Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2017
Excellent product!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2017
This was a present and was greatly appreciated..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2011
I was provided with an earlier version when I joined an entertainment company as part of my induction process. The author leads you into a business world in a calm way and keeps your interest with relevant examples and relates them to most people's relationship to the industry - buying CDs.
It has been updated since my time and it is still as fresh and 'edutaining' as I remember.

Getting invovled with the industry as artist or otherwise, then get this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
I bought this book, whilst studying music at university, as it proved very helpful & resourceful for information I needed to know when studying the music industry and business side of things. However, as a musician myself who is primarily focused on Classical Music & Film / TV Music, I felt that the book had much less information to give on these genres, as expectedly it focuses primarily on Pop / commercial music. Also as the book / author is American, there isn't as much information that is specifically helpful when concerning the industry in the UK. However, the author does often leave some notes / appendix alongside the original text to compare when concerning UK musicians and there is 1 or 2 chapters that focus primarily on Classical & Film / TV Music. Overall I would still highly recommend this book to any musician making their way into the industry, but most of all to Pop / Jazz musicians, as there is a great deal of information concerning: management, producing, publishing, copyright laws, merchandising, agencies, royalties & promotion to name just a few subjects included in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2001
As an independent label-owner the murky and confusing world of 'cross-collateralization', 'controlled composition' and 'mechanical royalties' has perplexed me for years. Finding your way through the minefield that is the 'music industry' is a difficult task which requires patience, a willingness to ask questions and, perhaps most importantly, the stubborness not to give up. What if there were a book that could guide you through this maze of complexity?
Passman's book is that guide. It explains everything you need to know in easy-to-understand English in an often humorous tone. Clearly unravelling often complex concepts, Passman takes a step-by-step approach through every aspect of the music business covering everything from royalties (How much will I get paid?) to rights (Who owns the recording?) in a manner that leaves no room for doubt.
Buy this book, it will help you make sense of one of the most jargon-filled industries in the world, you'll enjoy reading it and you'll find yourself returning to it again and again.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
Wonderful read but it does not seem to have the legal and industrious bite that: 'An Essential Guide for Serious singers and Musicians' have The latter goes is musician friendly in my opinion as no other music books go into protecting the artist from bad payers, awkward managers and dealing with loopholes in promoting our material despite the age of wrestling with file sharing.

An Essential Guide for serious singers and Musicians is real as it does not promise you fortune and fame but tells you that only hard working and getting your name out there with good marketing strategies works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2004
This book has been invaluable in my study of the music business. It's easy to digest, thanks to the author's light-hearted and good-humoured approach, to even the most complex of issues. Things are broken down into easy-to-understand sections, and you are given the option of covering the basics and moving on, or exploring issues in a greater depth with extended reading sections. This book is a must for anyone studying music, or interested in becoming successful in any of the four key theatres of the industry.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2005
I've read quite a few books on the music industry but this is the only one which actually gives an in depth knowledge of how
you approach the business. It caters for both U.S. and U.K. citizens so nothings mixed up and the invaluable advice given by
donald passman isn't wrapped up in complex jargon.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2000
Passman has acheived the impossible. In a genre where there are countless books offering the best inside advice, "All You Need To Know About The Music Business" is leagues ahead. Many of these books claim to give you the answers. But who writes them? Donald Passman is the one of the best known laywers in the music business and of all the people who should "know the score" you could not find better than him. He covers every area of the industry in a very easy to read and understand style. His mind is a great wealth of knowledge and in this book he lays down the law, the workings, and the traps of the indusrty. If you're serious about your music and you want to go places make sure you read this book as it will stop you making silly mistakes. You'll also learn the how the industry works and the more intricate workings of contracts etc. The book is aimed at the American market but this edition has special sections for the U.K. explaining things clearly where there are differnces between the U.S and the U.K industry.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2001
I have read every book I can get my hands on relating to the music business. Passman's book is one of the best. He is a lawyer and the book teaches about the nuts and bolts of deals, copywright, licensing etc from a legal point of view but in a very readable way. If you only get one book, get this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)