Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
20
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2001
Joffo's Bag of Marbles is a heart-warming story in which he follows himself and his older brother, both Jews, in their struggle to avoid the German soldiers who are occupying their country. In making sure they are not caught and sent to concentration camps, the boys go through a series of wonderful adventures in which their childish innocence is excellently portrayed. I read this book in French before reading this English translation and i can honestly say that i have seen very few books translated this well. Joffo's honest emotion is rarely lost in the English words used by Sokolinsky.
11 comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
Very interesting version of the book. There was no indication that the book was in graphic form, otherwise a bit like a comic strip.I had read the French version and was looking for a translation for others to read, so in this respect I was disappointed. Perhaps more information about the format of the book would have been helpful. Is there a word for word translation among the other versions?
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2001
Joseph Joffo produces here an autobiographical work which seeks to convey, through the eyes of a 10 year old, the impact of German anti-semitism during WWII. Joseph and his inseparable brother, Maurice, are two normal Parisian school children who are forced to flee Paris and occupied France when their father sees that the Vichy government's new anti-semitic laws will inevitably lead to deportation or worse. He sends first his two older sons, Henri and Albert to safety in "unoccupied" southern France and swiftly dispatches Joseph and Maurice to join them. A Bag of marbles is Joseph's story of survival and adventure as he seeks to remain one step ahead of the Nazis. An engrossing read, written with the humour which characterises a 10 year old's perspective on the world and without bitterness. To be recommended.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
I had been trying to get hold of a copy of this book for my 8 year old son, as I had loved this book as a child, and wanted him to experience it.This was not the script I was expecting, and it was not clear in the advertisement for the book, and I was landed with a comic strip version which has very little bearing on the atmosphere of the original text. Truly awful, and not what I was expecting. Compounded by the fact that the sender would not refund my purchase, or exchange. Bad experience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
First of all, make sure you don't get the animated version by mistake - this might mean getting the hardback one.
This is a standard school text in France and is often used for A level French in the UK. It reads like a young adult book so there is little overt violence and nastiness - though there is plenty that is implied. A minor irritation is the translation which is in US English - unfortunately the only way of reading this classic unless you tackle in French.
It's a memoir of Maurice and Joseph Josso and their journey through France in 1943-5 without any official papers and on their own. This gives a good view of what life was like for Jews even in Vichy France, and the fault lines in society at that time between the Petainists/collaborators/resistance/French armed gangs.
The plot moves along well primarily as the boys are always having to move every time that danger is sensed. The description of the Gestapo headquarters in Nice is especially good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2010
I bought the book for my 14 year old daughter and she absolutely loved it. She read it for school and had to write a review. From her review, I can say that the book was an amazing story about 2 boys who were sent away from their home in order to avoid being captured during WWII. She recommends the book to anyone around her age that is interested in understanding what some Jewish kids went through during the Holocaust.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2001
The book is full of adventure and childhood wit. It is written from a child's point of view and deightfully explores childhood innocence in a time of destruction and horror. It is about the tale of two jewish brothers whose strength and determination is accuentated as they try to escape from the germans. Their relationship is tested as they try to survive in extremely difficult conditions.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
I thought I was buying a bbok with all words - but it was a picture book with terrible USA language re-written with 21st century wording and phrases that were not in the origional book
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
I was very disappointed when this copy of a bag if marbles was delivered. There was no indication that this was a comic book edition of the novel and having sourced the novel from elsewhere, I realise that it is a very poor version of Joffo's original book. I really should have returned it immediately.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
I read this book years ago and wanted a copy to keep, I was very disappointed when it arrived because it was an illustrated version so I returned it and got a refund.
This book the original version is a harrowing account of two young boys survival during the occupation the original printed book tells how they pitted their wits against all odds it is truly a remarkable account when you consider the ages of the boys in wartime France the original is a must read>
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse