Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2017
This i an excellent introduction into building a mindfulness practise into your life.
The reader is taken on a logical progression through exercises, anecdotes and most importantly, accompanying meditations.
I found the audio content particularly engaging and highly recommend that people also check out John Teasdale's other content on mindful org.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2016
This book arrived promptly and in excellent condition. Required for a course, it looks good and hope it will be of real help .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
This book is fantastic, I've suffered from depression and anxiety for over 10 years, and this is the first time anything has had any impact on the anxiety and panic attacks. If you are really struggling with these issues I recommend this book but as it says at the front, take off the deadlines! There are exercises to do each week, but when you are feeling low, just do them at your own pace, till you are ready to move on to the next set, they still help.

The CD that comes with the book is an MP3 CD, this is mentioned in the description but unless you have a new player, it won't play on regular/older CD players. You can put the disc that comes with the book on to your computer and play them that way or the book also links to a website where you can download the tracks to your computer or other portable device, so you can still have access to them.

There is a particularly useful track on the CD for 'Sitting with Difficult emotions', and as someone who is recently bereaved this book and meditations that come with it REALLY help.

Superb book, I took ages to buy it given the cost, but 'If the drugs don't work' as the song says, and you or someone you know is struggling, get this book, it could change your life!!

Get this book if you are feeling stressed and don't want medication, just to learn ways to relax and look at life in a different way. Even the simplest of things it suggests make massive differences.

I highly recommend it and wish it had been around 10 years ago!
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
Do not buy the kindle version as the vital 14 meditation audio files do not come with it. No-one at Amazon could help despite spending nearly 2 hours online chat and at least 4 or 5 different customer service reps who each spoke to on the phone and none of them had been told correctly by each previous rep what the issue was. I gave up in despair! Complete waste of money.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
It would appear that although the advertised product notes includes CD. This is in fact not the case with the e book. I live abroad and ordered this book. After repeated enquirers as to CD download. I was advised to look for reference within the book. This reference requested I write( not email) the publishers directly to ask for permission the listen to the CD content. It's not clear or efficient that this is the case on purchase. However amozon has been very clear to only invoice for the actual book. Very misleading to customers. Buy this book direct from publishers.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
The workbook itself is good, it was well packed & in pristine condition. Only small issue that isn't mentioned in the description, is that the author recommends you read another book on mindfulness before starting the workbook... Have purchased that now.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
I love this workbook. I did a MBSR course 18 months ago but struggled to maintain practice after that and wanted a framework to restart again. The simple combination of the audio tracks, succinct explanations and brief written exercises works well. The more detailed "mindful way through depression" is a good companion to this one, and I think you may be more likely to stick to the programme if you have a fuller understanding of its benefits. Whatevercthe cause of your depression or anxiety, this book can help you recover and develop greater resilience in the future.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
I teach Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) in London and elsewhere and I've often referred those course participants who suffer from depression to the authors' previous title: The Mindful Way Through Depression. This new book now takes that one very valuable step further: laying out a step-by-step practical self-guided course. The authors' Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy for Depression, now in its second edition, was a ground-breaking development in the field, enabling the mindfulness-based approaches to enter the mainstream of psychological therapies. But that was written for clinicians. This new practical guide is very definitely devised for a readership who personally suffer from depression. Clearly written, simple and systematic, it has the capacity to be immensely helpful to anyone who follows the the guidance it lays out.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
I would recommend that for any practitioner/therapist who wants to add further information and research to their competencies, knowledge, and skills, read and use this workbook, its gives more in depth research and outlines to the practice of Mindfulness.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)