Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
19
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2013
One of the better portrait photography books I've read by far - advice and guidance is clear, setups are explained well and there is lots of useful hints and tips along the way.

The book is also well laid out and features examples of some of Marks fantastic work, including guidance on how it was achived.

My only slight niggle is that there are no diagrams or drawings showing the lighting setups - although the written advice is fairly clear, a few simple line drawings and diagrams might help make things even clearer

Overall though, a good book for beginners - I perhaps wouldn't recommend for more experienced photographers though
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
This is a great reference book packed full of useful information. A must have for any budding portrait photographer. Highly Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
I'm reading this now, and I'm not very happy with it.
Sometimes the examples are not the best (the pictures), sometimes I found something that would be better described with an example.
The disposition of the elements in the book could be improved, I was hoping find another writing style.
I would not recommend it, however has some good points of view.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
This is a pretty good book. I've read other books on studio lighting that are either horribly out of date or just not very good. This is the best I've read to date, it goes through various different lighting scenarios and shows the effect on the picture of quite subtle movements of lights and subject. On the whole I'd definitely recommend it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
well laid out book. very informative and full of helpful tips and 'things to try' as you work your way through the different situations.
A book that I still dip into despite having read it thoroughly several times.
Great help on lighting and posing for portraiture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
My partner had this as the second of two birthday gifts and is a beginner with the camera. After going on a few courses about photography he said this book supplemented his learning so I was pleased it was a useful gift.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
I enjoyed reading this book it is easy to read and very informative. i would recommend this book to anyone taking up portrait photography
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
Although I found this book not to be the best portrait direction I've read today and sometimes being quite repeatable amongst all the books. That being said for a beginner it would be a good start and give some good tips but not recommended for intermediate and professionals
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
Not read all this informative book yet but very pleased with my purchase and looks to be well worth the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Good book to learn all about portrait photography, a few more diagrams would be useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)