Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 11 April 2016
This book was written some 80 years ago and it shows. The underlying message how ever (I think it's 12 characteristics of the wealthy) is spot on. But at times very dull and patronising (at one point I recall the author explaining the benefits of wearing a smart suit to a meeting with a potential employer). I did not finish this book, at about a third of the way through I bought the audio book then gave up on that another third in! this is because the messages are good but the content/delivery is not. I would revisit this if someone would rewrite it for the modern market.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2017
I loved this book. Wasn't sure what to expect but it's like nothing I've read before. Napoleon Hill was so ahead of his time. I love the fact that much of the book refers to heros and geniuses from the past (which were current for Napoleon) It's like stepping back in time but also very fresh. The point is that human nature doesn't really change and the mind sets that made people great 100 years ago are the same that will see people succeed today. I love the old style language, such a change from the brash 'money talk' in other more modern books. Although the title speaks of 'growing rich' I think it should be 'grow great' as it's about being the best of yourself and achieving your goals. I intend on reading it another couple of times and taking notes so that it really sinks in.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2015
I think the title of this book is a little misleading, but that doesn't make this book anything less than a must read for anyone seeking success in life.

This book is more about the personality traits evident in the 40 millionaires studied by Hill in 1937 (when a millionaire was a substantially wealthy person, more so than today). I would suggest that the wealth these people accumulated was a side effect of their personality.

Hill goes into a lot of detail in a wide range of subjects including - faith, desire, imagination, planning, decision and persistence - key traits and skills which have not really changed since the book was written.

There are a number of questionnaires in the book which challenge you to think about your own personality traits, and how they match the blueprint of successful (rich) people - and they can help you make positive changes to your life to be more successful.

Some of the book is obviously dated (such as letters of recommendation) - but any smart person can draw parallels to modern society (in the case of letters of recommendation - LinkedIn recommendation).

This book won't make you literally rich, but will help steer you towards the personality traits of those who are.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading it too, the fact it was written in the 30's also give it a slightly different style that you don't see that often anymore. But it was engaging nonetheless.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2018
This book enthuses the reader with a burning desire to be successful, whether it is by materialistic or academic means. The book will give you an understanding of how a successful person is nurtured. Examples include the amazing inventor Thomas Edison; how he formed success despite all odds by being ignorant of the air of pessimism. By far my favourite lesson learnt from this book was the significance of indecision.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 March 2018
It is incredible that much of what we now understand about the nature of energy and the workings of our mind was introduced in this book and how important it is for us to dedicate our passion, thoughts, feelings and actions to the pursuit of authenticity and our life goals.
Some of the later chapters of the book are somewhat unnecessary and add little value, but the overall message of this book has subsequently been taken up by many writers including Deepak Chopra and many other contemporary science writers who have in effect confirmed the so-called Law of Attraction.
This book is therefore an interesting read and one of historical importance
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2017
Don't get this edition. Very poor editing with incomplete sentences, mid sentence dashes and typos!!! Waste of money.
review imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2017
Best book I've ever read, with lots of opportunity for practical application. An enjoyable read and can't wait to read again.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2015
I read it (despite the off-putting title) because it was on a recommended reading list of someone I respect.

Written in the 1930's as the US was recovering from a devastating recession it contains an interesting mix of good sense, contemporary anecdotes and cod science. Perhaps not exactly "cod science", but an attempt to explain what the writer had observed by close examination of a number of "rich" and successful men over many years.

It works as a "how to" manual for focussing one's life on achieving goals (money) and over-riding some of the instinctive knee jerk reactions we seem to have inherited in our DNA from ancestors who lived in a different environment with different needs (caves, hunting, "Flintstones" etc.).

His method is based on controlling the "Subconscious Mind".

Napoleon Hill nods to the acceptance of higher and unexplained powers ("Infinite Intelligence") in an atheistic way - that seems comfortably "modern" - but he also writes as if business was the sole preserve of "men" - which may jar for some.

Some of his ideas were particularly enlightened (for the time) such as the need for cooperation between management and labour and that "The watchword of the future will be human happiness and contentment ..."

And educationalists who are in the Sir Ken Robinson camp they might agree with page 39 - "This "missing link" in all systems of education known to civilization today, may be found in the failure of educational institutions to teach their students how to organize and use knowledge after they acquire it". On page 171 he states that "fear destroys initiative and discourages the use of imagination" - now accepted (and tweeted ad nauseam) but when written it may have been something of a revelation.

It was worth a read for me - and being able to make notes on the Kindle increases the usefulness of this book when I return to it for reference.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2018
When you come across a book that’s sold over 100 million copies worldwide it’s a must read at some point in your life 😊
This book is a must read for who wants to succeed in life.
It’s a bit dated, but its principles are timeless.
It’s a relatively short read😊
This book is one of the few books I’ve read quite a few times now. To say it offers significant value for the money is an understatement. The author covers so many topics so densely, the material requires us to chew on the ideas and concepts presented, sometimes repeatedly. I also find the book is effective in eliciting both reflection and action on the part of the reader. I dare anyone to say they’ve read this book and changed nothing in the way they think and/or live their lives 😊
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2018
It's ok, if you have read any decent modern "self help" book, anything that focus on self confidence and focus,you will not gain much by reading this book. Lots of repetition and waffle, all of which is very distracting. Two sections towards the end are very useful,both focusing on negative aspects and are missing from these more modern books I talk about. The self analysis quiz and the alibis. Both sections are perfect for helping you move forward,make decisions and check changes in attitude and thinking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)