Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 24 July 2017
A lovely book, very informative and easy instructions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2017
😍
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2017
Great book, with lots of Woolbuddies to make, clear instructions and split into 3 categories of easy to more complex.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2017
Have made lots from this book. Great for the little ones.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2017
Such a good range of things to make and good instructions and well illustrated. Can’t wait to get making x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2017
percfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2014
While looking for books on wet felting, my 8 year old saw the bulbous creatures featured on the cover of this one and decided she wanted to try needle felting immediately.

Personally I had reservations about the whole idea; this book, and no other was the one she wanted and I thought the cost was slightly more than I wanted to spend; furthermore there's quite an outlay on felting wool - the required material. Mostly I was worried that my kid would find needle felting difficult and then not enjoy it.

I wasn't reassured when the book arrived because the basic instruction section, that tells you how to get started with needle-felting for the first time, seemed rather....scant.

Actually this wasn't a problem at all. The basic instructions on how to start needle-felting given in the book are scant because the craft doesn't require detailed instructions - essentially you just jab a needle-felting needle repeatedly into a hank of wool. That makes the wool fibers matt together and get dense, and you shape the piece as you go. It's not difficult to shape; I can scarcely believe that ordinary sheep's wool can be manipulated so easily in this way. Needle felting is so easy and straightforward that a young child can do it and soon be producing genuinely attractive results. My daughter's made quite a number of toys from the book already that have gone to friends and relatives as cute, unusual little gifts.

The figures featured in the book are attractive and appealing and genuinely easy to make, and once you get past the brief 'beginners' section, the instructions on how to make each one individually are actually quite comprehensive and detailed. The suggested size of the animals is larger than you might expect - imagine a felt frog approaching the size of a tennis-ball - but they can very, very easily be scaled down so they're not so alarming-looking (and you use less wool; the technique's very heavy on wool). There are an example of an 'advanced' animal that's moulded around a wire skeleton given (the giraffe) but most of the figures in the book are based around a simple wool sphere that has eyes and extra detail added on. (It is surprisingly easy to add on very effective details when needle-felting.) This is a great, easy starting point especially for children; if you google search for images of 'needle-felt animals' you'll see a host of examples of very detailed and intricate, lifelike examples showing where you can go next with needle felting.

This book turned out to be an excellent buy and I'd highly recommend it to anyone with crafty-minded older kids who enjoy making things. Two top-tips:

Needle-felting needles are very sharp, thick and textured, so it's extra-painful when you jab yourself, and because of the way you're using them, you are likely to jab deep. So this isn't an activity for sensitive or for very young children.

Silky merino felting wool is surprisingly expensive, especially the colourful stuff. What you can do is to buy plain, undyed bog-standard wool (any unspun sheeps' wool seems to do - it has to be proper animal wool of some sort however, because of the structure of the fibres) and use it to make the basic wool-ball bodies that are the bases for the little creatures in this book. You can then cover the 'underneath ball' with a thin outer layer of colour, and get exactly the same effect as if it had been colourful wool all the way through.
11 Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2014
That's it, I love it! What a cute and original book about needlefelting. Not just a how-to but a why-not! The work is original and inspiring and it's the only book on needle felting I would own if forced to choose. I have it on the Kindle as well as the hardback version.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2014
I have made several of the Woolbuddies since buying the book and plan to make more. The instructions are very clear with photographs showing how the Woolbuddy should look at each stage. Good starting point for someone who has never done needle felting before.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2013
Lovely book, clear, concise instructions, easy to work though! Presented well and works from beginner to expert with ease! Can't fault any of it!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)