Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2017
What started out as a history of America's space race to the moon became something of a eulogy to two men, lapsing at times into something approaching schmaltz. In doing so it lost its drive and purpose and I became in a hurry to reach the end. Disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
interesting book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
Fantastic insight into the moon landings
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2016
A touching personal account of NASA's greatest triumphs told through the eyes of two people who lived and breathed it. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2016
Not at all what I was expecting. So probably my fault for buying it, but this book is essentially a lot of anecdotal reminiscences from Alan Shepard and Deke Slayton filtered through a journalistic lens that insists on describing everything in airport lounge style novelistic terms.We get pages and pages of "Gee, thought Alan, this is really happening" stuff. Typical few lines, selected at random:

Alan Shepard girnned broadly at his wife. "Gets interesting sometimes doesn't it?"
She squeezed his hand. "Wow! I can do without heart-stopppers, thank you!"
He laughed. "The birds wouldn't dare. Not while we're on our way to see the president."

And so on and so one. I was hopping for a history book, factual, analytical, detailed. Maybe more than a couple of cursory pages about the Russians too. This is not that book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2008
Excitingly-written and designed to grab the attention of the reader, and in that it succeeds. But it does so by inventing conversations, often creating events that never happened, and even uses a faked moon landing photo that is a composite. For excitement, I enjoyed it, it would have made a good novel. For accuracy, it really sucks. Read some of the much better books out there like "For Spacious Skies" and "A Man on the Moon" instead.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 August 2012
I really enjoyed this. Although it isn't actually written by Shepard and Slayton themselves, they were clearly the main focuses of the journalist author's writing. The quality of the writing was I thought very evocative and moving and really brought home the majesty and significance of the Apollo missions. Marvellous, stirring stuff. 5/5
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2001
Fantastic book exploring the race to the Moon and the lives of two of the astronauts , Deke Slayton and Alan Shepherd ( both unfortunately dead now.)
The book not only tells the story of how man got to the Moon, and of the various missions before Apollo ( Mercury and Gemini) but tells the incredible story of these two astronauts and their personal trials and tribulations ( both were grounded as astronauts for many years by NASA due to health problems.)
Alan Shepherd ( 1st American into space ) tells in graphic detail, his thoughts and feelings when he walked on the Moon on Apollo 14 and describes the harrowing and unbelievable story of how their mission almost ended in tragedy and failure, following on from the disaster of apollo 13, and which if had been unsuccessful would have meant the end of the Apollo missions ( infact the mission was so successful that a further three Apollo missions and landings took place after this.)
Anyone that enjoys an exciting adventure story must read this book. A spell-binding book that chronicles one of the most incredible adventures man has ever undergone.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
An excellent overview of the Apollo programme which put men on the moon. It reads a little bit like a NASA manifesto but I'm willing to forgive that simply because it is such an awesome story.

The book focuses on the astronauts who flew the various missions and not so much on the technology, the technicians or the politics lurking behind everything.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
I own most if not all the books on mans journey to the moon, This is another excellent read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)