Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2012
I'd forgotten about all the clothes I used to make and how to make them, but reading this beautiful book has reminded me how rewarding it is to spend time making things. If you're a novice, or like me you had the knowledge once upon a distant past this book gives you wonderful ideas and precise instructions. Can't wait to visit their new shop in Rye for their paper patterns and beautiful haberdashery. Then, before long I'll have an entire new wardrobe. If you are looking for a perfect Christmas present, this is it. You can't go wrong.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
Love everything about this - the styling, the projects, the advice/guidance. Have shopped frequently on their online shop since buying this book and products always scream quality. Brilliant aesthetic. Projects not necessarily groundbreaking, but well made, solid and quality. Almost feels like a whole sewing 'lifestyle' in a book...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
If you love the style of Merchant & Mills haberdashery you will love this book too as it is very much in keeping with that style. The projects are utilitarian rather than decorative, rather like the packaging for their products. Their ethos is `keep it simple and do it well'.

The book is aimed at beginners with the first part of the book comprising of an introduction to the basic sewing supplies and what to use them for, followed by a chapter on sewing techniques and a chapter on working with patterns. You then get into the projects which include several differ styles of bag, a maker's apron, a sewing kit, a few different cushions and last of all the 2 paper patterns which come with the book - a tailored shawl and a fisherman's top. I have to say it is a shame to see that the paper patterns are not full size, they require enlarging by 175%.

Many of the projects involve sewing with heavy weight materials like oilskin, canvas, leather, wool cloth and denim, materials you don't often see in most project books. It may encourage you to experiment with fabrics you wouldn't normally use.

This review also appears on The Sewing Directory.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
It's a really beautiful book, I love the lay-out, the simple way , it's my cup of tea ( and I'm dutch), it "s almost perfect, but was really dissapointed that the patterns weren't full-size, you have to go to a shop and that takes time and money, and there's room for it so why not full-size, otherwise I'm really pleased with it
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 November 2012
I bought this beautiful book for a friend who has just starting sewing for a hobby and she thinks it's amazing - I showed it to a few other people before i parted with it who also fell in love with it too. It takes you back to when sewing was an art form and thousands of women loved to work creatively with their hands. There are great tips throughout; also the quality of the book is first class. Merchant & Mills have quality products and this book is no exception. I only wish my nan was still here to experience this wonderful book.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
I'm new to the sewing world, if you don't count a couple of home economics classes almost a decade ago.
This book is not only a joy to read and seems to include all the basics I could expect, it has also been beautifully crafted to be a completely contrasting experience to the multicolored hobbycrafting books that are all over the place.

This book looks and reads like a sophisticated piece of tailoring - a book I'm sure I will keep and use as a reference for many years to come.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
i liked this book because it gave details about somethings as basic as pins and threads, and although i have been sewing for a number of years i found these details very useful as i never gave any of these items any thought before. it all helps with caring for your fabrics and your sewing machine
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
Fab book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
Words like "Timeless" and "Classic" come to mind when describing this book. The Merchant and Mills philosophy of "Keep it simple and do it well" is amply illustrated in the text and content of this book as well as in their patterns. Their advice is brilliant: it is as if they distilled all the best traditional knowledge and practice in to these pages. It would be lovely for a beginner as the patterns start with easy things to sew and become more complex. I enjoy the weight, style and feel of the actual book as much as the content. It is well illustrated and timeless - no polyester or fashion statements - just pure quality and enduring style. I love this book!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
Lots of ideas and helpful tips regardless of sewing ability. Some things included that I have never seen in other guides.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)