Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

They certainly do in this book.

Bought for my comic/superhero mad son (I have a collection of superhero comics from the 70's/80's myself) Super Graphic is a brilliantly 'visual' book full of masses of off the cuff and geek worthy information about DC, Marvel and Superheroes.

This is all presented in an infographic way such as 'Information is Beautiful' if you're familiar with those books/website. Here you are provided with huge volumes of data that you can consume quickly and clearly.

It's packed to the rafters with bar charts, venn diagrams, pie charts, hierarchies, tree maps, standard maps, time series data and many other infographic styles. A very small taste of what you can find in this -

- Walking Dead kill counter (just who has topped the most zombies?)
- The four faces of The Flash
- The pizzas of The Mutant Ninja Turtles
- The politics of Good v Evil
- Superhero kill counter (Just who has killed the most baddies?)

At 196 pages the quality of this book is excellent and it looks great too!

If you have any geeks leaning towards superheroes/data/graphs in your house I can thoroughly recommend this book!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Love this book! So so clever and one to read again and again. I prefer indie comics and small press, like British small press comics, but this is a really cool overview of the more superhero-y stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2016
Cool book. Quick delivery. It was what I was expecting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
"Geek porn" sums it up neatly. Not every chart, diagram, and line graph in this book is equally interesting -- how could they be? -- but there's something in here to amuse and/or inform every comics geek, regardless of age or gender.

Funniest entry, hands down: "If You Were the Punisher, What Would You Do?"

Best geography lesson: a world map showing the locations of Nanda Parbat, Neo-Tokyo, Latveria, Gorilla City, Wakanda, Themyscira, Santa Prisca, Smallville, Asgard, and Duckburg.

Bandes dessinées special: six pages of Tintin charts, including its 56-year publication history, and Herge's 32-year history of rewriting, redrawing, and re-editing his earlier, more controversial, volumes.

...And much, much more!

CAVEAT: The Kindle version may not be readable. Half a dozen reviewers on Amazon's US page have complained about fuzzy graphics and the frustration of trying to read two-page spreads that are split into two separate pages in the e-book. No such problems with the paperback version, of course.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
The infographics are fun and smart. There are a lot of pages given over to single joke charts, meaning you get less for your money than you'd think looking at it. It also covers a wide range of comics, from Spider-Man to Scrooge McDuck, which could be a positive or negative depending how wide your tastes range. If you love all things graphic then it's great, if you're in it for the superheroes then you might find it lacking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
Picture two circles. One with people who love comics and one with people who love graphic design. Where the two meet are all the people who gave this 5 stars. But actually any one in either camp will still get the same enjoyment from this book. It's such a fun book to casually flick through. Full of humour and genuine love for the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
Nice looking, light-hearted super-hero info-graphics book. Highly recommended on the 11 O'Clock Comics podcast. Some data is presumably accurate - some is obviously just for humorous effect. I got the kindlefire version - this means some text is difficult to read if embedded in a graphic as it pixellates when enlarged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
I find it hard to choose a gift for comic lovers sometimes because you never know what they have already without asking outright, I bought this as a fun present, but it's high quality print, great presentation and packed with useless but fun information - this really is an unusual, top-notch gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
This book is the best. Some really good, obscure random stats. Every single one presented in a quirky, relevant, funny way. Great gift as well - I bought this and then bought 3 more to give away for Christmas and birthdays. The Punisher flowchart is my absolute favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
I bought this for my boyfriend after hearing about it on a podcast, not knowing what to expect. It was worth the leap of faith! Its presentation is lovely and it satisfies the part of my brain that likes organisation and charts while being about superheroes. Win-win!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)