot more than Ana and the sex scenes are much hotter. So you'd rightfully be thinking that I'd recommend the story to FSoG fans.

However, I can't say I found it quite as addictive as FSoG. Yes, I devoured Bared to You. Yes, I stayed up until 5am in the morning because I couldn't but it down. Yes, I am definitely going to be reading the next two books in the series. Yes, I did fall for Gideon but I don't love him quite as much as I love Christian. Perhaps that will change as I get to know him better throughout the next two books but we'll have to wait and see. I still can't stop thinking about FSoG even though it has been nearly two months since I finished reading it and I don't know what I would have done with myself if the next two books hadn't been available for me to devour immediately afterwards. While I'm excited that I only have to wait until October for Deeper in You that wait isn't going to kill me. I have to say that I love both books as much as each other but in different ways, neither FSoG or Bared to You is perfect but they are both compelling and not to be missed.

One of the things I liked most about Bared to You was the fact that Eva and Gideon are both as messed up as each other. They both have terrible issues from their pasts that have deeply effected the way they behave in the present. This seems much more realistic to me and I like the fact that they are both going to have to deal with their past and make changes to their attitudes if they want to have a chance at a successful relationship. This isn't a case of one person having to "fix" the other, it's a case of two deeply hurt individuals who might have a chance at healing each others pain and working towards a happy future together.

As much as I loved the email exchanges between Ana and Christian in FSoG I loved the banter between Eva and Christian even more. I love the way she is adult enough to stand up to him face to face or over the phone. She is no simpering virgin but rather someone who knows exactly what she wants and how to get it. Gideon is very possessive and should come with a stalker warning, especially at the beginning of the story, but Eva won't put up with any of his crap and in her own way she behaves just as badly at times with her own jealousy problems. Gideon is rich, powerful and successful, sexy as sin as well as dark and dangerous - I don't know many women who wouldn't find themselves attracted to him. The chemistry between him and Eva is intense and the pages literally sizzle when they are in a room together. Their journey may not be an easy one but you feel like they have something worth fighting for.

If you're looking for a scorching hot contemporary erotic story with a gritty romance between two damaged people then I'd highly recommend Bared to You. I'll be eagerly awaiting the next instalment and in the meantime I'm definitely planning on checking out some of Sylvia Day's other books.
5252 comments| 794 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2012
On the front cover of my book there's a little sticker that says, "If you liked Fifty Shades of Grey, you'll love this." Well, I loved Fifty Shades so I knew I wanted to read this, especially if it was being compared to this but you know what I didn't expect? I didn't expect to love Bared to You more, but I did. So...move over Christian Grey and make way for Gideon Cross!

Wow....just wow. I can't believe how much I loved this book and I'm kicking myself for not reading it sooner. This book is always going to be compared to Fifty Shades of Grey, they have the same rich, hot, alpha male's with troubled pasts and female's that can bring the males to their knees, but the different is there's no BDSM relationship. Now before you Fifty Shades of Grey haters start, Bared to You is so much more than Fifty and you may find that, if you try this you might enjoy it too, so don't be put off by all the Fifty talk.

What I loved about this book was the fact that it felt very realistic. Eva isn't a innocent girl that doesn't know about sex, she's a women that had a troubled past and she like to be in control of her life. She won't settle for being controlled by her family or Gideon. I loved that about her. I loved that she won't allow Gideon to control her but instead, makes him see her as an equal. Now Gideon, he's a rich, powerful young man who loves to be in control in and out of bed. Eva really changes his life, he finds it hard to let people in because of his dark secrets he is hiding and boy, do I want to know his secrets. Despite Eva and Gideon's obstacles, I really think they make a fantastic couple. I'm really rooting for them and I'm very eager to see what the next two books have in store for them.

The story itself is heart-wrenching, packed with emotions and passionate scenes. It's beautiful and touching and let's not forget the hot scenes between Eva and Gideon. Sparks literally fly off the pages when you read this book and it will leave you begging for more.

If I haven't convinced you to read this book yet, then I'll leave you my three favourite quotes...ENJOY!

1) "I can't go long without you either, Eva. You're an addiction...my obsession..." - Gideon

2) "I'm an animal with you," he murmured. "I want to mark you. I want to possess you so completely there's no separation between us." - Gideon

3) "You forget who submits, Eva," he said gruffly. "I've given up control for you. I've bent and adjusted for you. I'll do anything to keep you and make you happy. But I can't be tamed or topped. Don't mistake indulgence for weakness." - Gideon
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
Firstly I have to confess that I haven't finished it yet, but I felt the need to write something, though that might be because I have only had four hours sleep. I bought the novel yesterday, started it at around 10.30pm expecting to be falling asleep within half an hour but at 2.30am I was still reading until my husband 'suggested' I turn the light out. When he came back into the bedroom after his shower at 6.40 this morning to find me reading my Kindle again he asked me if I was reading Fifty Shades of Grey and I told him it was something better.

This has humour, an admission of lust that develops into more; it feels real and I have developed a bond with the characters, not just a desire to know what will happen next, how far they will go. I'm only half way through, so it could all be downhill from here, but if you like a good novel and are not embarrassed reading about sex, then you should read it.
Have to keep this short as need a comfort break and a coffee before I go back to another session - could someone ring my husband and ask him to bring me some eye drops home because I'll probably need them later; oh! and a take-away!
44 comments| 113 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2012
After reading 50 shades in less than a week I felt deflated and sad that it had all come to an end. I needed something to dull the pain of loosing Christian and was on the look out for a new read. After reading the reviews on Bared To you I thought I would give it a try... I was not disappointed! Of course there are similarities between the books - rich billionaire seduces girl and much erotic scenarios ensue. (Actually some more erotic than 50 Shades) I'm not going to go into details about the book suffice to say that if you loved 50 shades then you will love this book. The story line is really involving and I finished it in two days. I see that it is rocketing up the Kindle best sellers list so obviously people agree too! I believe it's to be a trilogy with more books out later in the year so not too long to wait for my next fix.
Enjoy :)
22 comments| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2012
This is definitely the book to read after fifty shades trilogy. Not as exciting but very enjoyable. You won't fall for Gideon the same way everyone fell for Christain. This book is better written. Looking forward to the next book Reflected In You.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2012
I have to preface my review with a statement. *I do not read romantic/erotic fiction. I'm a murder mystery reader; and the couple of romances I have read have a paranormal edge (JR Ward). The reason behind this is that the paranormal is the only way that my brain will accept the implausibility of today's modern romantic fiction as...plausible; a male protagonist with awe-inspiring size genitalia, who can produce orgasms by merely breathing on his partner,(regardless of whether this partner is a virgin, who has no idea which way is up. I read a tale recently where the heroine didn't know how to put a condom on the hero but managed to orgasm 3 time her first ride out the stable. Hmmmmm?) billionaire, master of the universe under the age of 30 with enough personal baggage to sink a yacht. Now all this makes perfect sense if said guy is a Fallen Angel-Vampire-Werewolf-Lord of the Underworld type. Yep! In such cases, these traits? I could stretch the realms of my imagination to accept that...but human, modern man? Not so much..*

So how have I found myself in the last few week reading not one, but three erotic/romantic fictions, of which Bared to You is the last in the line? Long story, all of them have been reviewed, but needless to say here I am. This book was started at bedtime and finished by dawn. I remember laughing a lot while reading the first few chapters, I think mainly when Gideon Cross' characteristic were described (as above, all standard stuff) but I did settle down to take it all a bit more serious when I realised Sylvia Day was also trying to shed light on the serious topic of child abuse and the lasting repercussions on the victims, she also introduces the new "hot" topic of Dom/Sub sexual relationship (thanks 50 Shades of Grey...not) in an interesting way. The two main characters are equally messed up so no damsel saving dark, brooding hero, they kind of have to save each other. Eva Tramell didn't bite her lip, gush or apologise for her sexuality and when words fail her, expresses her views by using a suggestive middle finger; meaning? I didn't want to slap her senseless.

There is a lot of very heavy, very expressive sex which is without a shadow of a doubt...sexy. I'd give it 5* for the sex scenes. It is well written, funny and intelligent. My main criticism is that it sticks to the same unbelievable formula this new crop of male protagonists all seem to share and maybe I'm just an odd ball who thinks that as much as reading fiction is about escapism it doesn't mean that it can't also have a touch of realism; if you're a woman who's seen a bit of the world, you'll knows that a man under 30 is unlikely to resemble the man found in these pages especially if he is also struggling with the kind of personal baggage Gideon Cross has, all of that said I will be reading the sequel, kind of looking forward to it to be honest.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2012
Like most others I read this after the Fifty Shades serie. And it's no 50 shades....

I did like it, but with 50 I read the 1st, raced to the second and was scared to finish the 3rd cos I didn't want it to ever end. This one I'm not fussed if I get to read the 2nd one when it comes out. Though if the price is ok I probably will.

There are other books that have a lot of good sex with a good story (Maid for the Billionaire, Lawful Escort, Samsons Lovely Mortal in the Scanguards series) and they are all of a similar vein. With Fifty Shades the love story is most important and the sex is just a bonus. This one felt like it was trying too hard and the sex was the most important bit.

I wouldn't say not to read it, but I am def sticking with Christian.
22 comments| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
this book confused me slightly, it seems to advertise its self (or rather people advertise it) as another fifty shades of grey, and whilst i loved the FSog series, i really couldn't get into this book. Im currently working my way through the second and i feel it doesn't have the same pull as FSoG.
I found the book to be very dull, and i really cant get into it. The book centres on the relationship of eva and Gideon, and that they were both abused, eva by her step brother Nathan and Gideon by a mystery person. Every so often a mention of nathan crops up, and you think he might appear but he doesn't (well at least he hasn't yet) There is a part of the book after Eva has been for dinner with her mother who seems to freeze in the street, we then read Eva asks Gideon for the security tapes, and personally i thought this would see us introduced to Nathan, but it just leads us to another chapter.i feel the book really doesn't make the characters very 3 dimensional, the sex scenes are very samey with little to no variation, bar where they have sex, limo/bed/bath. I don't think we get enough information about what happened with Gideon to make him such a mess, but plenty of eva's issues, its almost as though the author hasn't decided fully on what she wants to do with gideon, and bar his muscles, we don't get much of a description, and i think its the lack of a description that makes me feel the characters are very 2d. I herd it advertised as another BDSM book, but it really isn't, there are elements of controlling behaviour from Gideon but nothing like we see from Christian. The book mentions how Gideon hates his family, but then on the next page its the next day, it feels like huge chunks of the book are missing, and whilst this is obviously done to make a 'page turner' it just really annoys me!
will i read the third book ..... most likely, but i dont find it a page turner, more a chore. My main issue with this book or rather the series is i don't think if flowed very well.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2012
I got to 38% on the Kindle...and left it there...six books ago. I suffered the whole of the 50 shades series, largely to see what my wife was so worked up about... thank you to the author, I/we had a wonderful summer.

My wife managed it to the end of this one and can't be bothered with the rest though would like to find some more girly porn!,I'd like her to too! She is now reading the second in the Rivers of London Series, a very light and enjoyable read by Ben Aaronovitch: I've read all 3 and will happily pick up another one of his books.

Bared to You is in my archive, maybe one day if I really can't find anything else to read and have nothing else to do I will finish it.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2012
Not wanting to get into semantics and labelling but whoever classed this erotica needs to check the dictionary. It's full blown porn in the form of literature and frankly I didn't sign up for it.

Never mind the crazy similarities with 50 Shades, the characters in Crossfire are underdeveloped, cold and unlikable. Everyone is perfect and beautiful (what planet is this book set on?). Gideon is the most unlikeable male I have ever come across in a book yet. I don't know if it's just me but no matter how hot you describe an unlikeable man to be if he's a cold ass he's a cold ass and I just can't get hot over someone who is a cold ass. Ava is supposed to be 24 but sounds like someone much much older. Ava at one point actually utters the words `feministic' in reference to how she's feeling. Eh? Did I miss something? The character seems to lack an ounce of self-respect. "F*** me, bang me, oh thy Gideon". I'm frankly fed up - why is it the always hot (Adonis style), always rich, always longer than the javelin endowed male does the banging TO the equally hot and skinny lass. What happened to a bit of variety in literature.

As I'm reading 50 Shades and Crossfire I keep thinking why not have a female heroine, who is hot, rich and powerful and goes around banging the males until one day a hot younger male stumbles next to a lift in the sky scraper she owns and she sees him and they fall in love and continue banging.

The above out of the way - 50 Shades (the full trilogy as a whole), in my opinion, has heart. It's badly written yes, but the story has a heart and I generally enjoyed it as nice erotica fiction. Crossfire is better written but it can only be described as cold porn fiction. If that's what you're looking for you won't be dissapointed with Crossfire.
22 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.